Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling romance...
It's not made very clear that this is the second book in a series so I had started it before realising but went and bought the first one (Dangerous Waters) to read first, before I got too far into this. Having read them both now I have to say that this one would probably work as a standalone story. I hate starting in the middle of a series so I'm glad I read #1 first...
Published 10 months ago by Me read

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A depressing sign of our times!
A good story that moves along at a cracking pace but, for me, completely ruined by the explicit sex and incessant swearing. The well-worn cliché of modern writing tutors "show, don't tell" should really apply here and a more skilled writer would be able to give us the impression of the grittier, nastier and more intimate events without having to spell it...
Published 7 months ago by oldwoodie


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling romance..., 29 Dec 2013
By 
Me read (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Waters (The Barkley Sound Series Book 2) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's not made very clear that this is the second book in a series so I had started it before realising but went and bought the first one (Dangerous Waters) to read first, before I got too far into this. Having read them both now I have to say that this one would probably work as a standalone story. I hate starting in the middle of a series so I'm glad I read #1 first but not much is missed by starting here and the setting and characters don't lack anything if you haven't read Dangerous Waters.

It's very easy to get pulled into the story because it's so well written and full of suspense and thrills with the love interest growing in tension too as the story progresses. I love a bit of enemies to lovers but Anna and Brent are an unlikely couple and I wasn't that fond of Anna in the beginning. Over the course of things she grew on me though and I enjoyed seeing the two of them grow on each other too.

Nice short chapters means it's easy to set down and pick up again, although there was very little 'setting down' as I wanted to keep turning pages to see where it was all going. It's probably quite predictable if you're used to this genre but I was kept guessing for most of it and really enjoyed seeing it unfold.

It's a romantic thriller and this is a fairly new genre for me. I'm more used to either Romance OR Thriller and wasn't sure how I'd like the two mixed but I was pleasantly surprised and now that I've finished it I actually want to see what comes next and am looking forward to the next one (is there a next one? I hope so).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Romp of a Novel, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dark Waters (The Barkley Sound Series Book 2) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Barkley Sound, also known as `The Graveyard of the Pacific' is the wonderful setting for this race against time novel. Anna Silver's ex con father falls beneath the wheels of a train, having mailed her a whole load of trouble. He is trying to contact her when he dies and his advice is to get Brent Carver to help her. Anna's problem is that Carver is an ex con like her father and trusting him after all that has happened in her life is very difficult.

Anna has to give up on the safe and sensible life which she has built herself as a single schoolteacher with a nice home to brave the dark waters of Barkley Sound. Anna wants desperately to solve the mystery of her father's death but his legacy, both to her and his ex wife, her mother, makes them both question decisions which were made twenty years earlier and finding them wanting.

This is a great romp of a novel. The story line is pacey and the stakes are high, but the author's real skill is in the drawing of the various characters who populate this tale and the knowledge that peace, quiet and acquiescence is sometimes obtained at too heavy a price. I enjoyed this novel intensely but if I had a criticism, I would say that the author tries just a bit too hard to tie up all the loose ends at the end of the book - people conveniently die and many roads all conveniently lead to one destination. However, good for all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A depressing sign of our times!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
oldwoodie (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story that moves along at a cracking pace but, for me, completely ruined by the explicit sex and incessant swearing. The well-worn cliché of modern writing tutors "show, don't tell" should really apply here and a more skilled writer would be able to give us the impression of the grittier, nastier and more intimate events without having to spell it all out. So, I'm afraid that I shall be avoiding this author in future and looking for those who can buck this current fad for bad language and pornographic detail, allowing me to use my own imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic Thriller, 10 Aug 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Account manager Davis Silver suddenly realises a charity for injured soldiers is an undercover operation for illegal mercenary activities that may implicate him. He transfers $60,000,000 to close down their operation in a split-second decision, sending details of his discovery by mail to his daughter Anna along with a mobile phone message but where exactly he has sent the envelope is for Anna to find and deliver to the police. Davis asks Anna to seek out his trusted friend and ex-cell-mate Brent Carver, a successful and wealthy painter, a loner, out on parole. Davis dies shortly after the messages have been sent.

Anna and Brett seem incompatible on the surface but both have hidden pasts that have affected their emotions and behaviour. Together they set off in pursuit of her father's posted information. They are hotly and ruthlessly hunted by the gang whose money has evaporated and are prepared to retrieve Anna and the incriminating evidence by any means.

With the introduction of characters important to the plot with it's surprises and turns, Toni Anderson develops the narrative through an action packed story. The romantic elements are graphically described and inevitable. The chase is not just between the rivals for the vital mail but also the protagonists. The suspense is maintained throughout with the quirky relationship between Brett and Anna who are well-developed and strong characters (to say the least) but also the relationships between their respective families. The skeletons in the closet are revealed as the author pulls everything together with surprising revelations. An entertaining and absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy good thriller books with a bit of romance which are set in descriptive settings allowing my imagination to thrive! Which this book has being set in Canada and USA. The two main characters are strong and well written, you feel you really get to know them through the story. The supporting characters help the plot evolve and contribute to a fast paced story in between getting to know the main ones. It has the right amount of romance to push that button, however, this does effect the book's plot by taking up too many pages of too much in-depth sex scenes. This is my second book from the author and I have just down loaded a third. A good book for a weekend read or for holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story lost, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Over elaborated the sex scenes . Good story line got lost at times in these bits. Appeared that the main story was the seduction and not the chase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars American crime story, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it too foul-mouthed and full of hackneyed situations and lost interest, to be brutally honest ( as opposed to just brutal).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dark Waters is a reasonably paced reasonably written crime novel which generally maintains momentum, keeping the reader interested. Character development is not brilliant but maybe good enough for the plot.
My primary gripe is with Ann’s almost fatal fascination with Brent’s body. Her drooling and swooning go on for page after page after page. The author must use the entire lexicon of words and phrases for lust, each more than once. I was wondering if she had an issue with her mailman, car mechanic or yoga teacher…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly gripping!, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Bean15 (Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like many others I purchase books from authors I love and occasionally trawl through the best sellers and recommended books to try something else. I choose this book by doing the latter so my expectations weren't too high as I find purchasing an unknown (to me) author, can be hit and miss.

I very much enjoyed this book and thought it had a good flow and variance of pace. Like the previous reviewer I hadn't realised this was #2 but I probably won't go back and read book 1 as I found it worked nicely as a stand-alone. I have come back for more and will shortly be looking for other books in the series.

The actual plot line plays second fiddle to the relationship between the two key characters. I notice some poor reviews have found the sex too hot to handle and I can understand that, but I don't think this detracts from the suspense of a surprisingly well written and "unable to put down" book. Great writing, great pace, full of suspence and gripping - just what I would expect from a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars between a 3 and a 4, but not a bad read at all., 10 Aug 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first book I have read by this author and although it might have helped if I had read Dangerous Waters first, it wasn't all that important, as anything that I needed to know about the characters from that book was explained enough here.

It is a story billed as "romantic suspense" although I would call it more a thriller with a lot of lusty passion. The story itself is good, a lot of action and drama as we follow Anna and Brent on their mission to solve the mystery of Anna's father's death and to find out exactly what he did with the $60 million dodgy money that he syphoned away minutes before he died, before the culprits get to Anna herself. I did feel the story dragged a tad during the middle section of the book but it did pick up pace again towards the end, which was action packed and which tied up all the loose ends nicely.

On the whole I really enjoyed the read although I did find some parts of it a bit silly - I found it a tiny bit hard to reconcile the complete turn around in such a short time of Anna from being sexually repressed as a result of a horrible experience in her past to rampant sex goddess all because of one man - even if he did have abs to die for! The other thing that bothered me - for a lot of the story they are looking for the evidence of where the $60 million is - and when we do eventually find out where that evidence is hidden (not the money, the evidence) - the answer should have been immediately obvious to Anna.

On the whole though, this is not a bad read at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Waters (The Barkley Sound Series Book 2)
Dark Waters (The Barkley Sound Series Book 2) by Toni Anderson (Paperback - 6 Aug 2013)
£7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews