Customer Reviews


332 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Read
Loved the book. Totally enthralling from start to finish. A brilliant example of cult behaviour. The emotions of love and obsession are created with true feeling and insight. This is the first book I have read by Mark Edwards and I will definitely be catching up on the others. Perhaps there will be a follow up ?
Published 7 months ago by dib

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sc norfolk
After reading "Magpies" and "Because She Loves Me" by this author, I decided because I loved the other two books and gave them 5 stars , to read "What You Wish For". I was, however, disappointed with this book as it wasn't as interesting as his previous two books. Maybe it was because it was the first one written. It didn't have the same "can't put it down" quality about...
Published 2 months ago by sc norfolk


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Read, 29 Aug. 2014
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
Loved the book. Totally enthralling from start to finish. A brilliant example of cult behaviour. The emotions of love and obsession are created with true feeling and insight. This is the first book I have read by Mark Edwards and I will definitely be catching up on the others. Perhaps there will be a follow up ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book has it covered from all sides, 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
What you wish for is a real insight into both sides of a story about belief, conspiracy, faith and love and how all these things can come to a head to the ultimate happiness or perhaps leave you still yearning for more, with more questions and unresolved issues than the start.

A constant back and forth between rational explanations and a hint to the unknown this book is not only about the relationship between Richard and his lost love Marie, but about how they have affected, brought together and torn apart others in their quest to believe in something, no matter how different from each other's ideals

Whether you are a believer or not in the unknown or any faith this book will have you convinced then sway you back and forth all the way to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of love, obsession and UFOlogy - a great read, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
When Richard falls in love with Marie, he thinks he has everything he could ever want. Life is just perfect except for one small thing………. Marie’s obsession with aliens and the absolute unshakeable belief that they will make contact with the group she belongs to. Richard, a complete unbeliever, pushes her fixation to the back of his mind, and they agree to differ - until that is, the day Marie disappears………. Determined that she would never leave him willingly, Richard sets about trying to find her. As he digs deeper into Marie’s life and meets her friends, he finds himself dragged into brainwashed cult members and the money orientated manipulators who control them, he wonders if he will ever find her in time……….

I liked Richard from page one, an ordinary unassuming newspaper photographer, but tenacious to the end. At times I wanted to shake Marie but the more her past is explained to us as the story unfolds, it becomes easy to see how she could be dragged into the alien cult life.
The end is incredibly surprising – I never saw that coming :)
Don’t be fooled by thinking this is a book all about flying saucers and little green men. No !!, this is a story of love, obsession and the scary reality of how cults can happen. A really great read, you won’t be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thing I like most about the book is that it is an ..., 5 Jan. 2015
By 
M. A. Robson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
I was captivated from the start with this book having read one of the authors previous books 'Because she loves me'. The story-line grabs you and keeps you guessing throughout the book. Most people through their lifetime will come across a belief system themselves or by knowing a friend or family member who has been 'caught up' in that system. We all look for answers to the question, 'Are we alone?' or 'Is there really a God?'. The author cleverly builds a story around alien abduction in a sinister way which taps into some of the weird cults that pop up here and there and how brainwashed followers can become. The thing I like most about the book is that it is an unresolved story which leaves the reader to find their own conclusion.........depending on their own belief system. Still, a story that some would argue, could have an element of truth in it...................................somewhere?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sc norfolk, 21 Jan. 2015
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
After reading "Magpies" and "Because She Loves Me" by this author, I decided because I loved the other two books and gave them 5 stars , to read "What You Wish For". I was, however, disappointed with this book as it wasn't as interesting as his previous two books. Maybe it was because it was the first one written. It didn't have the same "can't put it down" quality about it. Sorry. Would definitely read this author again if he writes another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i would recommend it though as it has a good storyline and ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
a well written and enjoyable read but no surprises. i would recommend it though as it has a good storyline and i was always looking forward to being able to pick it up to carry on reading, i did however have an idea what was going on and so the ending came as no surprise, but despite that it did not detract from a well laid out, well written and good paced story. My first read by this author and i am already looking to get some more of his books. i have given it 4 stars only because i found the ending a bit too easy to predict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mysterious page turner., 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You Wish For (Paperback)
I loved this book. I am from Hastings so it brought back lots of childhood memories! A real page turner that kept me hooked all the way through. The ending has kept me thinking about the book after completion. It has stayed with me for many good reasons. I am very much looking forward to reading The Magpies next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Christine M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
Marie vanishes and her boyfriend goes on the hunt for her. Marie is an obsessive believer in aliens, Richard is not. Richard's search takes him to Brighton and the States, as he follows her tracks. He encounters cult groups and bizarre alien sex photos en route to the truth.

I really wanted to like this book, but it never really hooked me as a reader and the ending felt flat. The story is a romance, with a combination of the X-Files mixed with The Following. If you are familiar with both series, you probably won't get anything new from this book. I didn't take to the lead character, Richard. I found him rather annoying and soppy. His girlfriend dumped him and her cat, and he doesn't even get angry about it. He gets philosophical. He just didn't seem that believable to me. I was more interested in Marie and her view of the world. I think the themes of aliens and ufology, together with cults are fascinating. In this case, it just didn't seem to come together to work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just read it, 31 Mar. 2015
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
I read this because I've read a number of books by Mark Edwards and I was sceptical at first. The whole theme of aliens is a little off putting but once I started to read I fell in love with the story it's so well written and its really moving. You start to forget you're reading a book about alien abduction and UFOs. Richards thoughts and feelings make you sympathise with him almost at once and his love for Marie is beautiful. The plot is engaging and it's really hard to detach from the story once you start it. It took me less then a day to finish it and as soon as I did I went back and read it again. I will always recommend this book it's too good not to. Give it a chance and you may just love it too x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping and unusual thriller, 25 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: What You Wish For (Kindle Edition)
Having really enjoyed the author's other books (both solo and in partnership with Louise Voss) I was very excited to read this book. The storyline is offers something different, a mix of love bordering on obsession, the hunt for a missing girl and the shadowy world of cults. The main character, Richard, is a joy to read, and the people he comes across on the way to find his missing girlfriend, Marie are realistically portrayed - even if they're not the type of characters you might be used to reading about - delusional misfits and hints of a very shady underworld where aliens - yes - the bulbous headed abduction type - hold the key to the future... for some people, at least. The story harks back to a time when alien sightings were almost commonplace in the media, and the people who believed... and those cynics who flatly refused to. Richard is grounded in reality, yet he is drawn into a world where he has to question the truth if he wants to find his girl. This is not a sci-fi novel - this is a novel about people from different backgrounds being thrown together into the mix. Ultimately it is a story about losing someone, and coming to the realisation that they may not want to be found. Fast-paced and very enjoyable, this is addictive reading from a master of the page-turner.

Highly recommended.

Thank you to the author for the advance review copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What You Wish For
What You Wish For by Mark Edwards (Paperback - 22 July 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews