Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Butterflies
I picked up Black Butterflies not too concerned that it was the second in the series; it did not seem to follow on and could be read separately. However so, after about halfway I was hooked on its beautifully descriptive narrative of the Greek islands and the colourful characters that reside there. So descriptive it was that, (especially during an English spring that...
Published on 27 Mar. 2013 by Cylon Hindenburger II

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The Illegal Gardener was a much more satisfying read. This is a simple minded and formulaic re-use of the setting. The heat and the Greek landscape are well described but this two dimensional heroine's search for the man her daughter must not marry is just a vehicle for us to be introduced to a trail of implausibly heartwarming and picturesque rustics. You guess the...
Published 19 days ago by Aspley


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Butterflies, 27 Mar. 2013
I picked up Black Butterflies not too concerned that it was the second in the series; it did not seem to follow on and could be read separately. However so, after about halfway I was hooked on its beautifully descriptive narrative of the Greek islands and the colourful characters that reside there. So descriptive it was that, (especially during an English spring that refuses to spring into action) you could almost imagine basking in the sunshine and taste the Tzatziki on my tongue!
Although the plot is quite simple, a quest to find her daughters love, it twists and turns in the all the right places and driven by the detailed description of the characters makes it a very interesting and entertaining read, now I have to backtrack and read the first in the series too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greece bought alive, 10 Jan. 2013
By 
P. Wire (Hythe, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the Illegal Gardener so much I quickly ordered the second book in the series - I am so glad I did. I could not put it down, the descriptions of the island, village and characters was brilliant. The twist regarding Eleni's love life was a surprise as it was to her mother Marina, however I felt that the end was a bit rushed and it would have been nice to have learnt how and why Marina's son was taken in by his adopted parents.

A story about Meli would be interesting - what happened to him after his meeting with Marina!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read and enjoyed the first in the Greek Village series I had high hopes for the second book, but I didn't expect to be completely blown away by it.
This is a wonderful and utterly believable story which captures the feel of Greece perfectly. The character development of Marina from a big fat interferring Greek Mama who drives her poor daughters away, into a wonderful lady who you just want to hug is brilliant. I cant wait to read the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentle Delight, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Black Butterflies' is a gentle delight. The novel is infused with the sights, sounds and smells of the Greek islands, and Ms. Alexi transported me to the locations effortlessly. The detail in the writing immerses the reader in the Mediterranean culture: the atmosphere is artfully constructed.

One of the aspects of the book I most liked was that the author took her time with the narrative, mimicking the daily rhythms of Greek island life itself.

The tale is a straightforward one - the widowed Marina sets out to prevent her daughter Eleni from making a bad match - but the book is full of charm, acute observation and genuine emotion.

I already have the next two books in the 'Greek Village' collection on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escapism at its best, 9 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very enjoyable and the brilliant descriptive nature of the scenery and characters involved led me through an enchanting story set in an idyllic Greek village. The main character in this book is Marina who runs the village shop and her journey to resolve the mystery of her daughter's boyfriend whom her daughter refuses to reveal to her. This is a tale of love, joy and friendship and the unravelling of a jigsaw which brings the title 'black butteflies' to a heartrending conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Illegal Gardener was a much more satisfying read. This is a simple minded and formulaic re-use of the setting. The heat and the Greek landscape are well described but this two dimensional heroine's search for the man her daughter must not marry is just a vehicle for us to be introduced to a trail of implausibly heartwarming and picturesque rustics. You guess the "secret" within twenty minutes. Disappointing and irritating. But I imagine it will earn enough for the author to continue living in a Greece she clearly loves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sara's done it again!, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Butterflies: The Greek Village Series: 2 (Paperback)
Well, Sara has done it again. This is a superb little book, and a great easy flowing read. Without giving too much away (I hate reviews to be spoilers) this story has a double twist, the first one jumps out and takes you by surprise, but unless that first twist happened the second and final one couldn't. Make what you will out of that dear reader! The plot is one of elimination, much along similar lines as Julian Fellowes' "Past Imperfect." And as regards Bobby, he reminds me of Smallweed the moneylender from Charles Dickens' Bleak House... "Shake me up Judy!".. Great stuff. Sara creates good characterisation.
I also find it interesting that Sara writes in the present tense, when most novels are in the past tense. With some of the relationships that occur I wonder what the Greek Orthodox Church would make of it all?
As I have said before, this isn't normally my genre, but she has kept me gripped and I'll be reading book three in the series next. What a five star girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars getting to know characters, 8 Sept. 2013
Having read the first in this series I enjoyed this one just as much. Very easy read and took me back to our holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely loved this book. Part of the Greek village series. Read it while on holiday in Crete. Fabulous.Really true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant book by Aara Alexi, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is just as good as The Gypsy's Dream, which I read first. It doesn't really matter that i have read the books out of sequence, as they are all such memorab le stories. I thought the author dealt so well with the anxiety of a mother for her daughter, as she herself had never really dealt with the issue of her firstborn being adopted soon after birth. Many topical issues are addressed in a very sensitive manner in this book The author is, indeed, so very perceptive of human nature.
it is certainly a book I shall re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Butterflies: The Greek Village Series: 2
Black Butterflies: The Greek Village Series: 2 by Sara Alexi (Paperback - 28 Sept. 2012)
£7.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews