Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Wasn't sure about the first book in this trilogy but this one was more enjoyable. Liked the characters and am getting more involved in the story.
Published 12 months ago by Paula Roberts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to my expectations
PUBLISHING INFO: Montlake Romance, 12/2013
GENRE: Historical Romance
SETTING: England, 1869
SERIES: Scandal at the House of Russell, book 2

This review contains mild spoilers. I was disappointed in this. It’s too similar to the first in the series. Heroine gets a job in the home of the hero, whom she suspects of being her father’s...
Published 8 months ago by Alphalover


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to my expectations, 23 May 2014
This review is from: Never Trust a Pirate (Scandal at the House of Russell) (Paperback)
PUBLISHING INFO: Montlake Romance, 12/2013
GENRE: Historical Romance
SETTING: England, 1869
SERIES: Scandal at the House of Russell, book 2

This review contains mild spoilers. I was disappointed in this. It’s too similar to the first in the series. Heroine gets a job in the home of the hero, whom she suspects of being her father’s murderer, hero discovers who she really is but doesn’t let her know, hero makes advances toward heroine which she rebuffs over and over again, ect. Same premise as book one.

Maddy is a twenty-two year old nonvirgin and the hero, Luca, aka Thomas Morgan, is half Romany, half English and is twenty-nine. I didn’t like their unlikely first meeting on the street. I didn’t like that Maddy was being abused a bit by the housekeeper and never told Luca. There was no reason for her not to have told him. I don’t like that he has a huge tattoo down his left side, beginning on his shoulder. Yes, I know people had tattoos back then but please leave them out of historicals.

There’s another bad character in this story too. They’re out to kill Maddy. They sneak aboard the ship that she and Luca are on and almost succeeds in throwing her overboard but Luca comes on the rescue just in time…of course. Him sneaking aboard ship is something I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have done himself. Like previously, he’d have hired someone to do the murder for him. Him throwing her over his shoulder and walking toward the side of the ship where he could be seen by multiple people makes no sense. He brought a bag to put her body in it, should he need to do it, so he should have killed her in the ship’s cabin first, put her body in the bag then thrown the bag overboard. Another problem I have is with Maddy coming to the conclusion after her murder attempt that that person is also the one who murdered her father. Where’d that revelation come from?

The thing that bothers me most is Luca basically grew up on the streets. To make money he and his friend were pickpockets who also prostituted themselves. I wanted to know more about that. I wanted to know what Luca thought of having to do it and how it may have effected him as an adult. It was mentioned and that was it. I feel his character was underdeveloped. Him living on the street and prostituting himself is very interesting to me and I want to know more.

This story only spans about a month or so. I don’t believe their love is genuine. They hardly know each other yet are in love and get married within a really short time? I don’t think so.

I like both Maddy and Luca but the bad outweigh the good in this story. There’s to be one more in this series and hopefully it’ll be better than this one.

I received this from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ending terrible, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book right up until the end. I hate that feeling when you're left with a load of unanswered questions. It's like the author has enough and just rushed the last few chapters. I wanted to know more about solving the murder of her father, Mr Brown's involvement (and his "friendship" with Gwendoline) and clearing the family's name. There was no confrontation scene between Brown and Maddie to fill in the gaps. It's a shame the book ended so weakly as a good read until then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wasn't sure about the first book in this trilogy but this one was more enjoyable. Liked the characters and am getting more involved in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Depends on the pirate, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The heroine was a bit thick at times but the hero was luscious and that made up for it ! There were some aspects of timing which didn't make sense if you thought about it.How did the villain arrive in Devon before the heroine?Set up house and make his contacts?How did the hero apparently sail to London and back in something like 24 hours?I would have given 5 stars but for that .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great surprise, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had not read any books by this Author so I wasn't sure if this was a book for me, but found it a great surprise. I did find it a bit "wordy", a lot of them when a few would have done just as well. The story was very good very enjoyable and I wanted to keep reading it until I had finished it. Will read more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Never trust a pirate, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a bit slow to start. With I nearly gave up then it got interesting the story started very mysterious with lots of funny bits then adventurous couldn't put the book down then romantically pleasing boats on the high seas with a pirate has u guessing wondering what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good yarn, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this book, it was well structured with strong characters. It was loads of fun and thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written and boring, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not worth the effort of reading. I wanted something not too taxing to read when in hospital but even having brain surgery didn't make this novel worthwhile. The characters are stereotypical and one dimensional which would be all right if there was an interesting plot - there isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read and choose it as it had others in the trilogy .
Loved it and could not put it down, have now read all three and loved them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, the start of the book is a bit slow but apart from that is a great read. The heroin is strong willed and entertaining. And the hero is a dream :) I would definitely read it again again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Trust a Pirate (Scandal at the House of Russell)
Never Trust a Pirate (Scandal at the House of Russell) by Anne Stuart (Paperback - 3 Dec. 2013)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews