Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep study
This is a huge book and looking like a deep study of Michael Jacksons life and the people around him.I have only just got to the start of first chapter and I am already suprised at the writers revalations on certain things,showing the pressure Michael was under,the writer seems respectful of Michael jackson so it should be truthful and sincere,but be warned there is a lot...
Published 10 months ago by Corby

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NY Times Review Slams "Untouchable"
Michiko Kakutani, a Pulitzer Prize-winning critic for The New York Times, calls this book "dreary," "haphazard," "unconvincing," "bloated," and "thoroughly dispensable." Kakutani adds that "all too often, this volume feels as if it were constructed out of recycled materials."

Siobhan Murphy of Metro News states, "quite a few of the new anecdotes in veteran...
Published 18 months ago by Argyllshire Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep study, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a huge book and looking like a deep study of Michael Jacksons life and the people around him.I have only just got to the start of first chapter and I am already suprised at the writers revalations on certain things,showing the pressure Michael was under,the writer seems respectful of Michael jackson so it should be truthful and sincere,but be warned there is a lot of reading but it seems like a book worth reading.Wow did I say deep study!,this book has a reference and chapter notes that are a novel in their own right,amazing detail especially covering 2005 to 2009 period the deals ,people,lifestyle,travels ,this book is written as if the writer was actually right there,going into great detail into the confusion surrounding the build up to the This is it o2 concerts,with Michael somehow being managed by three different managers!.Then the refrence notes goes into great detail to list his sources,you will feel like you know the people who were around Micheal after reading this amazing book.
Update this to five stars this book feels like watching a movie exciting stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book being trashed by a strange chorus of disapproval!!!, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What is with all the nasty reviews of this book? It is an extremely sympathetic look at the unique life that Michsel led and draws the inevitable conclusion that his unusual upbringing made Michael what he was. Not a paedophile, not a nutter, not a predator of young boys, it shows instead someone who remained kind, extremely loving and was, of course, gifted beyond belief -even after all the dreadful things that befell him.

What it does not do is show the other Jacksons in a good light at all, anyone who harbours a rose tinted view of the family would definitely not like this book. I have always believed his father and siblings used Michael as a cash cow and hounded him with demands which he was not capable of refusing. Katherine does not come out of this book looking too good either, well after all she was complicit in the ruining of his childhood, but perhaps she did not see it that way.However we have all seen documentary proof that she liked the money.

The bad reviews are stating that it is all tabloid trash - that is just not true, he has named the papers who printed the most ridiculous rumours and there is an extensive bibliography and chapter notes stating all his sources. If you do not want to believe what certain sources have said that is up to you, the reader. Randall Sullivan has painstakingly researched this book and has put forward what he believes to be the nearest to the truth.

Some reviewers have stated that it is badly written - rubbish. Sullivan is a journalist of many years standing and has previously been nominated for a Pulitzer prize. Just because you do not like what someone is writing does not make it bad writing. It is well written and the only criticism I have is that I wished that he had chosen to write it in chronological order, but that is just my taste. Perhaps he has gone into too much detail in the case of some of the legal battles that Michael had to endure but he has been meticulous and you cannot knock him for that.

I really feel that if someone who had doubts about, or did not like Michael, read this book they would come away afterwards feeling compassion and sadness that such a gifted and generous person was hounded and lampooned most of his life up to and even after his untimely death.

If you still have any doubts about trying this book please, please read Thomas Mesereaus' review on Amazon.com.

Finally - you do have to wonder who wrote all the bad reviews.

*** Added on 1st Feb 2013 - 11 out of the 20 one star reviews to date are from first and only time reviewers - Very interesting eh???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valued gift, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes , not for me , My daughter liked the book as a present so as it was new condition it was appreciated Thank you. Sad ending I already knew so didn't read it myself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael jackson, 11 Jan 2014
This book tell us the hall life if MJ
Is well written and very engaging
even if you not a fan of MJ
I love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE THE PROPOGANDA, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good golly there is a breed of Micheal Jackson fans that are militant,aggresive and worse of all in denial.On this review page this is demonstrated with wall to wall negative reviews which i believe firmly are written by people who have not even read the book.
Whats ironic is the heavy handed techniques of these fans who bully and cajoule people who may have enjoyed this book.Using tactics there messiah would consider abhorrent.Now there is no excuse for factual errors which this book does include but this does not invalidate other information that has been provided in affadavits and that we the public have witnessed....so the obsessives cling to these breadcrumbs which really are small feed compared to....say Jackson dangling his baby from a window,thinking its acceptable for someone to take a persons child and stay in a seperate hotel room from said childs parents,blowing obscene amounts of money,staring into a camera and telling viewers with a straight face that "i have only had two operations on my face".Oh,not forgetting the "lovely" family such as his father who would whip him,La Toya who held a press conference to denounce her brother as a criminal,his "loving" brother recording a song where he disses his brother.The list of calamities that the public,fans witnesses with their OWN eyes are in numerable enough to kind of make other pick points irrelevant.
You think his kids were naturally conceived?????????PPPPPLEASE!
Actually a chapter i just read about Jacksons time in Ireland really painted a touching portrait of Jackson as a responsible,caring father who craved normalaty for himself and his children.Jackson was a genius.A flawed,complex genius.I LOVE his music,in his art he was untouchable,his humanitarian work second to none but you know there was issues.All the cries of "tabloid trash!!!"FrankDelilo planted stories in the press for jimmys sake!!!!!!!
I refuse to believe Jackson was some simpleton,this guy was SHREWD,maybe not in the later years but early on he knew his stuff.He did not really talk in that girly way.Untouchable has its flaws BUT it is a good,salacious,intriguing read...another view among the multiple others on one of the most successful,talented performers of our time.A real page turner.....it is out of order for people to just one star something when some clearly have not read the book and just disagree because Jackson is not portrayed as an angel.Thats the thing that struck me in this book,Jackson was just a person.
A person dragged from pillar to post,who went thorough massive highs massive lows.Put it this way i am glad i ignored all reviews on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it. A book for fan or a fan of a fan., 22 Mar 2013
By 
Mike (EDINBURGH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked MJ fine enough but was never a fanatic. The book paints a picture of a self indulgent, troubled but gifted person who has the world at his feet but has too many advisors between him and reality. The good advisors made him what he was and so did the bad advisors. Beyond his gifts he comes across as a flawed and complex character regardless of how "simple" he wished he was. Great read especially if you recognise the contribution to his life (good and bad) his coterie of advisors gave him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jackson Thought Police???, 22 Jan 2014
Don't listen to the bad reviews on here...bit over the top aren't they??? You Betcha!!! This work deserves a hearing...It's a fair one...and unless it shines a light on MJ showing 100% perfection...then the thought police are down on you like ants!!! To quote..."Cyberspace is home to a bewildering number of vigilante groups policing all sorts of perceived thought crimes. Among them is a bunch of enthusiastic Michael Jackson fans, who patrol the internet in search of words that sully the perfection of their idol's posthumous reputation". Need I say more???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NY Times Review Slams "Untouchable", 1 Feb 2013
Michiko Kakutani, a Pulitzer Prize-winning critic for The New York Times, calls this book "dreary," "haphazard," "unconvincing," "bloated," and "thoroughly dispensable." Kakutani adds that "all too often, this volume feels as if it were constructed out of recycled materials."

Siobhan Murphy of Metro News states, "quite a few of the new anecdotes in veteran Rolling Stone contributor Randall Sullivan's exhausting biography seem to have been refuted already, including the story that Jackson and Mark Wahlberg fought over a private jet heading out of post-9/11 New York."

Chris Lee of the Los Angeles Times reports that "Untouchable" is "overlong and feels overstuffed with extraneous detail" that turns the book "into a joyless slog."

Joe Vogel, who appears in Spike Lee's "Bad 25" documentary, and is the author of a critically acclaimed book on Jackson, says that Sullivan "didn't scrutinize his sources at all... In terms of his personal interviews, he relied heavily on unreliable figures."

Roger Friedman of Showbiz 411, who is "cited at least 87 times in the book," (but was never contacted) complains, "I'm sure I'm not the only person from whom he's constructed his story. David Jones of the UK's Daily Mail will find a lot of his work in there."

In short, the poor sales of "Untouchable" are not because of some sort of conspiracy, but because it is deeply flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great work, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a MJ fan for over 30 years and this is one of the best books I have read
I think it gives us a fare account of want went on in MJ`s live.
sad to think what we the public did to him, not to mention the media.
Thanks Thomas A. Mesereau, Jr. for the adivice to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do justice to Jackson, 9 Feb 2013
By 
morinen (Moscow, Russia) - See all my reviews
I have suffered through this book, and let me leave an honest review.

First of all, I have to say that it was incredibly long and boring. I fell asleep twice while reading it, and I barely made it to the end. The book is exactly what New York Times called it - "dreary" and "bloated". The narrative is sketchy, jumping from last years of MJ's life to his childhood, then back, then to the 80-s and 90-s, and then to the last years again, making the story really hard to follow. The text is overstuffed with numbers, dollar amounts and loads of minor details that seem to bear little significance for understanding Michael Jackson or his life. I would have never thought that you could turn Michael Jackson - the fascinating, magical, lively Michael Jackson - into such a boring subject, and yet Sullivan managed to do just that.

Which brings me to the main complaint: this book completely misses the point of who Michael Jackson was. If you read memoirs of people who met him - even for a brief period of time - you can't help but be mesmerized by the image they all paint. By the tangle of contradictions so evident in his persona - his shyness and his sexuality, his kindness and his ruthless business grip, his message of racial harmony and his bold challenging of racial norms, his humility and his larger than life persona. Michael Jackson was the dazzling star who learned his dance moves from wild animals, danced on the fence in Neverland, wrote songs in branches of a tree, loved to explore Disneyland rides at night, compared songwriting to catching falling leaves, believed in magic and made it happen, caused people to cry, scream and pass out and was described by his collaborators as "he changed the structure of molecules in the room." I dare you to find a single person who met him and wasn't completely charmed and taken by his wit, charisma and unstoppable creativity. That is what made him one of a kind; that is what kept people interested and engaged in him. In this book, however, you'll see and feel none of that. His genius is dismissed; his artistic personality is ignored in favor of dull trivia and recycled rumors. The majority of this hefty book consists of re-packaged tales form Taraborrelli's biography, news articles and other books and publications, while the author's own contribution, it seems, lies mostly in the area of factual mistakes and speculation. Yawn.

It has already been mentioned that the book is full of embarrassing inaccuracies, and unverified information. The author makes mistakes such blatant as stating that Michael Jackson's wife was adopted by a millionaire and had no boyfriend till the age of 30 (when in fact she was raised by her mom and married at 24); alleging that Rowe's lawyers said MJ's children weren't really his (never happened); confusing the two MTV VMA events that happened a year apart, and so on. Not to mention an assortment of small misstatements and mixed names of people and organizations that would take too long to list. Such things may not seem very important in the big picture, but they clearly testify to the shallow research and lack of credibility of the author's sources.

And then there is absolute nonsense. Just when you start thinking the author may have been genuinely misguided in his attempt to write a true account of events, he leaves you stunned by statements such as that Jackson faked his heterosexuality, died a virgin or that he kept a collection of plastic noses in a jar. The passage about the noses seems the most bizarre. The author goes on and on about it for two pages, somehow mixing it with the topic of Bobby Driscoll in the process, and the whole thing is just.... either utterly pathetic if Sullivan really believes in this (which is hard to imagine), or utterly bewildering and makes you question his mental state if he's making it up as he goes.

Generally, Sullivan tries to play into all hands: he describes that MJ had vitiligo but then speculates that MJ had been bleaching his skin prior to the disease and maybe he just didn't want to be black; he presents facts pointing to Jackson's innocence against accusations in improper behavior, and yet he makes sure to list every groundless insinuating tabloid story he could find and gives a free rein to publicity suckers such as Ray Chandler. Why blow up the book by repeating things that have no merit to them, you'd think? For extra sensationalism, I guess. On the other hand, in cases where it would be justified to give different accounts of the story because contradictory versions exist (the relationship of MJ with Debbie Rowe is one example), he fails to do so. Instead he opts for a more sensational version, the one that paints MJ as "abnormal" and a freak. That is not, in my opinion, what a real biographer should do. In fact, I noticed that Sullivan quite often distorted facts and quotes or presented them out of context in order to support his personal reductive opinion of Michael Jackson as asexual, artificial, weird creature, incapable of relationships and unwilling to father children.

Sullivan evidently is no expert on Michael Jackson's life, and many things that are obvious to any fan were a late-stage "revelation" to him, as he himself admits (for example, how good a father Michael Jackson was). It is understandable then, that in many cases he failed to get through the layers of fiction to the bottom of things. But it is absolutely not excusable for someone who claims to be a biographer.

His list of sources, although seems long and extensive, for some reason does not include any of MJ's creative collaborators of last years, such as Brad Buxer, Michael Prince, Will.I.Am, or Theron Fimster. I wish Sullivan covered Jackson's creative side with at least half of the passion he devoted to depicting him as a drug addict. Music and artistry were always central to Michael Jackson's identity, and I honestly don't understand how one can claim writing a full account of his life (or even a period of it) without exploring that part of his personality. But, after all, Sullivan freely admits that he got "tired" of MJ's music after Thriller album. And his tiredness shows throughout the book. He really shouldn't have written it.

I did appreciate that the author gave the floor to Mr. Mesereau to speak about the 2005 trial and Michael's state during the ordeal. It's always a pleasure to hear from Mr. Mesereau, and I found the chapters about the trial to be probably the most substantial in the whole narrative. However, the progress Sullivan had made was swiftly erased by lengthy insinuations and offensive conclusions in the last chapters. Despite the fairly honest trial coverage, I couldn't bring myself to rate the book even with 2 stars, given how grossly it misrepresents Michael Jackson's personality.

I'll also use the opportunity to recommend truly interesting and insightful books about Michael Jackson - books written by people who actually knew the man or understand what "research" implies:
"Man in the Music: The Creative Life and Work of Michael Jackson" by Joseph Vogel - about Michael Jackson the musician;
"You Are Not Alone: Michael, Through a Brother's Eyes" by Jermaine Jackson and "My Friend Michael: An Ordinary Friendship with an Extraordinary Man" by Frank Cascio - about Michael Jackson the man;
"The King of Style: Dressing Michael Jackson" by Michael Bush - about Michael Jackson the icon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Untouchable: The Strange Life and Tragic Death of Michael Jackson
11.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews