Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars126
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2004
Hedge Knight is a prequel to George RR Martin's excellent book series Songs of Ice and Fire. Actually it does not have much to do with the series itself except that it's located in Westeros in the time when Targaryens were still in power, about a hundred years before the events of A Game Of Thrones.
The graphic novel starts with the death of Ser Arlan. His squire, Dunk, mourns. But after the burial he figures that he could become a knight as well, claiming that Ser Arlan gave him the knighthood before his death. So Dunk becomes Ser Duncan and he decides to join a tournament at Ashford Meadow, so that he could make a small fortune for himself with a few easy victories. Naturally events unfold and the book ends up being a journey into what the true essence of Knighthood means.
The illustration by Mike Miller and Mike Crowell is excellent throughout the book and the story gets you immediately hooked in a true GRR Martin fashion. All the familiar family names and locations make it an intriguing experience. It's a a must buy for any SOIAF-fan.
0Comment|87 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 July 2014
The Hedge Knight was the first graphic novel I ever read, for lack of any new full fledged novels set in Westeros from GRRM, I was not disappointed. Even though the comic takes place 100 years before the books there are still some characters avid readers will recognize, not to mention many of the great houses. As far as the comic adaptation goes I am no expert but I thought the artwork was pretty decent, in particular the scenes toward the end were quite gripping. As to be expected from the Song of Ice and Fire there is no lack of violence, though not much sex (maybe for the better).

All in all I thought it was an enjoyable read, even though the story is much cruder than the novels and this medium will never have the same depth as a book of a thousand pages.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 September 2008
This excellent tale from the redoubtable George RR Martin is beautifully illustrated by Ben Avery. A mighty collaboration.

So why only 4 stars? Surely it rates 5? Well, maybe it does.

It might just be me, but I experienced some hesitation in following the text bubble sequence. Something did not flow easily for me - not as it would normally when reading this sort of book. And I do read a lot of books. Hopefully this will not reduce your enjoyment, but it did mine, a bit. Hence 4 stars.
Be interested if others find the text bubble arrangement problematic. Comments invited.

If you enjoy the works of Ben Avery or GRRM, this will probably suit you really well, since both do an excellent job here. I am waiting eagerly for the paperback edition of the next in the series:
Sworn Sword (The Hedge Knight): 2

Of course, you could always go for the hardback version:
Sworn Sword (The Hedge Knight): 2

"Hedge Knight" is recommended for its beautifully detailed depiction of a story of knightly valour and human values.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2008
This is, in short, superb. I am a massive fan of GRRM's work and I definitely think that anybody who has read A Song of Ice and Fire will enjoy this as a wonderful addition to their experience of Westeros. Set about a century before the ASoIaF books, it tells the story of Ser Duncan the Tall, a Hedge Knight and his experience at a tourney during the Targaryens' reign. Filled with juicy little additions to flesh out the back story of the kingdom and especially of the Targaryen family, it will make you very excited about the whole world and since I've read it whilst waiting for A Dance with Dragons, it's a great way to fill time until then! And it's not just filling time, I have to say. It is worth every penny and I will definitely re-read it many times.
The illustrations are glorious, I cannot think of a single fault with them. The cover pictures (two for each of the six issues inside this book) are stunning. I could stare at them all day. But what's better is that all of the pictures have a similar effect. There is no skimping on detail and there is such well-chosen perspective and well thought out movement shots that you will really feel a part of the book.
Of course, I am speaking as a big fan of the ASoIaF series; if you haven't read this (although I'd highly recommend you do anyway) then you can still enjoy The Hedge Knight. Granted even for a fan some of the familial storylines can be confusing but it'll only intrigue you and make you want more and more of this world.
I genuinely can't think of any criticisms, which is rare for me. Read and enjoy!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
I am astonished by the number of reviewers who have dissed this publication because it is a comic. That's what a graphic novel is: like a Marvel comic. As such it is high on visual impact and relatively low on story.

I enjoyed it very much none the less. A quick read - unlike most of GRRM's oeuvre! - and fabulously illustrated with some memorable lines and scenes. It also has refreshing humour. I'm off to buy the second one now to cheer me up in the long winter evenings.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
"The Hedge Knight" is comic book/graphic adaptation of George R. R. Martin novel that bears the same name introducing reader to world beautifully pictured in his A Song of Ice and Fire" book series. Originally, George R. R. Martin published this novel as a part of Robert Silverberg's Legends anthology, back in the 1998.

The story takes place almost hundred years before the events pictured in first book - "A Game of Thrones". Lord Ashford had organized a great tourney, inviting warriors and knights from each and every of the Seven Kingdoms. One of them is Sir Duncan the Tall, a hedge knight seeking for a fame and fortune. Dunk's master, Sir Arlan, recently died and Dunk picked up his sword and shield, intending to carry on his former master's noble ways. Along the way, Dunk would be joined by an unusual boy wanting to become his squire, Egg. All of the Dunk's plans would need to be changed when he provoked the fury of Prince Aerion Targaryen, but after a series of events and some unusual discoveries Westeros future will begin to irreversibly change...

This graphic novel published by the Marvel Enterprises comes in a nice hardcover version and was beautifully illustrated by Mike S. Miller and Mike Crowell's, accompanied by Robert Silverberg, Elio Garcia and Linda Antonsson. Visually, this graphic adaptation looks excellent with a depth of detail that "forces" reader to look for a long time at each panel. As a bonus feature, at the book's end reader can found short part from the sequel "The Sworn Sword", picturing the Battle of the Redgrass Field.

The only drawback, mainly for those who are not familiar with George R. R. Martin work is level of details concerning names, houses, their relationships and events from the past. Although I don't have problem with that, being big fan of Martin's series, for someone who would just want to read a comic book it could be frustrating how many characters and relationships between them are present. Maybe for some next edition inclusion of the family tree to keep track of all of them would be great add-on.

"The Hedge Knight" is both must-see and most-read for the George R. R. Martin fans, but also for all those interested in comic books due to excellent artwork that can be found inside. Also this is the beginning of a new series, a graphic adaptation of the turbulent events that occurred before the Game of Thrones began, events that laid the foundations for the outcome described in the A Song of Ice and Fire" series.

High recommendations and I can hardly wait to enjoy its sequel.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
This was a fun, quick read if you're looking for something to curl up on the couch and read in an afternoon. You learn some tidbits of information that tie in well to the Song of Ice and Fire, but it stands well on its own. Dunk and Egg, his squire, are both highly likeable characters. The art is decent, although very 'Marvel' in style. The characters didn't look scarred and dirty enough to medieval times to me! The artist does some interesting things with reflections and framing, which I enjoyed. I'll be looking for the sequel "The Sworn Sword" and the third, "The Mystery Knight." It's a fun way to visually see George R.R. Martin's world before we eventually see it on HBO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Once you get the hang of highlighting the frames,(simply move your thumb lightly on the side of the page and the frames will appear sequentially), this is wonderful. The art work is very good and the story loses little from the actual novel. What is gained is a different experience and a thoroughly enjoyable one.
All the graphic novels I have glanced through in bookstores pale into insignificance with this elegant and exciting presentation. Recommended to anyone who needs more GMM whilst waiting for the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
It's my own fault, I read a few reviews of the Hedge Knight and bought it without realising it's actually a comic strip.
The storyline is good and the characters are well depicted, the artwork is great, I just don't want to read a comic.
I thought the decription "Graphic Novel" indicated it would have one or two illustrations, my main regret is that although this is not my cup of tea, I can't pass it on to anyone who might enjoy it due to the restrictions on the Kindle.
Hey Ho.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Amazing quality and the product was up to my expectations. Gave the novel to my boyfriend as a present who doesn't ever read comic books but he said that he wants to read the next parts, so I'm guessing it blew him away too. I 100% recommend it if you want to relax for 2 hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse