Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mugger
This is the second in Ed McBain's 87th Precinct series, featuring a whole squadroom of detective heroes, rather than one particular main character. First published in 1956, it follows on from the first novel Cop Hater (Crime Essentials). Steve Carella is on his honeymoon, having married Teddy at the end of the last book, and this novel features various members of the...
Published 23 months ago by S Riaz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Mugger
Book was too truncated to be acceptable, almost a precise.
Mcbain deserves more than this to qualify as a book read.
Published 9 months ago by ian clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mugger, 19 Sep 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mugger (Paperback)
This is the second in Ed McBain's 87th Precinct series, featuring a whole squadroom of detective heroes, rather than one particular main character. First published in 1956, it follows on from the first novel Cop Hater (Crime Essentials). Steve Carella is on his honeymoon, having married Teddy at the end of the last book, and this novel features various members of the squad, but in particular Hal Willis and patrolman Bert Kling.

Kling was shot in the first novel and is still off work when we meet him again. Bored and at a loose end, he is asked by an old acquaintance to speak to his young sister in law, who he fears is in some kind of trouble. Bert is unwilling to talk to her, but eventually does and also feels something is wrong. Meanwhile, there is a persistent, and violent, mugger causing problems for the detectives of the 87th. The two storylines soon coincide and McBain ties everything together with great skill. I have read this series all the way through and the characters develop as the books progress, but these early novels have a charm of their own. Yes, they are somewhat dated now, but if you are considering reading the series, it is good to start at the beginning and see where these characters started from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 87th Prcinct #2, 12 Mar 2012
By 
Michael Finn (Blackburn, Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mugger (Paperback)
This second book in Ed McBain's police procedural series shines more light on some of the other cops of the 87th Precinct while Steve Carella enjoys his Honeymoon with Teddy. A mugger with a curious MO and a penchant for violence is terrorising the women of Isola. Although Hal Willis is running the case, with help from Roger Havilland and Eileen Burke, the story tends to focus more on Bert Kling, a beat cop recovering from getting shot in the first book. An old friend asks him to talk some sense into a young girl who is acting strangely.
This one isn't quite as hooked on detailing the minutia of policing methods as in some of the other books but rather works on characterisation. And if McBain is still a little too thorough in murdering his metaphors sometimes there's still plenty of good dialogue to entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, well written for the most part, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyable if rather predictable, nowhere near as good as the first story, but still well written. Some things in it irked me somewhat, I knew one of the bad guys well before the end and the female cop in it was brainless, but maybe that was just the way they were portrayed back then. The main problem was her having her gun in her purse when hunting for a mugger, seems obvious to me that her purse would have been the last place to put the gun since he would be going for the purse, but oh well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mugger - Ed McBain, 3 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mugger (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second book in a series of approximately 55 books, spanning from about 1956, but still an excellent read! The books are based on the detectives of the 87th Precinct but the main "player" in this book is Patrolman Bert Kling.
A gripping, but light read which keeps you guessing with it's twists and turns as McBain draws you into his world and keeps you wanting to read more.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MUGGER, 7 Jun 2014
By 
C. Winterburn (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the second book I've read and although like most of these are dated, from the late 50's onwards they still read very well. Fast paced, a moderate amount of violence and plenty of twists to keep me happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a crime you cannot buy tje whole series on a super deal., 16 Mar 2014
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all the 87th Precinct series a high standard of plot and characterisation features again. A Terrific read from page 1 to the end..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second time around, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was introduced to Ed McBain's 87th precinct series by my father, many years ago. I thorougly enjoyed them at the time, and am reading them again as they are available for my Kindle. Great characters, good stories, they got me hooked on crime novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crime buster, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good simple murder story. Fast pace, easy read. My first McBain, I shall read more. Time to find a new title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm working my way through all the Ed McBain books. I have read a few over the years. Not in any order. Looking for a new reading pleasure I thought I'd read these books from the start with 'Cop Hater'. This is book number two. They are easy reads and I think have stood the test of time. I'm looking forward to the next fifty or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the few crime writers I love reading, his 87th precinct stories are all good and believable, the characters all seem human and you can relate to them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mugger (87th Precinct)
The Mugger (87th Precinct) by Ed McBain (Paperback - 12 Mar 2013)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews