Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Spec Chums everywhere!
30 years. 30! Good grief. The time is certainly ripe for people to start writing about the history of the little black box with the silly rubber keys. The humble ZX Spectrum has a lot to answer for in my life. It is directly responsible for the fact that I now work in IT. Responsible for my life long love of computer games. And through the existence of the wonderful...
Published 23 months ago by A.D.M.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potted history of Speccy games - some I never heard of
Not bad - a harmless little read. After the first few games described (the obvious blockbusters like Manic Miner) it quickly drifted off into games I'd never heard of (and I didn't think there were any). As the main point of this book is nostalgia, well, it faded. There's no nostalgia if you don't remember it in the first place. But as a quick primer in what made...
Published 4 months ago by Steve Allison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and clever, 10 May 2013
By 
Michael Eisemuth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic book about an era that hooked hundreds of kids to computers forever

The writing is full of brilliant insights about the games and why their utterly bizarre concepts or graphics were so good, or bad in some cases

It's also incredibly witty. You can't help but like a book describing a mournful disembodied testicle (Horace)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exellent and cool!, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
This has to be the most funny and cool book i've read about retro computer games. You dont have to be a complete geek/nerd to read this, the world of speccy nation is as weird and almost exotic in it's strange aethetics! Forget about realistic looking games, and focus on the few and simple acid-colured pixels on a black screen combined with the strange ticking sounds that the ZX could provide. All the weird and great games are reviewed here, thee good the bad and the ugly ones! .. The only bad thing about this book, is that it could have been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ZX Spectrum book - buy it!, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
A very well written history of the best games the rubber keyed Spectrum has to offer. The book takes you back to a time of innocence when individuals could write a commercial game in the confines of their own bedroom. The games are classics - those who wrote them are heroes. Dan Whitehead is a hero for putting this book together to ensure we never forget 'that' time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, and well written. Only short - but brought back some great gaming memories. Had lots of smiles on my face as I turned the page to remember the game and the hours spent playing it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Where are the pictures?, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Mirfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
Great nostalgia book taking me back to my teen years and ownership of this classic British computer BUT in the Kindle edition why are the images missing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good lightweight read - *if* you had a Spectrum, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
Right now I'm back in 1983, reliving the days of Manic Miner, Jet Set Willy, Jetpac, Atic Atac and the others thanks to this book.

It's basically a review of the format & novel elements of a load of Spectrum games. Some of them I remember as if it were yesterday, some of them I had never heard of.

I bought it with a view to reminding me of the glory days of early games development and it worked. Don't expect discussion of technical details of the games, how things were achieved, etc . . . most games are covered in 1 or 2 pages, including screen grab so that gives you an idea of the level of detail.

I would definitely recommend it if (like me) you are a bloke of a certain age who spent a lot of time on the Spectrum in the early '80s and want to relive a small part of your youth. If you never had a Spectrum then there's not a lot in this book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funky skillo, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
Not generally a book reader but had to grab this as I was a massive zx spectrum gamer in my yoof. Entertainingly written by someone who obviously has a strong nostalgia for the speccy and its loveable faults. The forward (which bluntly details some of the stone-age like limitations of the machine) made me laugh. Only minor gripe is the slightly odd selection of games reviewed - not a sport sim amongst them except for Daley Thompson's Decathalon, and not a single release from the mighty Codemasters? Still a good read, and recommended for any erstwhile rubber-keyed fanatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Adam Dawes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming (Paperback)
A really fun little book at a bargain price. Lots of great summaries of some of the great (and not-so-great) games from the Speccy days, with a definite focus on the British software development industry. If you lived through the Spectrum era, this will bring back some great memories -- highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. I thought it was perceptive and funny and it gave a real sense of how much less corporate game production was in the UK in the 80s. What a set of games Dan Whitehead covers and he writes beautifully. I'd never even heard of Mad Nurse but it is unthinkable that such a game would be made today. I didn't even own a Spectrum - my pal Bruno did. But it an inextricable part of why I love computer games. If push comes to shove, Manic Miner is still my favourite ever video game, and not just for the nostalgia. It's a beautifully constructed piece of interactive art (and I don't generally subscribe to the 'let's try and prove that games are art' school of thought). 20 unique and gorgeous screens that act as puzzles, adventures, journeys and revelations. And all coded and designed by one person. Now that's indie gaming. If you have any interest at all in UK video games, this is an essential read. Please do write more Dan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few innacuracies, but a great read., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read, You can tell that this book was written from the heart than as analytical retrospective, which made it all the more enjoyable.

There's a couple of mistakes when he talks about the history of some games (most notably the Jack the Nipper segment) and has some of the lineages muddled, but furthermost the book was entertaining, and I'd rather enjoy a book with a few mistakes than a 100% perfect one that's boring.

I actually ended up buying both the paperback and the Kindle edition in the end I enjoyed it so much. It was disappointing to have the screenshots removed from the kindle edition (100% text)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming
Speccy Nation: A tribute to the golden age of British gaming by Dan Whitehead (Paperback - 6 Sep 2012)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews