Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars60
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2014
I love the Ed McBain 87th precinct novels and bought 20 when tere was a 'special' kindle daily deal.
It is great to follow the same characters in each book, they all take part in stories to a greater or lesser extent except Steve Carella who is a central pin but they all appear often.
I am glad Ed McBain wasn't encouraged to kill him off early in the series.
All the books are good thriller/cop stories/mysteries.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2016
Despite the forensics team, 'putting the case on a plate', Detective Carella follows his gut instinct to pursue this gory and salacious case. Start with the corpse and then work outwards. Carella is part of the ensemble cast (eight police characters appear in the first four pages) which populate the 87th Precinct. It is believed that McBain was the copycatted basis for 'Hill Street Blues' should you want to appreciate the style based on a different media.

Set in the fictional suburb of Isola in New York. Not every cast member is a winner and some of the domestic woes of Officer Kling were tedious. The outcome was a foregone conclusion and revealed a worrying soft spot for the perpetrator. There are thousands of novels in this uneven series, not sure if I'm addicted but many people are junkies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Ed McBain is a good story teller - I haven't yet read any of his books that was anything less than very good. I have not yet finished reading this one and I'm looking forward to seeing how it ends. He manages to introduce a lot of side issues into his stories which are interesting but do not detract from the main theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
and this series is so well written you can read them as often as you like. The 87th precinct is an imaginary police district but the police procedure is timeless . The wife murderer tries lso hard to clue Carella in from the beginning but the confession comes at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
This series of 87th precinct story's is the best I have ever read. I want through them all twenty years ago and now reread them with the same high level of pleasure. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
A clever plot, with believable characters and very amusing asides by the author. The only gripe I have is that the book was too short - a very uncommon feature in modern US writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Good crime thriller and well worth a read. I like the characterization, everybody in it seems real and believable. Looking forward to reading more of the 87th precinct.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This was the first book of the series that I have read and thoroughly enjoyed kept you guessing the whole way through looking forward to reading more from this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
This is a good story, the usual McBain standard, what I like, is, you know the murderer but you have to
go through the book to see it proved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
This is number three of Ed McBain for me. Enjoyed his ability to combine more than one plot in a seamless manner all relative to the story theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.