Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and well written. Well worth the wait from this author.
Nobody's Perfect is the fourth book in Kallypso Master's 'Masters At Arms' series, a set of romance novels with a BDSM background. They are designed to be read in order from the opening book which introduces us to the characters, and how they bond together as a group. In that first book, we are introduced to Damian Orlando and Savannah Gentry.

Damian is a...
Published 22 months ago by Joanne K. Pilsworth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very detailed
This a good, well-written story. However I just wasn't into the pain that was inflicted on Savi by all the abusers, it was so detailed, I could feel her pain. One of the most intense books ever read. I could understand the difference between her dad/Lyle and Damian, but still couldn't allow myself to read their scene. Just not me had to skip so much I missed the...
Published 5 months ago by Jeannie Carter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and well written. Well worth the wait from this author., 21 Sep 2012
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nobody's Perfect is the fourth book in Kallypso Master's 'Masters At Arms' series, a set of romance novels with a BDSM background. They are designed to be read in order from the opening book which introduces us to the characters, and how they bond together as a group. In that first book, we are introduced to Damian Orlando and Savannah Gentry.

Damian is a third-generation Hispanic, from California, who has been in trouble with the law for attacking his abusive former brother-in-law. He is earning a living as a busboy in a upper-class hotel when he first sees Savannah, sitting with an older man. Damian assumes this is some sort of sugar daddy relationship, and as beautiful as Savannah is, that could have been the end of it. However, when is clearing trays from the top floor of the hotel, he hears a woman screaming 'Fire' and runs to assist. He finds Savannah being tortured by two sadists. Such is his nature, he rescues her and they spend an blissful afternoon on the beach.

Savannah was not in the hotel of her own volition. The hotel is owned by her father, who has been abusing her since the disappearance of her mother when she was eight. Before meeting Damian, she had already decided to kill herself, but Damian gives her something to put value back in her life.

Cut to present, and Damian has fought in Iraq, and lost a foot. He has PTSD, and a whole load of issues that he is trying to work through. Savannah has run away from her father and his associates, but circumstances bring Damian back into her life and she has to run to him for help. After Savannah sees how BDSM techniques are used to help another victim of abuse deal with her issues, she wonders whether this may be how she can regain control over the nightmares that have started to plague her again. Damian is not sure that he can be the man that Savannah needs, as he does not see himself as whole anymore, and certainly not the boy who carried her down the 200+ steps to the beach cave that afternoon.

The author is a survivor of abuse herself. This book was supposed to have been published several months ago, but Ms Masters felt that it was not quite ready. When you read this book, you can understand why she took so much care in writing this particular story. The amount of research, with advice sought from other survivors, both of incest and PTSD, is clear in the way that the the author deals both with Damian's triggers and with Savannah's triggers, uncovering a lot more about her mother's apparent disappearance that she recalled initially. Both Savannah and Damian have a lot to work through, and Savannah's willingness to face those problems and try to find a way away from them ruling her life does hold a lot of emotion. There may be parts of this book which victims of abuse may find difficult to read, as it could link to their own triggers. However, Kallypso Masters has tried to deal with this in a very sensitive manner.

Other characters from the Masters at Arms series also have roles in this book: Adam Montague and his wife, Karla (Nobody's Hero), Marc D'Alessio and Angelina Giardo (Nobody's Angel), as well as characters who will be the subject of subsequent books in this series. This is why it is important to have read the other books, in order to make sense of everything.

I finished this book in a matter of days, my reading delayed only by the fact I was working, rather than because of the quality of the book. Overall, this book was totally worth the wait for publication. Kallypso Masters has written a beautiful story of survivors, who don't 'just survive', but clearly plan to reclaim their lives from their pasts. I commend her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow great story, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series I thought the 1st book was a great idea, Master at Arms was spilt so each chapter gives a short account about each character that has had or will have a book in the series, this was a clever idea, it means as the books come out you can read the chapter for that character and re-fresh your memorey before getting into the book its free to download, so I would recommend getting that then reading the series in order, it is a great series so far any fans of Cherise Sinclairs club books will love these although I think that these are a force on their own, Nobody's Perfect is a great book a hard read in parts as Savannah has been through so much when you read how she was abused and treated for years it is tough to read but this book is a page turner I started it friday afternoon thinking I would read a couple of chapters and continue later,my teenage son ask me two hours later when dinner was! I had just got so hooked I couldnt put it down your emotions really go through it while reading it and its hard to read some parts but this is a bloody good book, can't wait to read the rest of Marc and Angie's book and get Luke and Cassie's after that a great series.

Savannah Gentry changed her name to Savi Baker, she escaped abuse and torture that was forced on her by her evil sick twisted dad for years and has made a safe life for her and her daughter Mari. When her dad and his goon Lyle find her again Savi runs to Damian Orlando for help. Eight years earlier,19 year old Savannah shared a perfect day with Damian at the beach that changed both their lives and resulted in a secret ( their daughter Mari )she can no longer hide.
Damian is a Top at the Masters at Arms Club, Savi realises she could heal both sexualy and mentaly through BDSM with Damian's help topping her.

Damian, has his own dragons to fight, he lost his foot in Iraq and never got over the death of his friend but he has never forgotten Savannah. he thinks she deserves a whole man, Damian turned to the club and became a top to regain control of his life and emotions and helps other women at the club who suffer with emotional problems he helps them and their doms by whipping or other SM practices he is skilled at to deliver the pain they need. He thinks he can help Savi, but worries she needs someone gentle and loving, not the man he has become. But when Savi witnesses him helping another sub and he is whipping her on the first night Savi is at the club, she begins to wonder if Damian is right and he could help her.

The book is so much more than this as you read about both Damains and Savis fears and pasts but its a great book with a brutal sad story, but thankfuly a hea for Damain and Savi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the wait, 22 Sep 2012
didnt think ms masters could top nobody's hero which i loved and have read over and over. But she has produced another heart rending tale of hope, love and survival. Beautifully written. l cant wait for the next one. Never have I read an authors creations and felt so gutted each time I turned the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Difficult subject well written, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved everything about this book!! However this book is not for the faint of heart, as it truly tackles difficult subjects i.e. serious abuse in all of its guises.
If you are just looking for an erotic romance, you have come to the wrong place. Nobody's Perfect does have some sexy scenes, but it's much more about the characters healing, relationship, and love. The story is so beautifully written and the attention to detail is first class.
There are a few typo's but in my opinion does not any way detract from this first class read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuing story of the Master's at Arms, 30 Sep 2012
It seems like ages I've been waiting for this story and it was a huge relief to finally find out what happens with Damien and Savannah.

You have to read these books in order as although all the stories are mainly based on individual characters, the first book explain who they all are and thereon their lives are all entwined so it's imperative you know what's going on - they're all good so start at the beginning.

This story had it all, really bad baddies, really good goodies, really likeable characters that break your heart and make you cheer. Although some of the sex scenes were hot, the basis of this story is triumph over adversity - the adversity being extreme sexual and psychological abuse including incest and child abuse/rape. This was handled very well by the author, such a brave subject to write about as it's so emotive.

The only slight niggle was that I really didn't get the strip/pole dancing thing that Savi went to fitting in with her extreme reaction to anything sexual and for the same reason her becoming a brilliant therapist helping others to get better didn't quite ring true when she was sooooooooooo damaged still herself. However, it's Kallypso's story and I was very glad she told it to me.

Kallypso took the time to reply to this review and to my last paragraph about the pole dancing so please check out her comments as they are most helpful and it was so good of her to help me understand the reasoning behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I waited so long....!, 30 Sep 2012
By 
bigsal21 (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered Kallypso Masters 'Rescue Me' series late last year and literally devoured them whole, I was eagerly awaiting the fourth book in the series, particularly as I felt Damian had some very real and recent demons to fight. I checked the Amazon and other book site listings every few days, it became a bit obsessive! Glad I did as this was worth the wait.
The story line has been well documented by other reviewers, but I will add that I felt the scenes between Savi and Damian in the club; breaking the barriers and revisiting the demons were sensitive and extremely well handled. I am not an abuse survivor but have worked with many who are, and I could hear some of their pain throughout this story.
However, although this book can be difficult to read in parts, the empathy shown to the characters is heartwarming, and although I love all in the Masters at Arms series, I think I love Damo and Savi the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nobody's Perfect: 3 (Rescue Me Saga) (Paperback)
a ok ta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic book. This series just gets better and better. Realistic, romantic character's. Loved reading about all the characters and how they have developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Savannah and Damien's story.
Savannah was being abused by her father and lyle. Lyle had taken Savannah to the hotel to meet the 2 men who were to abuse Savannah. Damien was working as a bus boy when he sees Savannah and thinks she is beautiful and wonders what she's doing with this abusive man.
Damien is clearing food trolleys from outside rooms when he hears screaming. He breaks down a door to find Savannah being tortured.
Fast forward 9 years when they meet again.
A gripping story that will have you crying with what they both go through,
You will go through a range of emotions with this book.
Great writing by Kallypso Masters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Title, 5 Mar 2014
Didn't know if i would like this series but so glad i have read them. So many emotions are voiced don't be put off by the bdsm it's only part of the books can't wait for the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nobody's Perfect: 3 (Rescue Me Saga)
Nobody's Perfect: 3 (Rescue Me Saga) by Kallypso Masters (Paperback - 24 Jan 2013)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews