Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid regency romance
I really enjoyed this historical romance by Laura Landon. I found the hero Griffen Blackmore a very interesting character, still tormented by the death of his first wife and child he spirals into alcoholism. Although this isn’t the first book i’ve read where the main male character is reliant on alcohol it was the first one that gave an in-depth look at how...
Published 8 months ago by Lucy Hargrave

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Risk Worth Taking
A nice romantic novel, I did guess who the murderer was early on but a nice escape novel to read. 3star rating
Published 14 months ago by Margaret jarvis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid regency romance, 16 Aug. 2014
By 
Lucy Hargrave (Wellingborough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Risk Worth Taking (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really enjoyed this historical romance by Laura Landon. I found the hero Griffen Blackmore a very interesting character, still tormented by the death of his first wife and child he spirals into alcoholism. Although this isn’t the first book i’ve read where the main male character is reliant on alcohol it was the first one that gave an in-depth look at how the hero and heroine deal with the hero’s alcoholism, rather than just brushing over it. For me this gave Griffen deeper characterisation and made me as the reader sympathise with him, Landon did a great job of portraying his torment and grief and as someone who loves angst this was perfect for me.
I also liked the heroine, Anne Carmichael and she definitely had some of the best lines in the book. She was a character who stood up for herself, and knew what she believed in but was still willing to show vulnerability. I thought the relationship between Anne and Griffen both realistic and well paced, growing from mutual respect and desire.
There were of course some elements of the book that I didn’t like hence the four star review. My main issue was how swiftly Griffen got other his alcoholism, certainly when they are married that problem is hardly mentioned again in place of the other main conflict in the book that I won’t mention due to spoilers.
Overall this is a really good regency romance that combines a bit of angst, some humour, good character development and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Stakes Passion, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Risk Worth Taking (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A romantic story that sweeps you along with a good narrative set among Victorian high society.

Laura Landon brings to feisty characters together in Annie and Griffe. He is charged with taking care of her when her brother dies and she, of course, feels she can survive on her own. They both need eachother's help to deal with life. He feels responsible for her brother's death; she falls for him, but doesn't want to marry a drunk just like her father. There is also a dastardly plot afoot as Anne's cousin, the evil Earl of Brentwood, tries to get his hands on her and her land. Great stuff.

There is one drawback in that quite a few American expressions are used in the story and seem rather strange to the English reader. It might have been better to edit the book more closely for British readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Risk Worth Taking, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice romantic novel, I did guess who the murderer was early on but a nice escape novel to read. 3star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A risk worth taking, 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a bad read, well written with good characters, but storyline little weak and predictable. The heroine came out with some nonsense and the plot was frustrating towards the end but mainly ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So _ so, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, it wasn't bad, parts were quite good in fact but, rather too much agonizing and no really convincing details. A lighter touch with a hint of humour would have been welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An exciting story with building suspense and a truly wicked villain! Having a flawed hero made him much more real
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 July 2014
By 
Louisa T. (Fleckney,Leicester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Risk Worth Taking (Paperback)
I twigged the ending far to quickly and was disappointed with the meandering story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good story but quite predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting story well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story with a twist, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a slow start I could not put this book down. You think you know the how the story line will go but there is a twist. An enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Risk Worth Taking
A Risk Worth Taking by Laura Landon (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2013)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews