Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Swords
WHOA!! This does what it says on the tin. Pulp Fiction/Scarface/The Godfather/death/revenge/drugs - brilliant.
It is fast paced and pulls no punches. I have just read 'Night of the Assassins' which is the PREQUEL to this series and was written to flesh out the main character 'EL REY' and that was brilliant too. Infact, that is why I bought this book and I will be...
Published on 20 Jun 2012 by Maz

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars King of swords
Good fast moving thriller with good independent plots revolving around the main plot
Will read the rest of the series
Published 5 months ago by glen macbryde


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of Swords, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WHOA!! This does what it says on the tin. Pulp Fiction/Scarface/The Godfather/death/revenge/drugs - brilliant.
It is fast paced and pulls no punches. I have just read 'Night of the Assassins' which is the PREQUEL to this series and was written to flesh out the main character 'EL REY' and that was brilliant too. Infact, that is why I bought this book and I will be buying the rest in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air., 12 May 2012
To furnish my new Kindle, last month i downloaded the top 40 'Action-adventure' free on Kindle and the author's "Night of the Assassin" was included. I found it to be cleverly written, pacy and it pulled me along - unlike the other downloads (less said the better, but many Indie authors need to learn English).

So, though i have been put off Indie novels in the main, i thought i'd give the follow on novel (this one) a go. We learn more about El Rey in this one, he's a bold character with little to endear him to the reader other than his almost alien attributes and his sheer determination and ingenuity - set that against his tamed-by-society lessers, the powers who seek to tame him, and you have a latent tension bubbling beneath the narrative.

As thrillers go, this was one i'll not forget - i like my thrillers to thrill - not deliver the same old endings.

You may not like it - i see some other reviewers wanted the usual ending - but, for what it's worth, i'll be following the series, intrigued to learn more about this villain (who is certainly not 'Raffles').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars slick, 5 April 2012
By 
M. L. Ollosson (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very impressive read, what I'd call a page turner!
Very well written and you could immerse yourself in the story quite easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncompromising portrayal of a sociopath and those who pursue him, 20 April 2012
As reader for the last 48 years (fairly new to Kindle) I do find it hard to get into novels nowadays because of their often predictable content. It's great that we can sample previews of books on Amazon - because what attracts me starts at the opening sentence (I don't read the synopsis past the opening line) and if I'm still reading by the second or third chapter (rare) I trust the author and buy and read the story to the end.

This is the second novel I have read from R. Blake and the second time I have enjoyed the style, flow of narrative and nicely meshed plot. And it is rare to find an author who is not going to unfailingly deliver 'the man to the Mountie' because 'that's how it always happens in novels/movies' - regardless that the Mountie doesn't always get his man in real life. From the two I have read, I'd say that, with R. Blake, you can never second-guess where the twists are going - and no character in the book is 'safe'. If you're the kind of reader that can handle uncharted territory, you'll probably like this fast yet deep series of portrayals.

4+ stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Day of the coyote, 1 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a fast paced thriller. It is well written and has an interesting premise and setting.
It is surprisingly realistic and plausible. Though admittedly like around ninety percent of readers I haven't tried to assassinate any heads of state at a G20 summit meeting.

This has been well edited and could easily have been put out by one of the big publishing houses.
I thought that it was better than the majority of thrillers written by the big names. It certainly made more sense and was a lot more original.

Action scenes and dialogue have all been well handled. It was pretty atmospheric and authentic in its portrayal of Mexico and its current drug wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the first in the series but the second I have read, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another fantastic book and again I couldn't put it down. I had a weeks holiday and couldn't wait to get back and read it again. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Need more, a great read and a duel story line from a cop and a killer, both with their reasons to pursue their chosen fields of expertise. I read the prequal first but I don't think it spoiled it at all it just opened up more questions of why and what. Can't wait to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller - pulls no punches, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
King of Swords is a novel about a ruthless assassin operating in Mexico - not tied to the cartels, but freelancing to the (very) highest bidder.

We get a decent bit of backstory to the antagonist, giving some decent depth too him (although by no means enough). The main protagonist was an interesting character, and the story surrounding his drive for work was of more interest to the reader.

As the blurb states, this novel doesn't pull any punches - there is a lot of very graphic violence, and scenes of rape and torture, including of children, so do be prepared if you are going to have a go.

However as we follow the attempts of the local police to piece the puzzle together and catch El Rey before he assassinates the presidents of Mexico and USA, the tension builds to the end and the exciting denouement.

Good solid novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth a read. Good characters and believable plots and story lines....excellent read. Couldn't put it down. . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars assassin series, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good read looking forward to more from this author keeps you on tenterhooks right till the very end ,wife away to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King of Swords: Assassin Series #1
King of Swords: Assassin Series #1 by Russell Blake (Paperback - 11 Dec 2012)
£6.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews