Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to "get noticed and win big in an increasingly noisy world", 18 Aug 2012
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Given the blizzards of messages we receive electronically and the cacophony of voices competing for attention, it is much more difficult now than ever before to create or increase demand for a product or service. Michael Hyatt offers what he characterizes as a "step-by-step guide" to getting noticed. He agrees with Shakespeare: "All the world's a stage." Therefore, whatever we wish to communicate must have both a stage and an attentive audience. Extending his metaphor, Hyatt explains, "This book is all about attracting that audience, turning on the brightest lights you can find, and building passionate loyalty so your audience stays with you through every line, every scene, every act. It's not about ego or being the center of attention. It's about having something of value to others and finding the most powerful way of getting that message to others who can benefit from it."

What Hyatt proposes is a five-part process, with each Part consisting of specific action steps. This approach covers both the "what" and the "how" as he provides a combination of information, insights, and counsel. For example, "Part One: Start With WOW" has seven sequential action steps:

o Create a compelling product [or service]
o Bake in the WOW
o Exceed market expectations
o [Be aware and] beware of obstacles
o Don't settle for less than great
o Give your product [or service] a memorable name
o Wrap the WOW in style

Part One enables the reader to understand "how to create, name, and package a compelling product (the what). If you don't have that right, nothing else matters." Material in Parts Two-Five explain how to prepare to launch, build a home base, expand reach, and engage one's "tribe." Hyatt inserts dozens of checklists throughout the 60 brief but remarkably substantial chapters.

He concludes the book with an especially significant incident when he and his wife attended a Tony Robbins seminar and at one point, they and all others were invited to walk barefoot the length of one of twelve lanes of scorching hot (i.e. 1000) coals, each lane about 20 feet long. That experience became "a powerful metaphor in our lives...What does this have to do with building a platform? Everything...Just like fire walking, [begin italics] the key is to start [end italics]."

Presumably Michael Hyatt agrees with me that it would be a fool's errand for anyone to attempt to apply immediately everything they learn from his book. Also, I think that modifications must be made with regard to how relevant strategies and tactics are executed. Moreover, the nature and extent of the platform will vary from a presentation to one person such as the CEO of a prospective client to an audience of 1,500 at a major professional meeting. However, whatever the given circumstances, the basics remain the same and they are covered thoroughly and eloquently in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic if you want to build an online profile, 29 May 2012
I've been reading Michael Hyatt's blog for a number of years, so I thought that I wouldn't get too much from the book. But it is definitely a fantastic read, whether you are a newbie online or someone who is more experienced. I have read many branding and marketing books and experimented with my own platform online but I wrote 10 pages of notes from this book and have a long To Do list of things I need to improve. This will help you audit where you are right now and target where you want to get to. Michael has done a great job of making the information accessible and the reasons behind the tools are also explained. Recommended for people who are serious about expanding their online platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource for Small Businesses, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Platform - Get Noticed in a Noisy World" is written by Michael Hyatt, Chairman and former CEO of Thomas Nelson Publishers. He writes from personal experience, sharing how he developed his blog which has become one of the most popular in the world.

The book is divided into five parts: Start with Wow; Prepare to Launch; Build Your Home Base; Expand Your Reach; and Engage Your Tribe

In addition to the easy to read 60 chapters, there are several pages of resources and a very useful Appendix of Blog Post Ideas.

I have read this book from cover to cover twice so far, on Kindle, in hard copy, and listened to the audio version several times too. And I keep going back to mine the generously seeded nuggets to implement in my business, and pass on to clients.

`Platform' is an excellent resource for small businesses, whether they make products or deliver services. The author's exploration of and success with social media is proof that it can be done, so long as the offering is of the highest quality.

The author's own experience of social networking seems mainly focused on Twitter, with only the briefest mention of Facebook. Therefore, this book is not a comprehensive guide to using all the currently popular social networks, but then it doesn't pretend to be. What it shows is how effective it can be to concentrate your efforts on one network.

This book is encouraging and full of useful ideas that are easy to implement. It is suitable for both experienced and novice bloggers. I recommend it to coaches, trainers, authors and speakers who want to stand out from the crowd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So You Want to Have a Platform: Are You Sure?, 3 Aug 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Now all the people gathered together as one man in the open square that was in front of the Water Gate; and they told Ezra the scribe to bring the Book of the Law of Moses, which the Lord had commanded Israel. So Ezra the priest brought the Law before the assembly of men and women and all who could hear with understanding on the first day of the seventh month. Then he read from it in the open square that was in front of the Water Gate from morning until midday, before the men and women and those who could understand; and the ears of all the people were attentive to the Book of the Law. So Ezra the scribe stood on a platform of wood which they had made for the purpose; and beside him, at his right hand, stood Mattithiah, Shema, Anaiah, Urijah, Hilkiah, and Maaseiah; and at his left hand Pedaiah, Mishael, Malchijah, Hashum, Hashbadana, Zechariah, and Meshullam." -- Nehemiah 8:1-4 (NKJV)

If you've ever tried to attract a book agent or a commercial publisher, you were probably encouraged to work on developing your platform. As the chairman and former CEO of a major Christian publisher, Michael Hyatt should definitely know what an author's platform looks like. In this book, he describes the highlights of his own experience in creating one around a blog and lots of Twitter messages.

Although he was inexperienced on the Internet, Mr. Hyatt had plenty of resources to help attract an audience through his position in the Christian publishing world. In fact, if you go the publishing Web site, you'll probably end up on his blog. So his experience won't be your experience. Realize that. And he doesn't make any claims in that direction.

If you are a complete newcomer, some of the advice will be so general that you may not know what to do with it (such as using certain software). Unless you are a huge star on Twitter, much of what's in here won't help.

I only found a few parts that might apply to me personally, and I dutifully tried them out (especially increasing the frequency of putting a major piece of content on a blog) and then using social media to let others know. Yup, it worked. In a one week period of time, I increased a new blog's traffic by 30 times.

I could see that if I started spending a lot of time doing this, I could definitely have a bigger platform. But is it worth it? I don't think so.

Be sure you know what you want a platform for and what benefits you want people to receive. A lot of so-called platform-building is nothing more than making a lot of noise so that people pay attention. I'm reminded of how acting wannabes often wear revealing clothes to get attention. Yes, it gets attention ... but can you act any better when you are done?

Why do publishers like platforms? Well, they sell more books at less expense to themselves. So they make money. That's perfectly okay, but realize that your service to God may suffer in the process because you are spending less time serving Him.

Also realize that a lot of the advice in this book will be out-of-date quite quickly, because it's very tool oriented. If you decide you must have a bigger platform, definitely read the blog in the future so you can keep up with Mr. Hyatt's latest advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, easy-to-read, excellent information - well worth it. If you want to set yourself up in business online or offline, you could do no better than get this book. Using it as a reference to hone my website, Twitter presence. Thought I knew quite a bit but something to learn throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real insight into building an audience when you are a small business or artist. The book contains good advice and actionable items that actually work. I recommend the book if you are looking to build your platform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 23 April 2014
By 
Kevin Chapman "kevinchapman.co.uk" (Peterborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of useful information that I'm already starting to apply to my own blogging, thanks very much for your help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible for Platform builders!!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great source to build your own platform. If you want to delve deeper into any particular topic in the book, there are multiple book suggestions in each chapter which makes it invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple, easy to read book that will get you started building your platform. Anyone who has something to sell in the modern world should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of great stuff to go with, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was highly recommended to me and I can see why. In turn, I now recommend this book to you. I made highlights as I went through, my action plan list. There must be a couple dozen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World
Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World by Michael Hyatt (Audio CD - 3 Dec 2013)
12.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews