Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 September 2007
I have read this masterpiece (together with the other two of the Sprawl series: NEUROMANCER and COUNT ZERO) during my university years, about a decade ago. Since then I have re-read it countless times.

Many a times the third book of a trilogy is published only to fulfill contractual obligations: this is definitely NOT the case here. Every one of those three is a standalone masterpiece.
Sure, the Sprawl trilogy defined cyberspace, wireheads, zaibatsu-controlled society and futuristic discontent. But this is not the reason why one enjoys these novels so much. It is the beautiful poetic language. The syncopated phrases. The direct effect of verbalized brand names. The noir feeling, rare at the time in a SF novel.

William Gibson had already reaped the fame and fortune from his first two novels. In this one you will find his images more bold, his phrases more relaxed and his writing more tight. Absolutely Beautiful!

Even reading only some pages brings up powerful imagery, unforgettable prose...

Start with Neuromancer. Then Count Zero. And finally this one.

A Masterpiece Trilogy!!! Own them all!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2000
Gibson unites the themes and characters of Neuromancer and Count Zero in a blaze of icy glory. From the contaminated iron wastelands of the Sprawl to the cold anachronism of an aging London. From the endless internal landscapes of a huge lump of biochip to the attenuated life of the world's biggest star. Gibson takes us on a sad, elegant and sublime journey round the world and inside the dreams of man and machine. If you haven't met Molly, Bobby Zero, the Finn, Angie or 3-Jane before, you'll want to read the first two books to find out about them (They'll linger in your mind until you do). If you're already aquainted, you'll be pleased to hear that Gibson hasn't lost his touch with the either the old folk, or the new, introduced in this book. His themes, characters and style have matured, growing a little more abstract and difficult to handle. But hey, so have I and so does life! Indeed it's the aching similarities between the artificial reality that Gibson has created and the real thing which make this a work of literature and a thing of beauty. FIVE BIG, FAT, JUICY STARS for Mona Lisa Overdrive
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2005
It is a tribute to William Gibson that his vision of the near future was interesting enough to sustain three novels without any apparent strain.
If you liked the first two books in the series (Neuromancer and Count Zero) then you will like this one, for in many ways it is the strongest book of the three.
If you are unfamiliar with the first two books then this is not the place to start. There are too many references that will be incomprehensible.
Recommended
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
I'm a fan of Gibson, so I'm being kinder here than perhaps I should be, but this was overall a good novel. I think you'd have to be a fan of Gibson's universe to enjoy it so much, but also a word of advice: You should read the books in order (I didn't know that this was the third installment) and the overall narrative will be more enjoyable.

Not comparable to Neuromancer I'm afraid, but you can only make a breakthrough like that once! This book (along with Count Zero) gives a little more of the Neuromancer universe, plus Gibson's fast moving style, which is always a pleasure.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
"Mona Lisa Overdrive" is an insightful look into the meaning of celebrity as it is shaped and distorted in Gibson's cyberspace future. Characters from "Neuromancer" and "Count Zero" return, showing new facets to their already complex personalities. Those who haven't read the previous two books in the "Cyberspace" trilogy should read them first, in sequence, before delving again into richly textured landscapes which Gibson evokes through his sparse, lyrical prose. Yet I can assure you that "Mona Lisa Overdrive" is well worth waiting for. The plot moves along at a more leisurely pace here than before, allowing Gibson time to delve more deeply into his character's minds. Anyone wishing to read a great work of literature that is also classic cyberpunk science fiction won't be disappointed with "Mona Lisa Overdrive".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
I knew Gibson's work was one of the "some" that influenced "the Matrix" so I found it too attractive a read to miss it. The writer knows perfectly well how to knit stories and bring characters together and, at the same time, how to keep a reader interested. The world that he depicts is so tuned with the world that is being created that one can do nothing but shudder; I guess that by the time that he wrote it, the similarites with today's world were but insinuated, however, now reality is catching up with fiction... "What is man's mind? Where is it? What is reality? " are questions that echo as the reader turns to a new page...
The whole story reminds me of another book: "Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World" by Haruki Murakami.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
I read this quite a long time after reading the first two books in the trilogy and I enjoyed it a lot. Nothing could quite match the futuristic shock of Neuromancer but the author carried the story of his rather pessimistic cyber-future on in a entertaining way. Interesting characters and language, and plot threads knitted together in a satisfying way. Good book, but you should definitely read the other two first, otherwise you'll be missing a lot of references.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
Excellent dystopian views especially of England somewhere neglected in the first two books, it is a reunion of sorts and has a small habit of name dropping previous characters from books who are long gone and are almost irrelevant in this book.

However there is less technocracy in this more of what's outside the big cities and glowing cities of the rich citizens and I feel this makes it much more down to earth than the other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
I was expecting a lot from this, as the thrid inthe trilogy, but I found it didn't really bring anything new to the trilogy. The story line itself was mundane and predictable, and there were no "genre defining"elements like there were in the previous two installments. Still ok to read, but don't expect your mind to be blown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2007
This along with neuromancer is a showcase for molly. The street samuri comes into her own in this multi layered effort. The sprawl comes alive along with the long reaching tendrils of a long forgotten advisory. All in all a novel light years ahead of it's time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.