Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saved me about an hour a day
Disclaimer: I bought the beta version from the authors' website and submitted some minor suggested changes, for which they kindly named me as a final reviewer in the book.

This book is perfect for anyone who knows the basics of getting a django site up-and-running but needs advice from the pros to make their site professional and lean. I was a week away from...
Published 16 months ago by Garry

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
Worth a read as there are some good tips and best practices in it but the ice cream metaphors are strained
Published 12 months ago by tjm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, useful and entertaining, 6 Jan 2014
By 
D. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Scoops of Django: Best Practices For Django 1.5 (Paperback)
Rarely have I read a book which is so well written, packed full of useful information and manages to be entertaining at the same time. I was new to Django and this filled in a lot of the blanks which the online Django tutorials did not. The book is extremely easy to read. It's obvious that the authors have taken a lot of time to ensure that concepts are explained clearly without too many words. Highly recommended for anyone working with Django.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth a read as there are some good tips and best practices in it but the ice cream metaphors are strained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a beginner, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Scoops of Django: Best Practices For Django 1.5 (Paperback)
I feel this could do with a complete example to aid. Whilst the informality is nice, I get bored of the ice cream references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept but fails to deliver., 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Scoops of Django: Best Practices For Django 1.5 (Paperback)
This is a well written and engaging book but ultimately fails to explain django 1.5 in enough depth.

I spent two months slaving away trying to get a grip on django. The documentation is comprehensive but really poorly put together so I hoped this book could help me comprehend it.

This book could have been a real benefit had it just had more in depth tutorials. The tutorials it has are half baked and assume too much.

It introduces concepts such as class based views in an easy to understand manner but then doesn't back it up with enough context to be able to gain a good understanding of what is going on.

I thought it was my inexperience that was holding me back with django, which is partly true, but actually django is very bloated and complicated if you are struggling with core concepts then this book may lull you into a false sense of security.

I have since started working with CherryPy for my web application project and it is far more intuitive and far more just 'Python'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brings what it promises!, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In short, that's a piece that summarizes the definitive Django skillset. I am having a great experience with it. Yes, one more word was needed for this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Scoops of Django: Best Practices For Django 1.5
Two Scoops of Django: Best Practices For Django 1.5 by Audrey Roy (Paperback - 16 April 2013)
£15.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews