Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great continuation of "The Hedge Knight", beautifully illustrated, must-read for the GoT fans
"Sworn Sword" is a sequel to "The Hedge Knight", a comic book/graphic adaptation of George R. R. Martin novel that bears the same name.
Reading both books, reader will be introduced to the magic world that was beautifully portrayed in his "A Song of Ice and Fire" book series.

"Sworn Sword" is continuation of the previous...
Published 12 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick fix of GRRM.
The Sworn Sword is the sequel to The Hedge Knight graphic novella set in Westeros 100 years before the events of the Song of Ice and Fire books of GRRM. The story follows the main characters Ser Duncan the Tall and his squire Egg into the Reach, which plagued by a terrible drought, as they serve a beggared lord whose house is on the brink of ruin.

For those of...
Published 8 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great continuation of "The Hedge Knight", beautifully illustrated, must-read for the GoT fans, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
"Sworn Sword" is a sequel to "The Hedge Knight", a comic book/graphic adaptation of George R. R. Martin novel that bears the same name.
Reading both books, reader will be introduced to the magic world that was beautifully portrayed in his "A Song of Ice and Fire" book series.

"Sworn Sword" is continuation of the previous book about events that happened almost hundred years before the events pictured in Martin's famous book - "A Game of Thrones".

After Lord Ashford's great tourney, Sir Duncan the Tall, a hedge knight seeking for fame and fortune and his unusual boy squire, Egg will travel the land in search of the puppeteer girl named Tanselle. They will enter the service of Ser Eustace, an older knight and Dunk will have lot of troubles with one of the others Ser Eustace's knights. When this knight will attack a peasant and provoke conflict with Lady Rohanne Webber, some unpleasant truths from the past about Ser Eustace will emerge...

This graphic novel published by the Marvel Enterprises comes in same nice hardcover version like the previous one and was beautifully illustrated by Mike S. Miller. Due to the nice pictures it wouldn't be strange that reader after she/he quickly read the book for the first time, when will read it for the next time spend a lot of time in front of each picture, enjoying the sight of the countless details.

The same drawback as I said for the previous one, mainly for those readers unfamiliar with George R. R. Martin work is level of details related to characters names, houses, their relationships and events from the past. For someone who would just like to enjoy reading a comic book it would probably be frustrating to see how many characters and relationships between them are present. Due to that same suggestion for publisher remains, it would be great to have in third installment as an appendix inclusion of the family tree to be able to keep track of all of the characters.

"Sworn Sword" is another must-read for the Game of Thrones fans, as well for all those who like comic books due to excellent illustrations and story that can be found within.

Although the majority of fans are already familiar with events that preceded Game of Thrones events, for those who aren't these two books and I hope some other that will be published will be great add-on for all of us, loyal fans.

Due to all above-mentioned, I can fully recommend this comic book and I hope that we won't be waiting for its sequel for too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, great to re-read., 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you've read the game of thrones series and need something while waiting for the next books to come, this is great. Only down side was i flew through it in less than a day. But good to reread. I don't normally read graphic novels but loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Good read, 3 April 2014
By 
D. Graves "DarylG" (Caerphilly, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Paperback)
Personally I think the first book was better so if you haven't read the first buy it before you buy this book, you'll understand the story and characters more. Still a brilliant read though can't wait for the next one to
Come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story and artwork, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Paperback)
I am really enjoying the Hedge Knight series and would highly recommend them, I dare say this one is even better than the first!

I recommend for any fan of Game of Thrones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I know who Egg is!!, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting way of introducing us to Egg .... I was hard reading on a kindle at first ... But I liked the story and found it gave enough history behind the Game of Thrones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant graphic novels, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This prequel graphic novel really brings the world of Westeros to life. If you love George RR Martin and graphic novels this is a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Paperback)
This is a great graphic novel the story and art are great. If you loved the first part of the hedge knight story this is a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it., 2 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) (Paperback)
Really enjoyed it. Just like the novels, it was too short. Great artwork. I'm looking forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't usually read graphic novels but this one was very enjoyable. Nice to be in The Song of Ice and Fire mileu....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very engaging graphic novel , much enjoyable read. Couldn't wait for the next one and so useful having the kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones)
The Sworn Sword: The Graphic Novel (A Game of Thrones) by Ben Avery (Paperback - 11 Feb. 2014)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews