Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining.
I enjoyed this walk down memory lane. The format is simple, and works well. Each game is represented by a short essay. These are collected as chapters with different themes:

- The Classics (Manic Miner, Jet Set Willy, Jetpac, Atic Atac, Ant Attack, Horace Goes Skiing, Wheelie, Alchemist, Chaos, Everyone's a Wally, Deathchase, Head Over Heels. You'll have played...
Published 19 days ago by JackJack

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well...
covers a bunch of games, some not so famous ones. doesn't give a lot of details more like an overview of each
Published 8 months ago by ManicMyna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A childhood remembered, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A collection of games from any child of the 80's past, lovingly recounted in review format. The author obviously has put a lot of time and thought into what went in and what stayed out of his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Nostalgia Trip, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Andrew Murphy "APM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A nice little book which is a great read for anyone who owned a Spectrum back in the 80s. It brought back many fond memories and made me seek out an emulator to replay some of the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 10 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
It was a trip down memory lane and I enjoyed the humorous write ups of the games. The problem for me was that I'd never heard of most of the games! Still really enjoyed it though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
Very interesting book about a very very special gaming age - my first gaming age! Some important games are missing, but it's a nice book to remember this golden era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ZX Spectrum book - buy it!, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
A very well written history of the best games the rubber keyed Spectrum has to offer. The book takes you back to a time of innocence when individuals could write a commercial game in the confines of their own bedroom. The games are classics - those who wrote them are heroes. Dan Whitehead is a hero for putting this book together to ensure we never forget 'that' time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. I thought it was perceptive and funny and it gave a real sense of how much less corporate game production was in the UK in the 80s. What a set of games Dan Whitehead covers and he writes beautifully. I'd never even heard of Mad Nurse but it is unthinkable that such a game would be made today. I didn't even own a Spectrum - my pal Bruno did. But it an inextricable part of why I love computer games. If push comes to shove, Manic Miner is still my favourite ever video game, and not just for the nostalgia. It's a beautifully constructed piece of interactive art (and I don't generally subscribe to the 'let's try and prove that games are art' school of thought). 20 unique and gorgeous screens that act as puzzles, adventures, journeys and revelations. And all coded and designed by one person. Now that's indie gaming. If you have any interest at all in UK video games, this is an essential read. Please do write more Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good lightweight read - *if* you had a Spectrum, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
Right now I'm back in 1983, reliving the days of Manic Miner, Jet Set Willy, Jetpac, Atic Atac and the others thanks to this book.

It's basically a review of the format & novel elements of a load of Spectrum games. Some of them I remember as if it were yesterday, some of them I had never heard of.

I bought it with a view to reminding me of the glory days of early games development and it worked. Don't expect discussion of technical details of the games, how things were achieved, etc . . . most games are covered in 1 or 2 pages, including screen grab so that gives you an idea of the level of detail.

I would definitely recommend it if (like me) you are a bloke of a certain age who spent a lot of time on the Spectrum in the early '80s and want to relive a small part of your youth. If you never had a Spectrum then there's not a lot in this book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few innacuracies, but a great read., 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read, You can tell that this book was written from the heart than as analytical retrospective, which made it all the more enjoyable.

There's a couple of mistakes when he talks about the history of some games (most notably the Jack the Nipper segment) and has some of the lineages muddled, but furthermost the book was entertaining, and I'd rather enjoy a book with a few mistakes than a 100% perfect one that's boring.

I actually ended up buying both the paperback and the Kindle edition in the end I enjoyed it so much. It was disappointing to have the screenshots removed from the kindle edition (100% text)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where are the pictures?, 18 Nov. 2012
By 
Jason Hanrahan (Mirfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
Great nostalgia book taking me back to my teen years and ownership of this classic British computer BUT in the Kindle edition why are the images missing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potted history of Speccy games - some I never heard of, 27 Mar. 2014
By 
Steve Allison (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
Not bad - a harmless little read. After the first few games described (the obvious blockbusters like Manic Miner) it quickly drifted off into games I'd never heard of (and I didn't think there were any). As the main point of this book is nostalgia, well, it faded. There's no nostalgia if you don't remember it in the first place. But as a quick primer in what made games good, back in the day when games WERE good, it's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming
Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming by Dan Whitehead (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews