Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2013
I bought this book for my Ma-in-Law, who is a Leyther born and bred, and has been around long enough to witness the homogenisation of towns like Leigh and Atherton, where the local Greengrocer has sadly been replaced by yet another characterless pound shop. She was utterly thrilled to open Lancashire Laughter and Tears, and be waltzed back into days gone by. Dave Dutton has done a wonderful job of capturing special memories, local events and colourful characters, all penned in proper Lanky dialect. Everyone from our green and pleasant should buy buy buy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
The book has poems and Anecdotes of local charachters and of family life how it used to be. Very funny read with the odd story that does make one shed a tear as you drift back to the 60s as a child growing up. Reccomended for anyone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
brilliant, great fun to read and brought back memories of my grandparents both through the language and the stories, thank you
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
This book is local to my family, however, the situations could be anywhere and give the reader a good laugh.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I loved reading this book, it's a treasure chest of local tales and dialect. Anyone who is interested in the history and people of Northern England would enjoy this book. Or indeed anyone who likes a good laugh!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
THANK YOU DAVE FOR GIVING ME BACK SOME OF MY MEMORY'S.WITH MEMORYS OF PEOPLE I KNEW.GREAT BOOK GOOD READ. KEEP IT DAVE.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
A Taste Of Home..
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
excellent!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Had 'kindle edition' in the front inside page. The quality of the book in terms of front page design and other formatting is pretty awful. One page was empty apart from a clip art image. It's difficult to tell the introductions apart from the poems and the poet's dedication to writing out his particular Lancastrian dialect phonetically makes it difficult to read the poems without having to voice them aloud (even for me, a Lancashire native). When I showed my Birmingham-born girlfriend it was like a whole different language to her, which is fair enough as I assume this is aimed for Lancastrian use. Needless to say, it is a challenge to read.

If you're after a professional work of Lancashire poetry, this isn't it. The poetry has some charms but this book is really a self-published booklet.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.