Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars nicely done
Some of the maps actually look better than the Screenshot ones... The reference book is great and explains a few continuity problems ...I have already spent hours measuring distances and trying to remember the episodes were the various planets were introduced
Published 2 months ago by Rosita Zen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather overpriced
This seemed like a good idea at first but when the item finally arrived the quality is inconsistent,for instance the cover is great as is the book,but the maps are very low quality like photographs being printed on non photo paper and they are not well detailed and are too small,had this been half the price it still wouldn't be worth it but I could give it another...
Published 2 months ago by Karl Grosvenor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars great as a piece of artwork, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Db Chesters "DC" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library (Hardcover)
'space, is small (and two-dimensional).' my main gripes would be the vastness of the galaxy is not depicted in these maps, and that it would be nice to have one or more maps showing more realistically the nature of the galaxy. iv seen such maps online showing fictional territorial cross sections through the galactic disc, and they look cool. all these are 2D.

apart from that I have only good things to say about this product. there are 10 maps, the print quality is fine, even small writing is perfectly legible, but note the paper for posters is mat finish as opposed to the almost universally used glossy posters (i have no idea on the merits of these two)

there's a few different styles used. one 'ye olde' map style which is neat, five or so in the TNG LCARS style, unique styles for klingon, cardassian, the vulcan map is just stunning (bravo to the designer of that). some are not immediately intuitive, the romulan war map i haven’t figured out yet. which is fine, when its up on the wall, gives you something to think about.

one other thing to note. this product is big and heavy! i was going to take it with me overseas, i dont think i will.

based on content alone i might give this 5 stars, but taking high price into account, 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nicely done, 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library (Hardcover)
Some of the maps actually look better than the Screenshot ones... The reference book is great and explains a few continuity problems ...I have already spent hours measuring distances and trying to remember the episodes were the various planets were introduced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rather overpriced, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Karl Grosvenor (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library (Hardcover)
This seemed like a good idea at first but when the item finally arrived the quality is inconsistent,for instance the cover is great as is the book,but the maps are very low quality like photographs being printed on non photo paper and they are not well detailed and are too small,had this been half the price it still wouldn't be worth it but I could give it another star,Unfortunately I couldn't return it as I had it sent to a friends I was planning to go to for Christmas and it arrived 3 weeks earlier than expected,but if I could have returned it I would have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library (Hardcover)
can't go wrong with this amazing set of maps. beautiful artwork, beautifully presented, huge volume, an amazing display piece and collectible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trekkie heaven, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library (Hardcover)
Wow a total must for any Trekkie. I bought this for my son and he was totally blown away. Came very quickly and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library (Hardcover)
I've bought this for my Trekki Fiancé and I can't wait to see his face at Christmas there is so much more to it than I thought the maps are big and are so detailed so lots of reading ahead :D and the book in the centre is great again lots of reading ahead I was also surprised by how heavy it is but overall anothe amazing Star Trek gift :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa063f78)

This product

Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library
Star Trek Stellar Cartography: The Starfleet Reference Library by Larry Nemecek (Hardcover - 3 Dec 2013)
46.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews