Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised!
I was pleasantly surprised. I was a bit skeptical about this one being as it was about a convenient marriage. But, I really enjoyed it :) I loved the hero and heroine, the heroine in particular and how she grew and developed through the story. The plot was great and kept me hooked and it has become one of my favourites of Amanda Grange's stories :)
Published 23 months ago by Sophie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet romance with pleasant H&h
Pleasant tale, some what far fetched but entertaining.
The h&H are appealing, this is a clean read and the sweet romance develops at a gentle pace.
There's a touch of adventure and intrigue added to the mix and the Yorkshire setting is well portrayed.
The premise of the tale, a temporary marriage of convenience is without foundation in fact. Annulments...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised!, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Month Marriage (Paperback)
I was pleasantly surprised. I was a bit skeptical about this one being as it was about a convenient marriage. But, I really enjoyed it :) I loved the hero and heroine, the heroine in particular and how she grew and developed through the story. The plot was great and kept me hooked and it has become one of my favourites of Amanda Grange's stories :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice wee story, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice little story, nothing unusual about it but as light reading goes it was certainly worth the effort. I would definitely like to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet romance with pleasant H&h, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pleasant tale, some what far fetched but entertaining.
The h&H are appealing, this is a clean read and the sweet romance develops at a gentle pace.
There's a touch of adventure and intrigue added to the mix and the Yorkshire setting is well portrayed.
The premise of the tale, a temporary marriage of convenience is without foundation in fact. Annulments were harder to achieve in Regency times than even divorces were. Philip would have had to be proven unable to consummate, i.e. impotence and men who made such claims would be thoroughly examined before they were believed. So, no annulment would have been possible.
Still though, it's a pleasing bit of above average fluff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars didn't put down, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved The Six Month Mariage by Amanda Grange, good easy read, didn't put down, will look for other books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable regency tale with a dash of intrigue, 16 Mar 2013
Madeline is desperate; her vile uncle can't touch her dowry, but he can marry her off to whomever he pleases as payment for his gambling debts. Philip is on the lookout for a bride - he has chosen Miss Letitia Blight as a suitable society bride for himself but his father's will won't allow him to inherit until he has been married for six months to somebody other than Letitia. He decides that the way out is becoming married and then later having the marriage annulled on the grounds of non-consummation and compensating his bride financially. Philip meets Madeline as she tries to escape from her uncle and decides that she would fit the part. Madeline is deeply distrustful of men and worried about the power that a marriage would give a man over her but reasons that Philip will have to treat her well while he still needs her to keep up her end of the six month arrangement. I'm sure you can see where this story is going, but the fun is in experiencing the journey, not being surprised by the destination.

You can't help but sympathise with Madeline, she is escaping an awful situation and isn't best pleased with marrying Phillip. I was a bit sceptical about anybody being willing to ruin their future marriage prospects but Madeline is in an awful situation and is vehemently against marrying again and risking being under a man's power.

Phillip's determination to marry Letitia is less understandable because he can clearly see that she is a piece of work.

The romance is very sweet. It would be much shorter if the characters would only talk to each other but to be fair the author reasons this away quite well. Where this story loses out for me is that there are a number of places where I thought things were a bit unrealistic or rushed but on the whole I enjoyed this book and I'd read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A really nice story, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs Kathryn Miller (Cardiff, Cardiff United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was pleasantly surprised by this story.

The heroine Madeline, escaping from her wicked uncle who wants to use her as bargaining chip to clear his debts, enters in to a marriage of convenience with Philip to allow him to claim his inheritance. In the course of their six month marriage, they fall in love, but the path to their ultimate happiness is not smooth - but then it never is! The characters were interesting and well developed and there were enough twists and turns to keep me reading.

I will look for other stories from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Six Month Marriage
The Six Month Marriage by Amanda Grange (Paperback - 6 Aug 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews