Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right back on form!
After flagging a little in the intermediate books, Cressida Cowell's saga has hit its stride with a vengeance in the two latest. Perhaps the film has given her a shot in the arm, even though it was so very loosely based on the books (good, but very little to do with them)? My son is fed up that those who purchase the early books now get character cards thrown in,...
Published 23 months ago by Caroline Galwey

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gift
interesting informative uncomplicated amusing anecdotal practical friendly delicious a must read
Published 1 month ago by Edward


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right back on form!, 8 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After flagging a little in the intermediate books, Cressida Cowell's saga has hit its stride with a vengeance in the two latest. Perhaps the film has given her a shot in the arm, even though it was so very loosely based on the books (good, but very little to do with them)? My son is fed up that those who purchase the early books now get character cards thrown in, whereas those who have been loyal followers of Hiccup from the beginning (and bought them all pre-film) miss out. However, we are both pleased that CC is keeping to her own individual course with these stories, not bending to the film's style.

The story has got much bigger and more cosmic, and some of the efforts to re-incorporate all the plot-points of the earlier books as aspects of the new Titanic Struggle are inevitably a bit forced. And there seem to be even more species of dragons than there are beetles ... some of us are losing track. Still, this is a great page-turner. Hiccup prioritises finding his friend Fishlegs over seeking the Dragon's Jewel, and secretly infiltrates the Slavelands. There he finds his fellow Vikings searching for amber - and something more valuable still - on the endless red sands, where lurks a menace even scarier than the inrushing tide ... How will the story of Fishlegs's past impact on Hiccup's quest? Will the revolting Snotlout finally get his come-uppance? Will Hiccup manage to bring peace before Vikings and dragons wipe each other out, and will Toothless the dragon ever grow any less annoying? Find out some of the answers here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Pm Bishop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My daughter, 10, my son, 7 and I are gripped. We're about 3/4 of the way through. All the pieces of the story so cleverly built up over the other books are coming together in crazy, brilliant excitement. I almost get mobbed when I have to stop reading each night. Please don't let it be the last book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Picks Up the Pace, 23 Nov 2012
By 
Frances Allan (Chalfont, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic children's series. My son - initially a reluctant reader - has loved and devoured them, and will still read them now he has reached his teenager phase.

I think it's been flagging a bit in the last couple of books, but this one - whilst not (in my view) reaching the inspired 5* lunacy of the first four and sixth books - picks up the pace a bit more and sets things up nicely for the next and final volume. Good to see Thuggory the Meathead again - I've always wondered why he didn't appear after book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is not a childrens only book, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again another brill book. Its just so sweet and funny and sad. well done to the writer again again again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cressida cowls how to train your dragon books are amazing I won't tell you any spoilers (he is exiled you read book nine) keep writing these amazing books Cressida cowl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying it, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book, but not the same story as one in the cartoon network channel. my boys like it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars childs books, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to go with the other How to train your Dragon my granddaughter has/ She will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have a mixture of books and audio cds and this series never fails to enthral. Son of 9 loves them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it is in very good quality like i have just bought out of a shop and i found it very interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. C. Ridley "Claudine Ridley" (Worthing, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always a great read for my son, has the whole collection and also loves to listen to them on audio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel (How to Train Your Dragon)
How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel (How to Train Your Dragon) by Cressida Cowell (Audio CD - 27 May 2014)
Used & New from: £11.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews