Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!
i have just finished reading this book and, to be honest i couldnt put it down! it was well written, easy to follow, astute, and humorous at times, all the ingredients for a good read. having spent some time living in kenya i thought it was very observant. I highly recommend it and hope that Mr Trzebinski is working on the next one!
Published 19 months ago by JS

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corruption in Africa
A light-hearted story about an innocent abroad in Kenya becoming embroiled in a property/financial scam. Various ethnic groups are involved and anyone who has lived in Kenya/Africa will particularly relate to the modus operandi.
The plot - businessman using a banker to misappropriate funds - is initially plausible enough, although the twists and turns towards the...
Published 17 months ago by Gillian A


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Elephant Dropping (Paperback)
i have just finished reading this book and, to be honest i couldnt put it down! it was well written, easy to follow, astute, and humorous at times, all the ingredients for a good read. having spent some time living in kenya i thought it was very observant. I highly recommend it and hope that Mr Trzebinski is working on the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper page-turner, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant Dropping (Paperback)
Once over the hump of the first few chapters, this book is a rollicking fast paced read of menace and corruption with an under layer of comedic misadventure.
The author weaves a tale of multi culture and diverse layers of Kenyan life. I found it very easy to follow all the different threads to this story and felt constantly compelled to find out what happened next. I thoroughly enjoyed the subtle reason for the title of the book too!
This novel is gritty and current which I found refreshing as there are many novels set in Kenya that are over-sentimentalised or yearning for a by-gone era.
Will Mr Trzebinski bring Detective Katana's diligent and methodical skills to the pages of his next novel? I look forward to his next book to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-told tale, 5 May 2013
By 
Joanna H. Brierley (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Elephant Dropping

This 492 page novel moves along at a cracking pace from start to finish. Never has the biblical adage of money being the root of all evil been so true. It will be enjoyed particularly by those who know Kenya well, the diversity of its people and the roads from Rift Valley to Malindi in particular. Above all, remember dried elephant dung has little smell.
The author must be congratulated on an exciting first novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling ride through modern Kenya, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant Dropping (Paperback)
Mr Trzebinski picks you up running for a thrilling ride through Kenya. The breathtaking beauty and vast scale of the Kenyan landscape are delivered onto the page in buckets, captured in the midst of a banking scam, crooked land-grabbing, self-serving officialdom and the seedy side of tourism.

This is a fast-paced story of 21st century Kenya. It takes the reader across the country from Nairobi to Malindi and Mombasa by 4x4 and motorbike, hot on the tail of unscrupulous traders, bankers and police officers. Drivers who enjoy the open road will love the ride from up-country to coast with telling descriptions of the journey and vehicles - the turn of the ignition, the purr of the engine, a bike's throaty throttle and the spin of tyres as they speed along heat-beaten highways between cities to barely-there safari dirt-tracks deep into Tsavo East National Park.

The multi-cultural face of Kenya is vividly drawn with a sharp and entertaining eye for detail and an ear attuned to the subtleties of language, accents and dialects usually discovered in a screen-writer's dialogue. A wayward Indian businessman, an alluring but besotted Arabic accomplice, a naive English banker-tourist, police officers looking for backhanders and a glamourous but hard-nosed prostitute on the make head up a strong cast of characters.

This book is a good read, fun and illuminating. It would make a great film! Mr Trzebinski draws back the veil from Karen Blixen's Africa and serves up a feast of modern life, loves, fraud and corruption in Kenya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A contemporary African novel, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant Dropping (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Actually I could hardly put it down as was keen to know what was going to happen in the end. It is well written, and the characters are believable (which is unfortunate in some cases !)
It is really refreshing to find a contemporary novel set in Kenya, I commend the author and look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really raced along. I was surprised at the scale of corruption, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elephant Dropping (Paperback)
I hope this book does well as it is very good for a first novel. I liked the ending but it made me realise how ridiculous our immigration requirements seem to allow criminals access to our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Corruption in Africa, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A light-hearted story about an innocent abroad in Kenya becoming embroiled in a property/financial scam. Various ethnic groups are involved and anyone who has lived in Kenya/Africa will particularly relate to the modus operandi.
The plot - businessman using a banker to misappropriate funds - is initially plausible enough, although the twists and turns towards the end develop into a rather convoluted tale. Nevertheless a pleasant read.
Gillian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elephant Dropping
The Elephant Dropping by Bruce Trzebinski (Paperback - 28 Jan 2013)
£7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews