Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best modern Chronometer horology book Available., 30 Jan 2013
By 
Douglas E. Denny "Douglas E. Denny" (Bosham. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
Bill Morris steps into the shoes of Rupert Gould and does a very good job for a modern treatise on the marine chronometer. Without the historical fine detail of Gould's book, it has plenty of good close-up pictures, and his usual excellent descriptions.
For anyone wanting to feel confident about taking a chronometer apart, or just curious about these now obsolete but fascinating precision machines - it is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How they did it., 19 Jan 2013
By 
Paul G. Brewer "Ticktock" (Rutland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
An excellent book on the subject with a profusion of good photographs. Removes a lot of the mystery that surrounds the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book of marine chronometes, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
Great book , as in his book the nautical sextant , the author has an unique way of explaining the construction and maintenance and the way to take care of your chronometer
Must have book for collector and not expencive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 May 2014
By 
C. Wardle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
A great book for the enthusiast who needs to dismantle and service marine chronometers. Well worth the relatively high cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-own" for every chronometer owner or enthusiast, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
I have a collection of marine chronometers and wish that I had this book when I started collecting some 10 years ago! I have all the standard works on marine chronometers, but none of them addresses the technical detail for the layman as in the clearly understandable approach of Bill Morris.

In my opinion, this work and Rupert Gould's book are "must-have" items!

I offer one caution, if you intend to do any maintenance and have no prior horology skills, you should develop the "feel" needed through practice on old clocks or pocket watches before you go near a chronometer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chronometer Book, 8 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
Having just bought a s/h marine chronometer and having to learn about it, this book seeed a Godsend. Which it is-brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marine Chronometer, 4 July 2013
By 
John Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history. (Paperback)
I found this book a delight, it is a very practical book and I found that the writer has developed a web page which enables me to keep up with all his innovations.
In fact he has now written a book about the Marine Sextant and again it has its own web-site, it arrives on my birthday. I had no hesitation in adding it to my large book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mariner's Chronometer: Structure, function, maintenance and history.
17.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews