Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars264
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£15.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 17 August 2013
Lincoln Rhyme continues to fight and progress from his wheelchair bound quadriplegia in the same way he attacks his cases. Aided by his loving Amelia Sachs he is on an investigation into a professional assassination of an outspoken critic of US foreign policy, Robert Moreno, in the Bahamas. Assistant New York District Attorney enlists Lincoln Rhyme's expertise in fact-finding with an agenda to enhance their personal profile and ambitions whilst implicating a higher US government official in the conspiracy to add to the confrontations that follow.

Jeffrey Deaver delivers the narrative that follows in a pacey and twisting style. Rhyme and Amelia Sachs piece together the minutiae of evidence in their characteristic obsessional manner. The assassin is ruthless and a step or two ahead of the pursuers, thinking nothing of torturing and murdering potential witnesses and informants of the crime.

The chase for the perpetrator and the people giving the orders and back-up are intriguing if at times implausible. The plot overall is somewhat familiar but still an enjoyable read if not up to Deaver's very best. Well worth reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 5 August 2013
I usually enjoy all of Jeffrey Deaver's books, but I found this to be soooo disappointing. Remember The bone collector with all twists & turns - well this one was so predictable! Nothing out of the ordinary at alll. It felt forced & heavy. Once again so disappointed
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 1 December 2013
Very much a Lincoln Rhyme fan and have read all previous books.This was a big disappointment the plot was slow to build and characters bland.I will not be looking forward to the next book with so much enthusiasm .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 2 July 2013
Ive read most of mr deavers books and generally enjoy them. This one was standard lincoln rhyme fayre with some twists and lincoln actually leaving his room! BUT i sort of wanted more. some background sections were overly long, the book could have had a little more excitement for my liking. I think deaver fans wont dislike it but i dont think its one of his best
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 27 July 2013
Usually LOVE this series of books but this one disappointed me. Where's the twists and turns and suspense, I want a real baddie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 21 August 2013
I normally love Jeffrey Deavers books!! I think I have them all and have loved every one apart from this one. I almost packed it in half way through as it was so boring but forced myself to finish it in case it got better. It didn't. Very disappointing,frustrating and hard to get into. I LOVE Lincoln Rhyme so I will buy his next one in the hope Jeffrey gets back on top form !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 March 2014
I have read tbe majority of the Lincoln Rhyme books and have enjoyed them despite finding the main characters Lincoln and Amelia quite unlikable. I now give up - Lincoln is a thoroughly nasty piece of work to all except Amelia and I'm sick to death of Amelia's arthritis! To me the oft repeated problems of being a quadriplegic or having arthritis (wish I could run about with my bad knee!) gets in the way of the story! I do get it - they are brilliant criminalists despite awful adversity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you have read this author's Lincoln Rhyme's books before then you know what to expect - twists and turns at all points and a puzzle novel of great complexity. Jeffery Deaver certainly delivers here but the unfortunate result of the fact that I have read most of the previous novels in this series is that I was continually second guessing the author and predicting the next twist. I didn't always get them right but I wasn't very surprised when they happened - usually I was cross with myself that I hadn't seen what the author was going to do. This all meant that I read this book in a very different way from the way in which I would read a thriller from another author and it maybe took the edge off the enjoyment for me.

Lincoln Rhyme is the quadriplegic crime scene analyst of nine previous novels (you don't have to have read them to understand this one). In this book he is asked to investigate a crime in the Bahamas which may have been instigated by the head of one of America's security agencies. He is effectively being asked to investigate whether the American government has killed one of its citizens in a foreign country. The political conundrum at the heart of the book is an intriguing one and various characters hold different views (and, of course, all is not as straightforward as it seems). The main part of the book, however, deals with the investigation and how Lincoln painstakingly follows the few clues he has to work out what the killer is doing and who he is. This unravelling of the plot together with the action scenes as they get closer to the killer is great suspense writing and the complex story and all the clues give you lots to think about - the author is truly adept at this type of writing.

I would have liked a little more uncertainty in this book and a few surprises but it is hardly the author's fault that I have read so many of this type of book that I had a fair idea of what to expect at all times. This is a well written and action filled puzzle of a novel and well worth a read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Kill Room is the tenth full-length novel in the Lincoln Rhyme series by American author, Jeffery Deaver. Lincoln Rhyme, Amelia Sachs and the team are asked to assist in the case of an assassination, but the case has political implications. Assistant DA, Nance Laurel is determined to get a conviction against Shreve Metzger, the head of the Washington-sanctioned National Intelligence and Operations Service, for authorising the shooting of an out-spoken anti-American activist in his hotel room in the Bahamas on insufficient evidence of potential threat.

With no crime scene to examine, and virtually no cooperation from the Bahamian Police, Rhyme and Sachs find it difficult to make progress. And keeping their investigation under wraps is difficult as the NIOS seems to have inside information: possible witnesses and sources are being eliminated even as the team are on their way to investigate, and soon, it seems, members of the team themselves are also in danger.

This instalment touches on several topical themes: the ethics of pe-emptive strike; anger management; the selective dissemination of information; and the use of unmanned aerial vehicles. Deaver has Rhyme travelling to the Bahamas, but handles this much more realistically than Patterson’s excursion to Africa for Alex Cross. There is a wealth of information about knives, guns and bullets, as well as quite a bit on recipes and cooking.

Deaver will need to have his own legal team at the ready: there are so many twists and turns in both plot and characters that some reader is bound to sue for whiplash injury. He gives the reader several exciting climaxes and a truly ruthless killer, but nothing is quite what it first seems in this Deaver page-turner.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
Jeffrey Deaver has long been a favourite thriller writer of mine and ‘The Vanished Man’(2003) holds pride of place among that genre on my bookshelf. Now it will be joined by ‘The Kill Room’(2013) because, from a different angle, it’s a good example of what might be called ‘misdirection’. The following is NOT a spoiler regarding the plot but a warning to you to think before you follow a trail to nowhere in your anticipation of THE answer. If you just close your eyes and let the thriller-writer take you where they will, then you’ll be ok but you’ll miss half the fun.
In ‘The Vanished Man’ the ‘perp’ fascinates the reader by bamboozling the supremely competent team led by Lincoln Rhyme. Deaver uses short chapters and rapid change of scene to lead the reader on a wonderful trail of ‘misdirection’: every time the team pounce their quarry has gone. In ‘The Kill Room’ the team led by Rhyme bamboozle themselves and so they produce their own false trails which lead the reader ‘up the garden path’. As you’re following Rhyme, Sachs et al and willing them to succeed this enables the thriller to enthral you.
Of course, the real force behind it all is Jeffrey Deaver and he sets up the questions. You’re presented with a plot centring on the assassination of an ‘awkward’ critic of US policy, along with two examples of ‘collateral damage’. But is that true? Then witnesses are being eliminated. But that men there is one killer or a killer plus assistant or….. Think. Is the killer being masterminded from an obscure room in Washington? Are you sure? Is the identity of the whistle-blower starting the case really important?
The method appears again and again. A short scene, a cliff-hanger and BANG! You’re wrong. Somebody’s role in the story has been refined over chapters and you know where they fit in – but it wasn’t really essential, after all. The team KNOW what’s going on – but then it turns out they’re really in the wrong ball-park. Deaver himself is the master of misdirection, the weaver of fantasies, the provider of clues which turn out duds and ’asides’ which provide the answers.
You may not read ‘The Kill Room’ in a single session but I bet, like me, you’ll wish you had. Easily worth 5 stars.
Now for a spoiler
Don’t think everything’s done & dusted at the end with the guilty getting their deserts, it isn’t.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The October List
The October List by Jeffery Deaver (Paperback - 25 Sept. 2014)

The Stone Monkey: Lincoln Rhyme Book 4 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers)
The Stone Monkey: Lincoln Rhyme Book 4 (Lincoln Rhyme thrillers) by Jeffery Deaver (Paperback - 13 Mar. 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.