Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history and business lessons
The books provides an amazing historical insight into the individual and commercial interests which shaped an electrical industry in the beginning of 20th century. I found that the issues are very similar to how the software empires are shaped today. The best product is not guaranteed to be the most successful. Tesla was not a 'gizmo' inventor but an engineer too...
Published on 3 April 2000

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit light on substance
Whilst I enjoyed the book up to a point, I did find myself skipping what felt like overly repetitious paragraphs re-affirming Tesla's lack of business savvy, or other character flaws.

I also felt that the book often skimmed over his technical achievements and theories which is why I bought the book.

As an introduction to Tesla and his inventions it's...
Published on 30 Jun 2012 by Kevin Kenny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history and business lessons, 3 April 2000
By A Customer
The books provides an amazing historical insight into the individual and commercial interests which shaped an electrical industry in the beginning of 20th century. I found that the issues are very similar to how the software empires are shaped today. The best product is not guaranteed to be the most successful. Tesla was not a 'gizmo' inventor but an engineer too much a head of his time and whose accomplishments are likely unparalleled in history. The books is short, readable, amusing, and at times technical but you don't have to be technical to read it. Have you heard of wireless power transmission over long distances? Tesla done it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to the works of Nikola Tesla., 27 April 2002
By A Customer
The book reveals Tesla to be a purist, altruist and ultimately a naive businessman. It chronicals his life and outlines his achievements in his scientific studies and his failings in his personal and business dealings. How history has sidelined this genius is one big un-answered question?
The book very clearly explains all the "technology" that we so take for granted today, that was almost wholely invented by Tesla. He was breath-takingly ahead of his times and little understood, it would seem, by the general public. Interestingly the character of two American "heroes", Edison and Westinghouse is uncovered and how they were both prepared to merely use and abandon Tesla, each in turn.
It makes you think: How many other Teslas are around today?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electrical Engineers a must read, 1 Jun 2001
I had only heard of Tesla as the name of a unit until I read this book. It really does paint a word picture of Tesla and his achivements which is a delightful read. You keep wanting him to get it right just once but he manages to get in a mess in so many different ways. The insight this book gives into the behaviour of early poineers in electricity is frightening A cracking good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Amazon!, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Lomas' book for several reasons. The most important one is that in his book Lomas is giving a due credit to one of the greatest scientific and engineering minds who ever lived, one of Leonardo da Vinci's stature. It is describing Tesla as he most likely was - a highly cultured, honest, scrupulous and generous genius, who possibly was somewhat socially inept and thus was unfortunately taken advantage of by his less scrupulous "friends and colleagues" (nomina odiosa sunt!), who did not shy away to take credit and accept the highest awards for some of Tesla's inventions. The other reason is that the book is very nicely written and reads like a novel rather than a biography. This is why I bought several copies to give some of them to my friends and colleagues who, although highly educated, did not know about Tesla and his accomplishments. And yet another reason is that the book gives me the opportunity to rectify to some extent the injustice done to Tesla and thus to contribute to his historical legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is in here!, 3 July 2000
By A Customer
I originally saw a statue of Tesla pictured in a town near Niagara Falls and wondered what that was about. Some time later, I read a review of this book in a Sunday newspaper and was astonished at what this scientist/engineer had invented. It took me just under three days to read the book. I only wish it had lasted a bit longer. Absolutely fascinating. The title of the book says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvelous Story Well Told, 11 Nov 1999
By A Customer
I had only heard of Tesla as the name of a unit until I read this book. It really does paint a word picture of Tesla and his achivements which is a delightful read. You keep wanting him to get it right just once but he manages to get in a mess in so many different ways. The insight this book gives into the behaviour of early poineers in electricity is frightening A cracking good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tesla was without doubt a genius, 27 May 2010
By 
Paul Morris "Unclemo" (Ventnor ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good read and an eye opener to those who did not know of this wonderful man.
Puts Edison in the shade ( where he should be) Tesla was an original thinker and not a grasping money is everything type of man.
To have been alive at the time and been in the lecture room would have been a rare honour.
Robert Lomas has done a great job of bringing the man to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does justice to a brilliant scientist, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is written objectively, but the sheer determination and brilliance of Tesla cannot but shine through. The scientific history is as fascinating as the enigmatic and eccentric character of the man himself. The huge impact that Tesla' s work has on our lives today is barely known to the general public and this book goes a long way in setting the record straight. It also highlights the challenges scientists and engineers face in achieving recognition and reward for their inventions in the face of corporate greed and prejudice. All science and engineering undergraduates should read this book before venturing with rose tinted glasses into the real world of lawyers and investors. Excellent reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Mad Scientist, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Ian Millard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tesla invented more than Edison, Westinghouse and Marconi put together yet is still all but unknown to the wider public.

This easy-reading book attempts to redress the balance, giving a concise and clear overview of the life of this extraordinary individual, whose inventions and suggested paths of research are still being investigated by privaye and governmental agencies, particularly in the United States. HAARP is but one pathway of research founded on the work of Tesla. Better known, of course, is alternating current supply, without which our world would be a very different place.

Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 17 May 2012
By 
Brian E. Pond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good service. Good product. I had read about this man many years ago and this was the first time I had found a book about him since. It was just as interesting and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Invented the Twentieth Century: Nikola Tesla, Forgotten Genius of Electricity
£6.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews