Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, sensible and easily digested!
This is a no-frills, easy to read introduction to the basic facts of eating healthily. It's not a glossy photo-filled recipe book, nor is it a celebrity-led spurious short-term diet. In fact it's not a diet at all: it's an overview of the nutritional basics around which you can choose to build a whole lifestyle.
I'm studying medicine with a particular interest in...
Published 11 months ago by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars To basic
Would have been better if some meal plans were put in and tables like GI but overall an ok book
Published 3 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward, sensible and easily digested!, 20 Sep 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is a no-frills, easy to read introduction to the basic facts of eating healthily. It's not a glossy photo-filled recipe book, nor is it a celebrity-led spurious short-term diet. In fact it's not a diet at all: it's an overview of the nutritional basics around which you can choose to build a whole lifestyle.
I'm studying medicine with a particular interest in nutrition, obesity and diabetes, so am comfortable that the majority of information in here is based on good practice. (Every dietician in the world has a slightly different viewpoint on what exactly is best practice - but I'd be happy to follow most of the author's advice).

The chapters are short, broken down further into simple sections, and written in plain English. There is some technical language - can't be helped, when you've got to talk about glycaemic index or monounsaturated fats then you've just gotta do it - but every abbreviation is explained. The guide details a successful method of controlling you eat: breaking down your foods into major groups (protein, dairy, carbs, fats, fruit n veg, etc), balancing intake among the correct groups, with advice on what to avoid and what to choose.
There's a useful couple of chapters at the end about cutting down salt (a major step towards all-round health) and how to apply all the info when you find yourself away from home and confronted with restaurant menus that seem to have no 'good food' whatsoever on them!

Overall, a very useful handbook and more than enough for most people's needs. Easy to dip in to and read in short sections. It's refreshingly free of cuckoo ideas (like eating nothing on one day and binging the next, or only eating grapefruit peels on Tuesdays or whatever), too. However, it does emphasise the Awful Truth: that no book can make you healthy. It's only a tool. It's up to the reader to use the information...

Oh, and I was a bit surprised to find that the author bothered to parade his BSc and MSc qualifications, considering they relate to robotics and technology! His experience in exercise, nutrition, health and fitness for the YMCA seems a lot more relevant.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indeed, the perfect starter!, 18 Aug 2013
Simple, concise, just enough detail and just what I needed. After skimming through a number of other books in an attempt to find a 'back to basics' nutrition guide, I thankfully found this one. The others contradicted one another regarding what to and not to eat and all seemed to focus on weight loss. This guide focuses on healthy eating and has a more practical foundation to it reinforces the 'everything in moderation' ethos. A guide I will go back to as and when needed to help me and my family make healthy nutritional choices whilst still enjoying our food :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No nonsense, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've tried to follow all diets over the years and find as soon as a food group is restricted then I binge. This book makes complete sense to me.
I love that I'm encouraged to take responsibility for my own eating and to use the table to work out if I'm eating the right amount from each group.
I like the advocating of healthy eating without any gimmicks and no calorie counting.
I'd recommend this to anyone who struggles with calorie diets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a sensible book on eating well, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of simple, clear and interesting info on how to eat well, and what to avoid, without resorting to a fad diet! Felt a bit like going back to school. Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended by nutrition student., 8 Dec 2013
As a nutrition student, from the University of Reading, a major strength of this book is that it's not a diet book; it's a guide on healthy eating. I believe it is important we stick to reading these kinds of books because this is what we need for health and longevity. Although a diet book may help an individual lose weight, this usually is not a long-term fix and your body is usually being deprived of something in one form or another.
It contains advice on many of the simple-sounding things that many of us need help with, such as portion sizes, and how many of these portion sizes we should consume on a daily basis.
It accentuates the importance of a balanced diet. As a society, of all the cereal products that are available to us, the majority of the human diet is wheat and rice based. The guide puts forward the importance of other cereal grains; oats, barley, rye.
In addition to all of this, the guide gives useful advice on what tricks to look out for regarding `low-fat' or `light' alternatives that dominate the supermarket shelves.
The advice extends from inside the home on how to make healthier choices when shopping or eating out as well.
Finally the guide concludes with anthropometric measures such as BMI using your weight and height as predictive factors for health status. Following this, a useful section on controlling weight and appetite the right way is described.
I think this is a good choice for those individuals who want to know what a personal dietician would recommend, with understandable advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
People want to know the secret behind weight loss and control? Boom sorted! Easy simple way to understand nutrition recommend to people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound nutrition advice for a healthy life, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wanting to loose a couple of stone whilst eating healthily I bought several books to help me. I found this book to be exactly what I was looking for. It's well written and explains the food groups the body actually needs in a simple way without getting too scientific. I now understand good nutrition and it's relationship to a healthy lifestyle and have lost a stone and half in four months and feel so much better. It is really a lifestyle change rather than a diet and this book explains it better than anything else I have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really well planned easy to understand book which tells you what your body needs on a daily basis, as opposed to you eating what you think you need/crave. Although the advice is sound and well known, I was surprised by what I found and have adjusted my diet accordingly. I don't feel like snacking unhealthily anymore - that's got to be worth reading it for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars To basic, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have been better if some meal plans were put in and tables like GI but overall an ok book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good basis for healthy eating, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative, busted myths about healthy eating. Was really into smoothies and it made me realise they're not the healthiest things in the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews