Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more than the film
Like a lot of people I came to this after seeing the film Hunt For Red October Special Edition [DVD] [1990] (a classic in its own right). The film was based on this book, however it has missed certain key portions that the book has. If you are wanting a typical Tom Clancy thriller this is among the best - don't expect groundbreaking symbolism in this book! The book...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by MasterOfNinja

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Different plotline to the original book
I love Tom Clancy's work. I've read The Hunt For Red October countless times in it's paperback form and was so looking forward to reading the kindle version. Bitterly dissapointed with the download version though as it misses out huge swathes of the plotline and the spelling mistakes are terrible. If the Kindle books are abridged or altered in plot line then they should...
Published on 14 Jan 2011 by cardifflandlord


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Different plotline to the original book, 14 Jan 2011
I love Tom Clancy's work. I've read The Hunt For Red October countless times in it's paperback form and was so looking forward to reading the kindle version. Bitterly dissapointed with the download version though as it misses out huge swathes of the plotline and the spelling mistakes are terrible. If the Kindle books are abridged or altered in plot line then they should IMHO advise you before buying.

If you have not read the book in it's previous forms then it is still a good yarn but this has put me off buying the other Kindle versions of Clancy's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Please Proof Read, 5 Aug 2011
I purchased this book in paperback years ago and enjoyed it very much. It is now falling apart due to old age and being read lots of times. I waited until the Kindle version was cheaper than the paperback as I feel that it is a rip off to charge more for a book delivered electronically than physically.

Once again I enjoyed the story however there was no way that this book could have been proof read before it was sold as there are lots of typographical errors. This would not be acceptable in a printed book so why should we have to accept it in an electronic version. I would like to see Amazon apologise, proof read it properly and once corrected notify everyone who has purchased a Kindle version that a "proper" copy is now available.

For me the story rates five stars but the "translation" one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much more than the film, 30 Nov 2010
Like a lot of people I came to this after seeing the film Hunt For Red October Special Edition [DVD] [1990] (a classic in its own right). The film was based on this book, however it has missed certain key portions that the book has. If you are wanting a typical Tom Clancy thriller this is among the best - don't expect groundbreaking symbolism in this book! The book actually explains technical terms and the background in far more detail than the film, and the book stands on its own in terms of a thriller in the background of a NATO-Soviet conflict in the Atlantic. Whilst the main portion of the book is concerning Jack Ryan (the hero) and the Soviet submarine captain, there are interesting portions of the book which try and look into the actions of various ships and planes which are making up this conflict. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far Tom Clancy's best book, 6 Jan 2001
By A Customer
The first book Tom Clancy ever wrote and it took off like a rocket becoming a best seller. This book was also the first Jack Ryan book completed although not the first in the series (The first is Without Remorse writtin a few years later). The book focuses on a submarine comanded by Marco Ramius who's plan is to defect but he tells the crew that they are going to cuba like in the film, by using a new silent underwater propulsion system nicknamed 'Caterpiller drive'. This brings the whole Russian Navy out into the atlantic to try to sink the Red October. The American president and other members of inteligance services decide that Ramius wants to to park neuclear warheads off the United States. Jack Ryan however belives he may be trying to defect and is given three days to prove his theory and if he can't the Red October will be sunk.
A book packed with drama and suspence its worth the money anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, lots of flaws., 25 Feb 2005
Tom Clancy's first book already shows his skill at blending realism with suspense and bringing lots of authenticity to what could have been a mediocre Bondish thriller. Contrary to what some critics thought, I think characterisation is pretty good. The book would not be anywhere near as interesting if Marko Ramius and Jack Ryan were a little bland. However, the book has some flaws. As realistic as much of it is, there are a few technical errors which you would not normally see in his later books (F-14s dropping balloons?!!) Being a Brit, I found the portrayal of British characters and comments made about Britain patronising. We don't all eat cucumber sandwiches and say things like "Jolly good old boy." There are a few bits which seemed a bit unnecessary. Surely we could have just been told that the Soviets had found the missile the Red October ejected aswell as the depth gauge, rather than give us a whole section detailing the event. The CARDINAL subplot doesn't really fit in that well with the story. The pace slips a bit because of this. Also, if you think about it, the plot is pretty much a variation on Firefox, which was published in 1975, 9 years before Clancy's debut novel. There are also a number of amazing coincidences and contrivances which also hurt the book's realism. However, the book's good points more than make up for the flaws, and the climax will definitely reward patient reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not brilliant, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's ok, but not the thriller I was hoping for and expecting really.

There's an enormous cast of characters that I had to keep going back to clarify in my mind.

Also, as mentioned, the e-book version contains a lot of spelling mistakes and grammar errors.

It's just not as good as I had expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant debut novel, 23 Nov 2010
One of those action books that (if you are the type who prefers such to romance, comedy, celeb bull, pompous self-important blowhard autobiographies, or other nonsense) keeps you on the edge of your seat in constant page turning mode.
Clancy has earned a penny or three from his novels, and I strongly believe rightly so. I feel The Hunt for Red October is one of his three best, the others being Red Storm Rising and Without Remorse. Interestingly I believe Without Remorse (his 6th book?) brought in a $17 million advance before pen was put to paper in what was then the greatest literary advance in history - so clearly the publishers thought the guy could write as well.
Most likely to read the book will have seen the film - probably the best way around as the film falls badly in comparison, as is the norm - and will have many of the gaps filled in that the film left wanting. Sean Connery is an excellent actor, but as a Russia sea captain????????
The pace is good, most of the (American) characters solid and the plot is plausible - who cares about a few technical inaccuracies. I thought it was a grand read. However, after recomending it to a Russian girl, who then read it and reported back, there may be more than a little trouble with the Russian characterisation and, as for us Brits - well we all say absolutely spiffing old chap to one another all the time - don't we?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now this one is difficult..., 5 April 2000
By A Customer
I really liked the movie, and now that I have completed the book, I must say that they are rather different. I gave the book 4 stars, but it was difficult to decide, because I think that the first 150 pages deserve 4 stars, the last 100 pages deserve 5 stars (actually some of the most exciting pages I've ever read!), but the part in between, some 200 pages, are really bad. You could as well read a technical manual about sonar and radar technology, US and Sovjet submarines or a list of 150 names of imagined fleet and airforce commanders. Without any difficulty a 5 star author could have shortened this part into 50 pages, and the whole book would have profited from this. Another point is the political background - the Soviets are not really BAD guys, they are actually really DUMB guys. The US army consists only of hardened veterans who know everything from the start, find out everything within 5 minutes, or are always in advantage because of their supertechnology, compared to which ALL soviet technology is "kludge" (garbage). The Soviets are slow, inexperienced, never know what to do, and are displayed as robots under the control of the state. After all, characterisation is not available in this book. With around 100 characters it would have been a rather difficult task, so this may be forgiven, especially since a lot of characters appear only for 1 or 2 pages. Interesting to compare the movie to the book - in the movie Jack Ryan and Marko Ramius are the people who have all the genius ideas and carry the plot. In the book, Jack Ryan is a bit more in the background, as is Ramius. And - the whole movie is made out of the first 150 pages... so it doesn't matter if you've seen it. Well, as a conclusion - if all the technical stuff would have been STRONGLY reduced, and the Russians were a bit more like the Americans (like Comrade Tupolev in the end of the book...), it would have been a smashing 5 star read. Still, it's rather captivating, and if you've liked the movie, you will like the book as well (or the other way round).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Tom Clancy, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
I have read and enjoyed all of Tom Clancys novels but none more than this one. The plot is excellent and the tension thats builds up towards the end means that you will not put it down untill you have read it twice. To make it even better there is the thought that some of this might actually have happened as the film suggests. If you have seen the film, then read the book as it contails vital details that the film was lacking. This is Tom Clancys finest novel, with the possible exception of Red Storm Rising, and gives a brilliant insight into the secret world of nuclear submarines. BUY NOW! You will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Hunt For The Red October' - Tom Clancy, 26 May 2005
This book was fantastic. I decided to read it after seeing the film (which I loved)and it up'ed my love of the story miles. This was the first Clancy novel that Ive read and I've just started on the third, the second being equally as good.
The story is of a defecting russian submarine captain who is being chased by three sets of hunters; the russians who want to get him before he defects, the americans who want him before he begins a war and Jack Ryan whose beliefs of his defection sets the tension for this novel.
There is quite a lot of technical terms used, which if heard may push away some readers, but Clancy has done well to keep the less knowledgable naval reader (like myself) informed.
This is a great read which has excitment and tension and the use of technical terms that Clancy teaches you helps to make you feel more involved and knowledgable within the stories origins.
If you enjoy this I strongly recommend the second book 'Red Storm Rising'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunt for Red October
The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy (MP3 CD - 5 Nov 2013)
Used & New from: £20.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews