Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cold reading system you WILL use!
The twelve lines of the "Classic Reading" are powerful, universal truths that apply to everybody - but having the statements memorised and ready at your fingertips, primed for use in a reading situation is very challenging. Or at least it was until now.

In this excellent book, Julian Moore not only teaches the lines of the "Classic Reading", he provides an...
Published 17 months ago by tOtALcULt

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I get it
This does work surprisingly quickly but sadly you do forget after a few weeks unless you revisit whatever it is you have memorised - this is not a fault with the book; the book is spot on, it's a fault with physical memory. Well it is in my case anyway.
If you want to learn long lists of things quickly and impress your friends (who will probably no longer be friends...
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cold reading system you WILL use!, 12 Mar 2013
The twelve lines of the "Classic Reading" are powerful, universal truths that apply to everybody - but having the statements memorised and ready at your fingertips, primed for use in a reading situation is very challenging. Or at least it was until now.

In this excellent book, Julian Moore not only teaches the lines of the "Classic Reading", he provides an incredibly accessible mnemonic framework that enables readers to commit the lines to memory. The book also includes flash cards that aid in learning the lines.

But the book goes beyond simply teaching the words in a parrot fashion. The author goes on to teach the reader how to adapt the stock lines to make them sound fresh and new for each sitter. He also devotes a large number of pages to teaching the reader how to apply this knowledge in the real world, in both a psychic reading situation and a lighter, magic effect scenario.

Based on solid psychological and mnemonic techniques, yet taught in an easily accessible manner, this book is worth way more than the author is charging and will give anyone interested in this field a solid foundation in the art of cold reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Reading Made Easy, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a passing interest in cold reading and have read several books on the subject. This rates as one of the best but with a couple of caveats. This book gives you a way of quickly organising and memorising a framework for readings using a characterisation, the author's example is James Bond. This is a genius way of thinking about cold readings because it is really quick to learn. I had half of it down just reading through the book and the rest came with less than an hour of working with the material.

What makes this even better is that you can and the author suggests this, replace the character with ones that have more meaning to you. I've played a little with the idea and using different characters changes the quality of the readings that you are doing.

This is a brilliant system because it is quick and easy to learn. It is easily adaptable to use the way that you want and it creates a great framework to hang your reading on.

Now the caveat. You really need to know some basics about cold reading to get the most from this book. Take this the right way I am a novice and have only dipped my toe in to doing readings before reading this book. I think this book is a little beyond a complete beginner. But if you know the basic ideas around of cold reading this will give you a great framework to start and will get you doing readings in no time at all... hence the book still deserving a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have finally cracked cold reading, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Lewis (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. It teaches you Cold Reading using a very similar method to the memory technique in my book The Memory Palace - Learn Anything and Everything, and I am now a BIG FAN of Julian Moore.

Cold Reading came alive!

Instead of teaching you what to say and when to say it, it instead teaches you how each Cold Reading step relates to James Bond and his character. You can run through a little scene in your head, of Bond planning a mission and walking round a bar with Bond Girls, and simply describe the personality and decision-making you see. Reading the "example reading" had me identifying the fundamentals which I had just learned. It turns out, you don't have to read a 400-page dusty tome to learn how to cold read convincingly. I already knew how to do it; I just didn't understand the fundamentals!

This is a great foundation in cold reading. I've read bits of many other books on cold reading but found them quite dry and dull and I just couldn't get into them, but this was a fun read and a great concept.

Bond is the example, but almost any tv or movie characters will work just fine.

Buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I get it, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This does work surprisingly quickly but sadly you do forget after a few weeks unless you revisit whatever it is you have memorised - this is not a fault with the book; the book is spot on, it's a fault with physical memory. Well it is in my case anyway.
If you want to learn long lists of things quickly and impress your friends (who will probably no longer be friends if you keep insisting on reciting long lists of kings and queens or US presidents) then buy this book.
If you want to impress the ladies, have a shave, get dressed and go out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Thorough, 4 Dec 2013
Cold reading is not an easy thing to do. Trying to remember the stock lines can be quite a challenge. Julian has come up with a great way to remember the stock lines. While you will not learn word for word the original stock lines you will understand the concepts of them by utilizing his method.

But that is the whole idea. You don't want to quote them exactly as memorized. You want to have your own touch and description. It makes what you are doing so much more believable than just spewing out what you memorized. If you are into mentalism, palmistry or anything similar this book will be a great aid and will take your readings to the next level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 Oct 2013
Julian has put together a power play of entertainment value. This book is fun to read and it works wonders on people. Highly recommended. This is the exact type of entertainment people enjoy. Do us all a favor buy this book and learn it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 Jan 2013
By 
D. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pacy, interesting and clear; I'll be trying another of his ebooks after this. Give it a go, it's only pennies...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip off, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The James Bond Cold Reading: A Re-Imagining of the 'Classic' Reading: 2 (Speed Learning) (Paperback)
It's hard to imagine why there are good reviews for this book. It contains a grand total of 46 pages (23 sheets) from cover to cover including a title page, contents page, a page each for "Section 1" "Section 2" and "Section 3", 13 pages that are half or less full of type, 3 pages that are full-page pictures of the front covers of the author's other books and a blank page. So by my reckoning that's nearly 8 for less than 31 pages of actual author-written print. The author and publishers are having a laugh! On top of that the book is only a method of learning 12 points that are freely available online. So if you can remember those lines you don't need this book. Do yourself a favour and type "cold reading" into a search engine: you'll quickly and easily find far more information than is contained in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brighten up any readings, 30 April 2014
If you do any magic or readings including psychological readings, then a little Cold Reading can spice things up. Tell someone about themselves and they'll be intrigued and you'll be remembered. The classic cold reading lines are often difficult to recall and Julian Moore provides an excellent and coherent mnemonic structure. If you can remember a story, whether you are visual, auditory or Kinaesthetic in learning style, then you can remember all of these points with ease. His engaging style makes for easy reading and hits the goal he sets out with very little work.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun way to begin, 29 April 2014
This review is from: The James Bond Cold Reading: A Re-Imagining of the 'Classic' Reading: 2 (Speed Learning) (Paperback)
This is a great and very cost effective way to learn cold reading. Sometimes i am put off by low prices (it mustn't be a good deal if it seems like a good deal), but this is different.

The kindle price is very good for what you get, and that is an effective way to learn cold reading.

It doesn't contain everything you need for the rest of your life... but it is a good place to start, or pick up your skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews