Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lunatics
The story plot kept you guessing.
Enjoyed the complicated family stories which came clear at end of book.
A great thriller, with suspense and action.
Cannot wait to read the next one.
Published 8 months ago by catherine ann green

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read
A story of murder. People with mental heath issues leading to cruel and unusual punishment , damaged people who seek revenge. The story was page turning but at time there was a lack of depth in the characters, I felt faith the sons were not exposed enough given the nature of their up bringing and Brenda was not always intelligent in her responses. However I did enjoy it...
Published 12 months ago by itsjustme.


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 21 July 2013
A story of murder. People with mental heath issues leading to cruel and unusual punishment , damaged people who seek revenge. The story was page turning but at time there was a lack of depth in the characters, I felt faith the sons were not exposed enough given the nature of their up bringing and Brenda was not always intelligent in her responses. However I did enjoy it and never felt I wanted to not finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lunatics, 3 Nov 2013
The story plot kept you guessing.
Enjoyed the complicated family stories which came clear at end of book.
A great thriller, with suspense and action.
Cannot wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Feb 2014
My sister recommended this book and I can see why really interesting from start to finish really enjoyed would defiantly read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
plenty of twists to keep you guessing. I hadn't read the first book, but didn't at all feel like I missed out, the author explained enough to 'fill you in!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far fetched and ridiculous., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the synopsis of the plot of this book, I thought I was in for a treat. I ignored the warnings from other readers and downloaded it. Well, I finished it; but it's definitely not the best written book I've ever read, and is a very far fetched and implausible story.

Our heroes Special Agent Nick Blackwood, his policeman brother Jake, and TV reporter Brenda team up to solve a spate of murders linked to the Blackwood's father. However, what police force in the world would allow a reporter to tag along to every crime scene, and actually help search it? Or - alone - visit a known criminal psychopath? What prison wouldn't have a guard in the room with them at the very least? And when Brenda underwent surgery and was told by Nick when he visited her in hospital that he had a lead he was going to follow up, she immediately offered to go with him. I was half expecting her to leap from her hospital bed dragging her intravenous drip behind her.

There was also far too much use of the word "that". The victim worked at a security company, and even when Nick and Jake knew the name of it (which escapes me now, I really wasn't all that interested), they continued to call it "that security company". Eg. "I'll visit that security company". "I need to go to that security company." "Have you spoken to that security company?" "I'm going back to that security company." Very sloppy. Drove me mad.

At the end of the book it mentions that Rita Herron is an award winning author. However, based on the naive writing style and rather ridiculous plot, I'm at a bit of a loss to understand what the award could possibly have been for. I shan't be re-visiting Slaughter Creek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one in the series, a great read, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the slaughter creek novels and this is no exception. Right from the first page the storyline is gripping and has the reader wanting more. If you have never read any of Rita Herons books then pick one up.
An amazing thriller writer and I can't wait for the next book, I would recommend reading this if you enjoy Chelsea Cain, karin slaughter or patricia Cornwall you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her dying breath, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It took me days to finish this book it has a brilliant a story the characters had lots of Dept to them which made them very believable. Truly a great read I look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Her dying breath - great bedtime read, 24 Jan 2014
Original story and would make a good film!! Nice twist towards the end, I would recommend to friends for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This 2nd book was even better than the first one which came as a surprise, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed and happy to recommends to all though would advise not for the faint hearted this one really made me feel really agitated and upset and wonder........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellant reading, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
couldn't put this book down with all its twist and turns,read all 3 books in this series can't wait for the new one in april.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Her Dying Breath (A Slaughter Creek Novel)
Her Dying Breath (A Slaughter Creek Novel) by Rita Herron (Paperback - 2 July 2013)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews