Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self-Printed
I am working towards self-publishing a novel and I'm so glad I bought this book. It is literally packed full of useful information, from starting a blog to creating a cover (hint: don't do the cover yourself!) and everything in between. When the book is produced, Catherine then goes through how to sell it.

Catherine explains the self-publishing process the way...
Published on 16 Oct. 2012 by Stacey Mitchell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Came highly recommended. Bit too long.
Came highly recommended. Bit too long and for a UK user the US tax stuff not needed. [ See comment below if you are UK writer selling books in US. Note USA market five times the size or more of UK] I am at the start of the self publishing process so will update this review as I go. For UK Mick Rooney's book takes some beating. Work in progress
Published on 14 April 2013 by Alexander Kreator


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self-Printed, 16 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I am working towards self-publishing a novel and I'm so glad I bought this book. It is literally packed full of useful information, from starting a blog to creating a cover (hint: don't do the cover yourself!) and everything in between. When the book is produced, Catherine then goes through how to sell it.

Catherine explains the self-publishing process the way she did it, in which you take care of the bits you can do yourself, but realise what needs to be outsourced to other more qualified people - like the cover design and editing.

The best thing is that she takes you through the whole process step by step, and makes even the awkward bits seem accessible. And it's all injected with a healthy dose of realism (because no matter how nice it might be, we're not going to become millionaires overnight!). Reading this book is more like having a chat with a friend over a cup of coffee and a slice of cake.

I can't recommend this book enough for anyone who intends self-publishing, but wants to go about it properly and produce the best book they can - rather than something that screams "amateur" and puts people off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 27 Dec. 2012
If you're even considering self publishing/printing, then this book is definitely for you. It cover all aspects, including social networks, writing, editing, covers, practically uploading your work to KDP and Smashwords, all the bits in between and all with a humorous dose of Catherine. It's a book I shall continue to go back through, even after reading it in full. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essentiel Tool for anyone considering Self Publishing, 8 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
A friend recommended Catherine's blog to me when she heard I was writing a book, I'm so glad she did. The blog is full of useful information, but I didn't have time to sift through it all. It's so useful that she's collated it all into this book. It's packed with lots of really useful information by someone who's been there and done it. It has saved me hours of time and given me the confidence to get out there and give it a go myself. Not only is it practical and useful, but it's funny too. Her playful personality make's it fun to read a subject that could be really boring. I've already started putting many of her suggestions into practice and am delighted at the results. If you're considering self-publishing buy it - you'll be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I refer to again and again, 26 Dec. 2012
I purchased this book months ago and have used it umpteen times for various things that I've created, explored and tried along my self-publishing journey. Catherine's tongue in cheek humour kept me smiling through a book that, without it, would have been just the same as lots of 'how to do it' books.

I particularly found useful the way the sections were set out. I go back to them again and again. I've recently published another book on Kindle, created a Facebook page and website with Catherine's easy to follow guides. I reckon the advice and the instruction in this book has saved me hours so far and will continue to do so. Mel Sherratt, Taunting the Dead and The Estate Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
By the time I reached page 89, I was feeling frustrated at the prolix nature of this book (does anyone really need to be told what an ISBN is?) and was beginning to fear I was wasting my time ploughing through it. I needn't have worried. On page 90, I hit the mother-lode ... and from that point on, the rich seam of practical information continued to the very last page.

Not only does she teach you how to build a blogsite, publish your manuscript as an ebook and as a paperback, and then promote your book, but she actually instructs you on the exact keystrokes to use and backs up the tutorial with screen-shots. It is a very comprehensive book, and even includes advice on navigating through the mire of US tax bureaucracy.

She holds strong opinions, some of which I disagree with profoundly (for example, she writes from a strictly commercial perspective, presuming that the purpose of writing is to sell books and make money, and that the author isn't concerned about his or her privacy) but I agree profoundly with many more points. I particularly like her advice on how to handle a bad review: devote some hours to writing carefully a stinging rebuttal that puts the critic in his rightful place ... and then delete it.

If she ever does choose to issue a third edition, the one thing I really would like is a detailed timeline-diagram. There are so many strands to successful publishing (blog, ebook, POD, promotion), all moving in parallel towards mutually-supporting convergence on the day of release, that it is easy to lose sight of individual priorities. For example, I was frustrated that it was not until two-thirds of the way through the book that she recommends sending review copies out three months before release. Suddenly, producing a reviewable version becomes the most urgent priority.

In a community dominated by the Americans, It is also very refreshing to read an author writing specifically for British and Irish readers. She comes over as a very pleasant person, the sort of person you would enjoy having a coffee with, always assuming you are broad-minded enough to tolerate her absolutely appalling taste in cheesecake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough, authoritative, caffeinated, 19 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I first encountered Catherine Ryan Howard through her blog, Catherine, Caffeinated, when she decided to self-publish Mousetrapped, her first travel memoir, through CreateSpace. It seemed only a short time later that Catherine and her self-published book was being featured in the national press. What's more, her efforts secured her a literary agent.

Why? Well apart from the fact that Catherine is a natural writer and wrote a thoroughly entertaining book, she cared about doing the production, printing and launch properly. Not for her the self-published book that shouted `amateur'. Despite the fact that she had no prior knowledge of publishing, she decided her book would have to stand up well next to its professionally produced counterparts. So she studied the crucial differences - design, covers and editorial quality. And she's put all she learned in this book. I'm a book professional myself and it all seems pretty sound.

Making the book is just half the equation. You have to let people know it's out. Catherine was new to blogging and print on demand too, but she built up a significant web presence that charmed people into wanting her book. A substantial part of the book tells you how she did that, how she made her blog look professional, what did work, what didn't, what she blogs about and how she keeps to a blogging schedule that pulls in readers. She also talks about how she used social media such as Twitter to build a lasting relationship with readers and how she got reviews. Not only does she talk about what worked, she tells you what turned out to be a complete waste of time.

Everything you need is here - detailed notes about formatting, navigating the scary screens on CreateSpace and advanced options on Wordpress (for blogging). Publishing for ebooks and Kindle are covered too. She writes entertainingly and bracingly, with screen shots so you know exactly what to do. It's authoritative, engaging, and, like her blog, caffeinated. If you're thinking of self-publishing and you want to give your book a great start in life, get Self-Printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Came highly recommended. Bit too long., 14 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
Came highly recommended. Bit too long and for a UK user the US tax stuff not needed. [ See comment below if you are UK writer selling books in US. Note USA market five times the size or more of UK] I am at the start of the self publishing process so will update this review as I go. For UK Mick Rooney's book takes some beating. Work in progress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The GoTo Source for Self-Publishing, 6 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen F. Male "Steve" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
I am not prone to hyperbole but if you buy one book on self-publishing then this is it.

Catherine doesn't cover how to write we all should be up to that but if not there are plenty of books to get you up to the standard. What Catherine covers is how to get a book self-published at which she is excellent. This book is full of general advice along with the specific detail about many areas such as publishing on Kindle or Createspace and how to set up an on-line presence to promote your book.

She is sound and level headed about the pitfalls and problems as well as encouraging about the possibilities. This is not a nerd's guide but one accessible by one and all.

I originally purchased this as a Kindle book and found it so good I have also now purchased this paperback to keep close at hand as a reference.

If your thinking of self-publishing then buy this for an in-depth guide and good read in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended this book by a friend and am so glad I was. It is packed full of information relevant to self publishing and written in such a way its easy to understand. Catherine warns you of the pitfalls you may come against on the journey towards publication and helps you to negotiate your way along. Very helpful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must read for self publishers, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) (Paperback)
i could not put this book down. very funny. everything you need to know about getting yourself published and making it in the world of the social networking. be warned she very blunt. by the time you finish you cant help loving this author. she put me straight on all the things i was doing wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition)
Self-Printed: The Sane Person's Guide to Self-Publishing (2nd Edition) by Catherine Ryan Howard (Paperback - 14 Sept. 2012)
Used & New from: £998.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews