Customer Reviews


347 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read
Watching over you is a book that I just couldn't put down. Charley lost her husband and a child and in a bid to start a new life she moves into a nice little flat in Stoke on Trent, UK. It's a quiet neighbourhood and that's just what Charley is after. She meets her landlady Ella early in the novel and she seems quite nice at first. It's quite apparent from early on that...
Published 2 months ago by SarahLJ

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sp Predictable
Reading the cover of this book I thought it sounded really good but I really didn't enjoy it. There was gratuitous sex throughout which had no real role in the story. This wwas the first time I have read this author and sadly it will be the last. It was predictable and not good at all. Sorry.
Published 11 months ago by Sandra edwards


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cautionary tale!, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
A quick read for me. Started late one night and finished it off the next morning.

It tells the story of Charley, a newly widowed wife who loses her husband in a car crash. Wanting to make a fresh start somewhere new she decides to leave her family home and take a short term lease until she decides what she wants to do next. And this is where we meet Ella, Charley's new landlady, a woman who on the surface appears friendly and likeable, but who as time goes on, starts to unravel before Charley's very eyes. What follows is a slow burner of a story that gradually picks up momentum and tension. It's a tale that is a told in an everyday way with a grittiness and ease that has become synonymous with Ms Sherratt's books. One that becomes clear where a system of care that should have nurtured and given freely failed spectacularly and miserably. A cautionary tale that I'm sure could easily land on any social workers' desk anywhere.

There's good characterisation and good storytelling. I should mention here that there is a fair amount of very realistic sex present within the book. Some readers have called the book soft porn??!! In my opinion it isn't, whatever is present is necessary to the character's story and is not told in a titillating or shock tactics way. More a case of I felt saddened that this was how the 'system' had failed.

It's an enjoyable read that had me racing towards the end at a frenetic speed, hurtling along to a heady climax. It's underlying sinister with just enough creepiness to keep you curled up under the duvet with your curtains very firmly kept shut. I enjoyed it and would recommend.

Happy reading! (Well it's not happy, but you know what I mean!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 1 Oct 2014
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
Watching over you is a book that I just couldn't put down. Charley lost her husband and a child and in a bid to start a new life she moves into a nice little flat in Stoke on Trent, UK. It's a quiet neighbourhood and that's just what Charley is after. She meets her landlady Ella early in the novel and she seems quite nice at first. It's quite apparent from early on that Ella is schizophrenic and has plans for Charley. The novel is about the struggle Ella has between herself and her alter ego Cassandra and how that effects Charley and her new life. I have to warn you this book is an adult book. It has plenty of swearing in it as well as explicit descriptions of sex and there is a lot of sex in this book, which starts from the very beginning. The novel is much more than sex though, it's not about sex at all and it could have been written without the sex in it and still given a great picture on what the characters are like.

I loved this book, the story is fantastic and it keeps you gripped. There is a lot of scenes that can sometimes be pretty intense without much down time between, which is great. I really enjoy when you don't get much breathing space between them, it really helps to keep me turning the pages, so much so that I finished the book in around 7 hours, which is pretty fast for me. I really liked reading about the characters, you got to know them all really well. Particularly Ella/Cassandra. Ella is schizophrenic bunny boiler who is struggling to keep control of her alter ego Cassandra, it's Cassandra who is a vulgar, sex crazed psychopath. Charley is a sweet woman that just wants to put her past behind her and live in a nice quiet neighbourhood and just get on with her life. Jake is just a teenager, but he also has a massive crush on Ella and he likes to watch her from his bedroom window. The elderly woman opposite Ella's flat is Jean, a house bound, nosey woman who likes to watch and write down the comings and goings of everyone is the neighbourhood.

The audible version of this book is narrated by Anne Flosnik; however, it just doesn't work. She has what I think, is a Yorkshire accent and it doesn't really fit well with the novel at all. She also struggles to pronounce certain words correctly and it kind of spoils it. I suggest, if you can avoid the audible version narrated by her if at all possible then it is probably a good idea. Otherwise, the novel is a great read and one I would recommend in any other format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
I would like to thank Amazon publishing, the author and Net Galley for allowing me to read and review this remarkable thriller.

I had read book one in her previous series so was aware of the authors style of writing, however this book just blew me away.

I love how the chapters are just long enough that they leave you hanging so you need to read the next chapter, then the next, then the next until the hours have slipped by and you realise you just can't leave this book alone.

I'm going to be a stalker of this author and make sure I keep up with every book she writes! Yes! It was THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense gripping thriller, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
A frightening insight into the world of obsession and schizophrenia. Charley dreams of a bright new start when she moves into a flat after the tragic loss of her partner. However, Ella her landlady, seems to have different ideas. Charley's new acquaintance will do anything to get her own way, no matter who gets hurt. While the frightening reality of her cruel world is slowly revealed, it may already be too late for Charley to run. The book is gritty and tense and offers an eerie insight into a troubled mind. This was my first book from this author, I really like the way she writes, I will definitely read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 24 Aug 2014
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put this book down. It was well written and kept me captivated. Loved the way it all came together at the end and you realised what was going on. Have ordered some more of Mel's books. Look forward to reading them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping page turner!, 7 Feb 2014
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
I have read all of Mel's previous books and was really looking forward to reading her latest. Staying true to form with her own style of 'grit lit' Watching Over You draws you in right from the start! Charley is a likeable character, the sort of person that you'd like as a best friend but who has experienced a devastating loss. She's trying to make a fresh start and rents a flat from Ella. Ella herself has experienced loss too but seems to deal with it in a completely different way. Ella is desperate to befriend Charley but is clumsy in her approach and despite Ella's bizarre behaviour you actually start to feel sorry for her. Mel's books are not for the fainted hearted; you've got voyeurs, violence, grief, obsession and a great deal of sex! It's a gritty read! I won't reveal too much more of the plot but needless to say you will find yourself racing through each chapter just wondering how it will all end. Just like her previous novel (Taunting the Dead), Watching Over You lends itself to being televised. But who would they cast as Ella?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
I live in the same locality as the author and being able to read about murderers and other villains, although fictitious, operating in the same area, gives the book extra interest.

The book is well written and has a decent storyline, but just lacks that little extra polish that would have gained the extra star. Buy a copy though, especially of you live in the Stoke on Trent area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sp Predictable, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
Reading the cover of this book I thought it sounded really good but I really didn't enjoy it. There was gratuitous sex throughout which had no real role in the story. This wwas the first time I have read this author and sadly it will be the last. It was predictable and not good at all. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No challenge, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
This book was chosen in a hurry for a holiday read. Big mistake. The characters were transparent and the storyline predictable. The author did not create any suspense which was surely the point of the whole story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best neighbour to have!, 14 Jan 2014
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watching Over You (Kindle Edition)
Being a big fan of psychological thrillers I just had to read Watching Over You by Mel Sherratt. The blurb for this book indicates that when Charley moves into her new flat that Ella who lives upstairs, may not be the best neighbour to have. We have all read enough stories of awful neighbours and some of the more unfortunate among us have had experience of them but I really hope no one reading this has experienced anyone quite like Ella.

At first all goes smoothly and Charley who is trying to take a step towards the future, following the death of her husband and unborn child, is welcomed by Ella, but reader beware, this is a tense book, told from the viewpoint of Charley and more disturbingly from Ella's, including excerpts from her notebooks where she pours out her feelings about her past. It doesn't take long before Ella is out for her first one-night stand. I run the risk of sounding like a maiden aunt (which I'm not) but there is an awful lot of sex in this book. I imagine it is a bit like Fifty Shades but with multiple partners, solo performances and voyeurism thrown in for good measure.

The story begins quite slowly as the characters are established but then the pace really picks up making this is one of those books I wanted to read from behind a cushion, except that is impossible! I read with my heart in my mouth as I wondered what was going to happen next until in next to no time the book was hurtling toward its terrifying conclusion.

Although the story depends on a number of coincidences and a few loose ends, I will certainly be looking for Mel Sherratt's previous books, the Estate series.

I received a free copy in return for this honest review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watching Over You
Watching Over You by Mel Sherratt (MP3 CD - 11 Mar 2014)
£8.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews