Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This brilliant book is about much more than a crab!
Told in Eric Carle's inimitable syle of collage pictures and text, this books tells the story of a year in Hermit crab's life. He has grown too big for his old shell and needs to find some decoration for his new one. By December he has found many friends but is again too big. There is a super, surprising ending... We have borrowed this book countless times from the local...
Published on 23 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but small
Lovely story and good for helping remember months of the year. We bought this as a gift as it is one of my sons favourite stories. Smaller and flimsier than the one we have but still good.
Published 17 days ago by L. McGillycuddy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This brilliant book is about much more than a crab!, 23 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Told in Eric Carle's inimitable syle of collage pictures and text, this books tells the story of a year in Hermit crab's life. He has grown too big for his old shell and needs to find some decoration for his new one. By December he has found many friends but is again too big. There is a super, surprising ending... We have borrowed this book countless times from the local libary whilst looking for a copy! Mum and Jonathan (almost 4)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good one here, 9 Feb 2004
By A Customer
My son,5, enjoyed this tons. He was able to tackle reading some of it himself,and the pictures are colourful with things to spot from the stories. There is a recurring theme, of the hermit crab outgrowing his house, that is not too repetitive to bore the adult reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars move on fearlessly!, 21 Feb 2014
A HOUSE FOR HERMIT CRAB is a charming story about the habits of a hermit crab, with a subtheme : the breaking away from the old and venturing out into the new.

When Hermit Crab outgrows his old shell, he has to find a bigger place in which to dwell. His new home is old and very plain. But, bit by bit, anemone and starfish and crusty coral come along to adorn it; snail keep it clean, sea urchin (prickly and fierce) love to protect it and lanternfish light it up. Hermit is a happy crab. Until his cozy quarters become too cramped and again, coming full circle, he has to let go of the shell (along with the comfort of the sweet and familiar).

"I couldn't stay in that little shell forever," said Hermit Crab as he waved goodbye.

The ocean floor looked wider than he had remembered, but Hermit Crab wasn't afraid....."Sponges!" he thought. "Barnacles! Clown fish! Sand dollars! Electric Eels! Oh, there are so many possibilities!...."

So many possibilities : the important message about accepting the cycle of change with an open mind, a message made simple and gentle as only Eric Carle can. I learned a lot about hermit crabs too (stuff I didn't know - I'd actually never heard of a hermit crab until reading the book) and the illustrations are attractive and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but small, 13 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: A House for Hermit Crab (World of Eric Carle) (Paperback)
Lovely story and good for helping remember months of the year. We bought this as a gift as it is one of my sons favourite stories. Smaller and flimsier than the one we have but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crabby Adventures!, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
An absolute marvel, wonderfully illustrated, colourful and very friendly. Suitable for younger children, or even adults! Short and sweet, but a lovely tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A House for Hermit Crab (World of Eric Carle)
A House for Hermit Crab (World of Eric Carle) by Eric Carle (Paperback - 13 May 2014)
2.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews