Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent choice for my niece!
I ordered Clever Comprehension for my niece who has been struggling with understanding comprehension texts. What I liked most about this book was that because it features classic stories like Rumplestiltskin, she immediately feel in love with it! In fact, she's asked me to buy her the full versions of many of the texts that are in this story. She loved the story extracts...
Published on 27 Nov 2012 by Skyfox

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever Author
The author is a private tutor and has cleverly put together some of her tutor-made comprehension questions and answers that go with diverse genres of texts that are out of copyright so she can use them legally. She has chosen texts of interest to Key Stage 2 students and has written questions about fact finding, meanings of words, use of simile, moral of the story, using...
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. Connie L. Hurd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent choice for my niece!, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
I ordered Clever Comprehension for my niece who has been struggling with understanding comprehension texts. What I liked most about this book was that because it features classic stories like Rumplestiltskin, she immediately feel in love with it! In fact, she's asked me to buy her the full versions of many of the texts that are in this story. She loved the story extracts and felt confident when answering the questions. I'd definitely recommend Clever Comprehension for children of her age group (8-10) who are preparing for SATS KS2 exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!, 18 Sep 2014
By 
hillarymiller (Boca Raton, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
My son is above target for literacy and I've been looking for books that challenge him. There a lot of books on the market but very few are designed for children who are able readers and need that extra push. My son spent a few days during the summer holidays going through Clever Comprehension. With most books, he'd make a half-hearted attempt at completing the papers but with this one, he seemed to fly through it and made no complaints. It was a very pleasant surprise! I definitely hope that the author creates some more books for children who need something more challenging. If your child is of lower ability then this would probably be too difficult but if they're hovering around a level 5/6 definitely get this as it will hep them to improve their comprehension skills and learn new vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great tool to get my daughter thinking!, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
I bought Clever Comprehension because of a friend's recommendation and found it to be an excellent book for practicing comprehension and reading skills. The questions vary from being quite straight forward to being more complex but I like that because it made my daughter think more. The questions are also quite varied so she didn't get bored answering them. I found doing the first two with her and then leaving her to do the rest (in timed conditions) really helped her to practice on her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Comprehension Review, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
I bought this book for my son who hates reading! He literally won't read and refuses to do the normal comprehensions that he's given at school. To my surprise, he loved this book! He really enjoyed reading the stories and now wants me to buy more books for him. It's been a complete turn around. I feel more confident that he'll pass his SATs exams which are just around the corner. I definitely recommend Clever Comprehension for children in key stages 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for children!, 18 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
My son found the texts to be really challenging and a level up from the Schofield and Sims and Bond books (which we use religiously). He definitely needed something like this because the questions in the other books were a bit too simplistic especially as we're aiming for a Level 6 or 5a for the SATs. Great book for children who are aiming to do well at KS2 level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful Book, 20 Oct 2014
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
Great book for children in years 5-6. Loved that it used classic texts as this made me realise that we need to get the kids reading them more often and it also encouraged the kids to look up new words in the dictionary and build their vocab. Only downside is that there weren't enough questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 4 Nov 2014
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
Wasn’t sure whether this book would help us with comprehension practice for Year 6 SATs but it does! If your child wants to do well and be able to handle any question that’s given to them then this is a great book to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 27 Nov 2014
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
Used Clever Comprehension for my daughter and we did the practice once every 2-3 days. She got a Level 6 in her SATs English so I'm using the book for my son too. Would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
Wish text was in an A4 format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever Author, 28 April 2013
By 
Mrs. Connie L. Hurd "Sheherazade" (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1 (Paperback)
The author is a private tutor and has cleverly put together some of her tutor-made comprehension questions and answers that go with diverse genres of texts that are out of copyright so she can use them legally. She has chosen texts of interest to Key Stage 2 students and has written questions about fact finding, meanings of words, use of simile, moral of the story, using quotations and impressions authors mean to give. The only drawback I find in the format of the book is that inside the A-4 cover, all printing is to an A-5 size which seems to spread the content out over more pages and makes the work to be done appear to be more lengthy than it is, in the child's eyes. I also am a one to one tutor and find that children who struggle with reading tend to feel daunted when faced with a number of pages to do. I think the contents would present better to children if in the full A-4 format. Also, the first paper, and extract from Charles Dicken's writing, is fine for a strong reader, but is too long for a child who finds reading difficult. The other passages are pleasingly short in length. This is a resource I have just begun to use with success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clever Comprehension: Key Stage 2 Reading & Comprehension Practice Book 1
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews