Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read" for anyone in IT
Bruce Schneier is one of the most respected writers on the topic of security. Previously, his work focused on identifying what it all means in terms of Information Technology; in this book, he takes a step out into the wider world to explain just how the same issues of security and trust operate within society as a whole.

He has a way of clearly explaining the...
Published on 26 April 2012 by Mole

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great title, shame about the book
This book, written by a specialist in computer security, discusses the problems of trust in society and comes garlanded with praise by "distinguished" professor of this and "emeritus" professor of that.

The author has read widely in psychology, behavioural economics and the other sexy new research fields. It's hard to see how he could write such a boring book,...
Published 13 months ago by James-philip Harries


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must read" for anyone in IT, 26 April 2012
By 
Mole "Mole" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Bruce Schneier is one of the most respected writers on the topic of security. Previously, his work focused on identifying what it all means in terms of Information Technology; in this book, he takes a step out into the wider world to explain just how the same issues of security and trust operate within society as a whole.

He has a way of clearly explaining the real issues that helps even those with limited experience understand some of the more complex scenarios. He takes the reader step by step through the various problems and makes even the most dry topic thoroughly readable. The writing is interspersed with real world examples that highlight those areas where things work well; and he takes various agencies to task over the foolish policies and strategies that do nothing to help secure the individual, organisation or nation.

Those that work in IT should definitely read this; and it would be of considerable use to senior managers, HR staff, politicians and anyone that has an interest in how society is developing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, that won't reach all people it should., 25 Aug 2013
I have been a fan of mr. Schneiers work ever since I encountered it during a cryptography class in university. Bruce Schneier knows his IT security, he is an acclaimed expert on the wider issues surrounding (IT) operational security, and I appreciate him for that. However, when he first announced this book I saw two traps he could walk into, both related to the fact that with this book he would step far outside his academic home base.

First, like a physicist approaching economics, he could look around in his new field, loudly announce everything the experts have been doing wrong for decades, and proceed to make a fool of himself. Second, like an experienced excel user approaching an actual programming problem for the first time, he could be spending pages and pages furiously applying completely the wrong tool to an actual problem, wasting everybody's time.

Fortunately, mr. Schneier has avoided both traps with style by taking this book in a -for me at least- unexpected direction. This book is a tool-kit to help you think about trust and security related issues as they occur everywhere in society. In a slow but steady pace, using a lot of case-studies as examples, mr. Schneier shows us how to identify these types of issues, how to think about the various actors involved, and -and this is the most important bit- how to approach a possible solution. The book talks about all trade-offs involved, and also spends sufficient time about the fallacy of perfect security, and the impossibility of eliminating the need for trust. He never goes so far as to propose solutions for the many complex problems in this field that society faces, but he establishes an excellent vocabulary for talking about this type of problem, and that makes this book very valuable.

I know a lot of people in today's society who could benefit from reading this. Politicians who have to create the trust systems we live in, public servants across all fields who have to write the rules that govern the system, all the people who complain when these systems fail, and all the journalists who then follow the popular cry for more expensive, trust-eliminating rules. I fear not enough of these people will.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and heartily recommend everyone who came this far to read it, talk about it, pass it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both well-researched and practical work on trust, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before I started reading "Liars and Outliars" I had never given much thought to the topic of trust in society. Of course, I had thought about security, but mainly from a technical standpoint: how to use it to secure myself and ourselves against threats from the outside. This book has taugt me how trust and security belong together and how the latter can be used to fill up the gaps that result from lacking the former. This book stands out, because both of its well-researched models and theories and because of its practicality: each of the main ideas is larded with examples that make understanding the presented ideas really easy.

This book is divided in four parts. In the first part Schneier brings the reader up to par with the current state of the 'science of trust', as he calls it. In these chapters he talks about the way human beings and some animals cooperate, how cooperation developed in their respective species, what altruism is, and what a society is. This first section of the book ends with an interesting set of societal dilemmas and - most importantly - a framework by which each of these dilemmas can be understood. In this framework Schneier puts the societal (or group) interest over against the interest of the party (or person) that wants to defect.

Part two of the book presents four pressures influencing every societal dilemma, namely societal, moral, reputational and institutional. Each one of these parts of this model of trust is described in detail and explained through examples. This part of the book ends with an overview of the topic of security and how it relates towards these pressures. In this chapter, Schneier shows once again how good and well-balanced security is necessary to counterbalance the different forms of trust. He also describes how security influences each of the four pressures.

The first two parts of the book are quite theoretical and systemic, but legible and understandable nevertheless. In the third section Schneier takes his models into the real world, to see how they fit in. He does so from the perspective of competing interests within organizations (each group of people), corporations (different from individual people because they're no people with personal interests), and institutions (governmental groups, with their particular interests). What has kept with me after reading these chapters is that each 'society' has its own interests and that these interests do not always fit in with the interests of others. I believe that dissecting societal dilemmas through Schneier's model of trust really helps to gain a fuller understanding of the weight and content of the forces at work.

The fourth and final part of the book contains three chapters with conclusions. For some part, these chapters are a repetition of the previous chapters. They contain, however, a kind of counterbalance to the well-reasoned and rational model of trust Schneier presented, because of the concept of the human psychology that sometimes gives us the desire to do things that are not so reasonable. Moreover, he describes some of the technological advances that have been made and will be made, and - more importantly - how both cooperators and defectors make use of technology. This section also holds a fiery speech in favor of well-reasoned, community-based, transparant, and general forms of security technology.

In his last chapter Schneier once again makes sure that we understand that security is not something do once and then forget, it's a process that needs to be readjusted all the time. It's also important to keep in mind that society both needs cooperators and defectors (or outliers), since the latter group is able to foster innovation, that can be used to improve society for all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Schneier masterpiece, 25 April 2012
By 
J. Wickins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is recommended for anyone who wants to understand how society depends upon trust. Bruce Schneier once again brings his insight to the over-arching basis of security - what it means, and how it can be abused - in his usual clear style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul B, 21 Feb 2012
"This book should be read by anyone in a leadership role, whether they're in the corporate or political sphere. And for anyone at C-level within a corporation or the equivalent level in government, this book is a must read.

Schneier's observations, such as how employing a security guard can increase the rate of shoplifting and how taxing garbage/waste can lower the rate of recycling, demonstrate that more complex thought needs to go into decisions on structures and policies." reviewed further on NakedSecurity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of anecdotes, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Alex T (Limassol, Limassol Cyprus) - See all my reviews
I greatly enjoyed reading this book; every few minutes, it seemed, I'd pick up my iPad to look up a name or event mentioned in passing. Schneier does a great job collecting anecdotes and linking them to his central thesis, and if you enjoy interesting anecdotes and experimental results on trust you'll enjoy this book. The central point of the book was well-argued, but seemed to me fairly self-evident; I read the author's blog, so quite possibly I am not the target audience. The diagrams every few pages also struck me as a bit too straightforward; I appreciate the author's attempts to create a system by which to logically structure/think about incentives, but I felt it somewhat incongruous with the light, anecdotal style of the rest of the book. I also, as a computer scientist, would have enjoyed a bit more technical detail.

Having said that, this book is an excellent introduction to the issues surrounding trust in a changing, technological world. I've given it 5 stars for this reason; I believe that it is perfectly placed for its intended audience. For a reader already somewhat knowledgeable in the field, it's a great compendium of fun facts though, and still well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the way Bruce presents the dilemmas that lie behind every single aspect of our lives is just brilliant. Quite cold and rational writing style -but still way more readable than what one gets often to read in the security spheres.

Recommended for pretty much anyone willing to kill a few thousand neurons trying to understand why people act like they do, instead of just defaulting to black-and-white, good-and-bad-guy answer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liars And Outliers, 20 Nov 2012
Dear Colleagues,

I am in the process of reading Bruce Schneier's latest book, "Liars and Outliers"...Very good it is too. I was much surprised with how much I agreed with his views on so many things, not that that matters, but it is nice to find that one is not quite alone in one's views of the world occasionally...:-). The book is well researched, wide ranging and looks closely at issues of security and trust between human beings, how they developed through history and what difference the computer age makes to relationships and transactions between different groups and different societies. A breath of fresh air in all this paranoia which is going on in the world today. If you are interested in this area, it is well worth a read in my view...:-).
Enjoy...:-).
ATB
Duggz De BuggzLiars and Outliers: Enabling the Trust that Society Needs to Thrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A novel approach to security from an IT guru, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Neil Carthy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bruce Schneier's writing career has followed a well defined path from the specific to the general. He started with Applied Cryptography, a highly technical reference on computer encryption, then came Secrets and Lies, an outstanding book on computer security. This book continues the trend as it considers security and trust in the widest possible sense.

I found this book thought provoking and stimulating but a more difficult read than some of his earlier books. It's definitely very meta... it gets quite philosophical on the nature of security and trust in modern society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy two copies, 16 July 2012
By 
Toby Speight (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've followed Bruce's work for many years, so I had a good idea of what to expect from his latest work.

It does not disappoint. Covering the evolution of security mechanisms, from the very small scale of a few personal friends up to the global institutions to which we trust much of our lives, Bruce examines in depth how we choose whether to trust or distrust other people and organisations, and how we decide how much regulation and technology is required to keep enough of them trustworthy enough for our societies to function.

As a reader of Bruce's blog on schneier,com, I thought I would be reading things I'd already learnt, but I was wrong. There's a lot of new stuff here, and perhaps the best and most-lasting aspect is the presentation of a structure and language for talking about trust - I find I'm using the terms from Liars and Outliers intuitively any time I think about security.

There's a good exposition of how our security systems fail, and what must be done to avoid such failures, which I think makes it essential reading for any company director or politician.

You need two copies of this book - one to keep on your shelf to read, and re-read, and one to give to your (least-) favourite policymaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liars & Outliers: Enabling the Trust That Society Needs to Thrive
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews