Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars It was a prsent for someone else, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
This was a present for someone else, so I cant, review it. From what I have read at the back of the book, its makes very interesting reading, especially if your from that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In and Out of the Lions Den. A Book Club Review, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. C. P. Malley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
I am not a football fan and hate to read of the horrors of war but Julie managed to enlighten me in such a way that I was hooked by her story. This book was one chosen by my Book Club Group and our meeting to discuss it was favourable, which is no mean accomplishment! Julie was kind enough to join us to hear our comments & bought with her many souvenirs from her fathers footballing career. Thank you Julie for sharing your amazing family history in a book full of interesting facts & amusing anecdotes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. A. R. Clevett (Worthing,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
One of the best books I have ever read.Far removed from the run of the mill biographies of modern millionaire superstars of today.This is a story of true grit and courage if a boy determined to reach he,s dream even after contracting Polio.It is not just a football story though.It is of a family and their trials and troubles that takes the reader through the Spanish Civil war and the 2nd world war.Wonderfully written by the subject John Shepherd,s daughter Julie Ryan whos research for the story is second to none.Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
I thought this book was well written, A boys dream to became a professional Footballer,and when John and Esther got engaged it brought two families together one from London and the other family from Spain, and explains why José Gonzalez came to London escaping the fascist Franco. And yet among the poor living conditions it brought people closer together. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
A fascinating true story of war, football, poverty and true love. It explains the paths the author's family have followed to bring the family to where they are today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
An excellent, well written account of John Shepherd's rise to success as a professional footballer, vividly portraying working class life in west London, pre and post war. It also depicts the upheaval, horror, and heartbreak caused by the Spanish Civil War and Franco's fascist regime.
A must read for anyone interested in football, and/or social, political, and economic history of the last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shepherd's Delight, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
This is a thoroughly enjoyable read which takes you from the slums of 1930s London to a footballers life during the 1950s. It also includes insights into the Spanish Civil war and the treatment of Republicans in France. If you are interested in social history then this is a book for you. I would recommend this book to everyone, it is well written and the story really drives along. Also John Shepherd comes over as a thoroughly nice man who overcame Polio and deserved all the accolades that came his way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for history fans (me) and football fans (my husband),, 12 Feb 2013
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
As I enjoy 20th century history - particulary the Spanish Civil and World Wars - this book was perfect. However, it dug below the surface of the well-known historical facts, and gave a personal and insightful look at how these wars affected families not only at the time, but into the future. It was a perfect mix of social history, intwined with a family love and determination to overcome the odds. It was an emontional journey, and one I was gripped by.

Even my husband enjoyed it, with the incredible true story of a footballer who overcome the odds to pursue his dream, escaping the slums of London. The world of football was a very different place in the 50s, yet the passion of the game and the charactors still sound a resonance today. A great read for both husband and wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down!, 7 Feb 2013
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
What a very interesting read. Beautifully written to hold the interest of even someone who doesn't have a passion for football. I would highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football (Paperback)
This is a very well written story about professional footballer John Shepherd. It also gives a fascinating insight to a London that doesn't exist anymore and some very personal accounts of the Spanish Civil War. I read two thirds of it the first day! It is amazing to read about a footballer's world forty, fifty years ago. So different from today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football
In and out of the Lion's Den: poverty, war and football by Julie Ryan (Paperback - 31 Jan 2013)
8.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews