Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and thought provoking but a bit repetitive in parts.
This book gives a real insight into what it must be like living with people that hoard. I admire the author for the way she has dealt with it throughout a difficult childhood and yet bears no grudges against those that made her suffer so much.
Published 10 months ago by LIFESTYLE2GO

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing
This book started off well and I thought it would give an insight into why hoarders hoard. Unfortunately as soon as the writer leaves home this book becomes less interesting, more a catalogue of her achievements and does not go into any depth to why her parents hoard other than the hint of bad parentage and loss. Rather shallow a bit of a whinge book really and didn't...
Published 9 months ago by nothingbettertodo


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and thought provoking but a bit repetitive in parts., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gives a real insight into what it must be like living with people that hoard. I admire the author for the way she has dealt with it throughout a difficult childhood and yet bears no grudges against those that made her suffer so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very moving, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to read at times because the imagination is in uproar at some of the description Kimberley has written. An amazing memoir of someone's life and a lady of true courage and commitment to her family. A brilliant book to read x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was hooked almost instantly, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very moving and emotional book. I am so glad this author had the courage to expose the way her father's hoarding affected his family. This book should be read by anyone who knows a hoarder, or is a hoarder, or who wants to understand more about human nature. I can't recommend it highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reading this., 17 April 2014
This true story gives an interesting insight into how families like this can become so dysfunctional, with the problems being passed on from generation to generation. It also shows how deeply a child can be affected by a dysfunctional background, and how the writer faced the challenge of turning her life around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eye opening, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great insight in to living with a hoarder. After watching various TV programmes I didn't realise what it's actually like for family members to deal with. Amazing book and I guess a cleansing experience for the author in more ways than one. I'm still reeling from the attic lodger... nightmare. However her love for her parents shines through and she never gave up on them as I'm sure many would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting insight, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The role reversal, who looks after who!
An easy read following the normal life hiding an untidy and dirty private living conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book started off well and I thought it would give an insight into why hoarders hoard. Unfortunately as soon as the writer leaves home this book becomes less interesting, more a catalogue of her achievements and does not go into any depth to why her parents hoard other than the hint of bad parentage and loss. Rather shallow a bit of a whinge book really and didn't finish it - unusual for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting book - well written and holds the attention right through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brutally honest story ....had me glued from beginning to end. How brave to tell this and how difficult it must have been to live through. I finished the book hoping that Kimberlys parents have really managed to turn a corner forever.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eye opener, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it might give an insight into compulsive behavior, but it was more of a catharsis for the author. A very different read, and glad the author doesn't wallow in self-pity. Not what I expected, but still enjoyed the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming Clean: A Memoir
Coming Clean: A Memoir by Kimberly Rae Miller (Paperback - 23 July 2013)
6.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews