Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Read, 22 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. Leanne A. Lingwood (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My summary of the book - Viscount Sedgewick is found dying on the road when Meg and her brother comes across him. They manage to bring him back and care for him at their home. As he recovers Meg spends a lot of time with Sedge and begins to fall in love. Soon a misunderstanding ruins everything and they go their separate ways. Can they make it back together.

Thoughts on the characters - Meg can't believe who she finds out on the road as she remembers Sedge from her ill-fated season years before and it brings up all the feelings she buried all those years ago. She knows she isn't the beautiful woman he is used to seeing in town as she very tall and got fiery red hair which isn't the "norm". But after years of being in the country she has become a woman of her own right but still questions herself when Sedge starts paying her more attention and they get closer.
Sedge can't believe the angel that rescues him and soon realises there is more to Meg and sees her for the beautiful woman she is. When he makes an offer he can't understand when she refuses which leads him to being a typical stupid man and drink to excess to block everything out. He struggles with everything after years of living life to the fullness and not worry about marriage and children.

Thoughts on the writing style - Easy to follow and engaging.

Overall thoughts - Lovely read and I love the bit of intrigue that keeps the characters guessing about all the "accidents" that happen throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always liked regency stories, especially G.H., Candice Hern romances are on the same line, maybe with a bit more reality thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would actually give this 3.5 stars but there are no halves so I gave it a four. The book starts off really nice and intriguing and the story grabs and keeps your attention from the beginning. The author's writing style and and thorough understanding of the era is obvious and adds to the quality of the book. However, I found the second half of the book a bit rushed and before I knew it, the hero and heroine had confessed they loved each other and the book just ended. I found that quite an annoying ending to such a beautiful love story!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Books, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A historical romance and a very easy read. Best way to pass a dreary wi ter. Thanks to the seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most of Candice Hern's Books this one was enjoyable and good for holidaying - a light read. A few "americanisms" crept in, but still very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars affair of honour, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ive read this book and could not put it down till i had read it to the finish the twist and turns the author put the book through was very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read., 4 Sep 2011
I bought this originally because it wasn't too expensive and was pleasantly surprised. This is a really fun read. Kept my interest and had some adventure in it too. Ok the plot in many ways was quite easy to predict, but that's not the point here. Many romances are like that. If you want to while away a few hours on an enjoyable read then give this a try.

The characters are very likeable, especially the heroine, who is quite spirited and gutsy. The hero is charming of course and handsome. And there are a couple of other more minor characters that light up this book, such as Gram. I think this book could have been developed further and look forward to reading more of Ms Herns writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

An Affair of Honor
An Affair of Honor by Candice Hern (Paperback - 16 Sep 2012)
4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews