Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Talent TV shows dissected without anaesthetic
In this short book the author savages the unpleasant and disingenuous aspects of the world of the TV talent show and its fondness for an Orwellian arrangement of Reality. The presentation of the book itself sets the tone of Not All You See is What It Seems. Penned by `Anoymous' because of whose feathery egos might be incensed you wonder is this (a) A commentary by a...
Published 20 months ago by Ghostgrey51

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not easy reading
was ok and read all the way through but a bit slow alot of the time!!
was not easy reading.
Published 15 months ago by marilyn smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reality Talent TV shows dissected without anaesthetic, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elimination Night: A Novel (UK Edition) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In this short book the author savages the unpleasant and disingenuous aspects of the world of the TV talent show and its fondness for an Orwellian arrangement of Reality. The presentation of the book itself sets the tone of Not All You See is What It Seems. Penned by `Anoymous' because of whose feathery egos might be incensed you wonder is this (a) A commentary by a disgruntled and very miffed ex-assistant producer like the central character (b) A wry view by someone still within the industry (c) A journalist with inside information (d) Simply someone who does not like this whole tv circus or (e) A cunningly duplicitous introduction by an author who is none of the aforementioned. What or whoever the book works quite well.
It starts with a Devil Wear Prada baseline of a young woman with higher intention and taking this job in the show Project Icon as a means to earning enough money to follow her dreams, who is worked like a dog for little pay having her artistic spirit and her integrity gradually sucked dry. Her role to try and ensure the celebrity judges and the more promising contestant fodder is where it ought to be at any given time while having abuse heaped on her from all directions. To indicate this the central character Sasha is known to all and sundry as Bill as that was the name of her previous boss and it's easier for senior management to remember that than adapt to her real name.
The reader can have great fun working out who the characters are based on. Ex-judge and horrid personality Nigel Crowther, frighteningly uncaring host Wayne Shoreline, new judges super-diva Bibi Vasquez and rock-legend train wreck Joey Lovecraft. Then there are the executives, agents and advisors (and a Media Moghul, in this case... from South Africa); if these vile, egotistical and foul folk were in a bus which drove off a cliff the only one you would care would be the driver. In addition appear the contestants, none of whom have a hope of keeping their heads above this maelstrom; some are inadvertently comic, others interesting a few have talent, all are disposable.
To be honest I didn't laugh nor find the premise all that funny, then I don't watch these shows, but that's just me. Human nature being what it is it's a safe bet there will be readers who will find the outrageous situations which arise very funny, others will nod in grim satisfaction that this was how they imagined it and others just intrigued at the duplicity and manipulative world portrayed. You bring to this book what you will and take out of it what you fancy. It is certainly a swift and entertaining read the various twists, turns and shocks arising out of ratings battles, star egos and cynical handling of contestants holds the reader's attention as just what is going to happen next and will show survive it's ratings war?
Although plenty to read about I did not real engage with any of the characters, I did not worry or care too much about Sasha/Bill who is more of a `gonzo' commentator than a central person; the only one that truly comes alive is Joey Lovecraft who lurches in all directions back and forth from outrageous, to funny, to pathetic and to sympathetic. From my perspective the true character was the show itself Project Icon which absorbs everyone and everything that comes near it.
All that said I did enjoy the read as an entertaining and arresting tale, I think you could from any genre and have the same experience, taking this book as a commentary on the lengths human nature can be warped by chasing fame and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elimination Night- Anonymous, 3 Dec 2012
By 
R. Gardner "Corriebob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elimination Night: A Novel (UK Edition) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I really wondered what I had received in a book as I don't watch talent shows on TV or similar programmes. And that is what this about. A lady who worked in the American version tells about her time in the production team, relating lots of back ground material, how they manipulate the contestants to make it more interesting, but more so the egos of the leading figures and those about them. It makes for fascinating reading with good humor. At various points you will wonder why anyone watches these programmes and even more why anyone would want to enter any of them.
I must say that I thought in the first few lines this is more a female book, but soon found that I was wrong, being a mere mortal male and not a TV addict I still enjoyed it. Good story, well written, good pace and hugely enjoyable.... Recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Jokey X-Factor, 9 May 2013
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elimination Night: A Novel (UK Edition) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So this book is written by Anonymous, the reason being given on the back cover, that the book is "so hilariously accurate about the inner workings of the talent show machine that it had to be written anonymously". And the book does seem like it could be accurate about that sort of stuff, although around that the book isn't too serious as it is all built around the laughs.

The story focuses on Sasha King. Her boyfriend is off in Hawaii concentrating on his "surfing career" whilst she is in LA earning enough money to follow him over, but also to allow herself time to write her Novel of Immense Profundity.

Sasha works on the production side of "Project Icon", an X-Factor/Pop Idol show. They are starting their 13th season and star judge-based-on-Simon-Cowell Nigel Crowther has quit to set up a different, rival reality show.

The pressure is on.

First a new panel of judges needs to be found, which is easier said than done (funny bios, all sorts of negotiating etc.). They arrive at three, although they don't exactly click. The auditions takes place but ratings for the series are down which carries consequences. "They're giving us one episode. No ratings, no more show. Our elimination night."

Luckily the controlling company gets into trouble over a rigged-bingo show so "the ratings of a televised singing competition were no longer at the top of Big Corp's agenda."

Along the way Sasha finds herself too.

The book is all for the laughs, the happenings are outlandish although there is a believable element to the details underlining everything. The book did get rushed at the end though and maybe a joke or two were repeated but overall an enjoyable read, and I'll be looking out to see what Anonymous does next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not easy reading, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elimination Night (Kindle Edition)
was ok and read all the way through but a bit slow alot of the time!!
was not easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fluffy boredom, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. Felicia Davis-burden (Staines, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elimination Night: A Novel (UK Edition) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm always willing to read a book that takes the rise out of the unbelievably shallow world of celebrities, but I'm afraid I got so bored with the fluffiness of this novel that I couldn't finish it. I'm wondering if the 'Anonymous' author keeps a DVD labelled 'Nefarious Names and Daft Details', into which he or she taps to inject a little giggle into the proceedings. I'm also wondering if the author's identity is along the lines of Perez Hilton (whoever that is anyway), because almost every character is a fictionalised version of J-Lo, Diddy, Mariah, Snoop - fictional characters in this life anyway. All this story seems to be is a link-up of as many caricatures as a daily diet of Heat Magazine or MTV can imprint in a person's mind. I'm sorry, but this really stopped amusing me before the third chapter. Needs more irony and acid, perhaps some real Heat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I was hooked!, 8 May 2014
By 
Kim Wills (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elimination Night (Kindle Edition)
Probably not far from the truth, very enjoyable, and an easy read. I was hooked. Would recommend it. Escapism just right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elimination Night (Kindle Edition)
Can't imagine who would find anything worthwhile in this book.
Did not finish it by a long way
Found nothing to interest me.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for fans of x-factor, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elimination Night: A Novel (UK Edition) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A fun novel from the perspective of a lowly runner on an x-factor style American tv show, coping with an absent boyfriend, evil boss and diva-esque celebrities.

This is a light hearted read with lots of juicy nuggets about how these shows are really put together! An enjoyable beach read - not too heavy going or serious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Tripe!!!!!, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elimination Night (Kindle Edition)
No wonder this book was found in a skip with no author's name attached. I am embarrassed to own up to having read most of it.
Lord knows how the "author" feels. An example of all that is worst with our "celebrity" obsessed society, where an complete nobody
catches the imagination of the troglodytes that can barely string two words together without an obscenity in the middle.
AVOID THIS BOOK!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not an expensive book but very entertaining., 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elimination Night (Kindle Edition)
I found this very interesting and entertaining. It is a bit of a spoof on big brother and reminds me of Ben Eltons Dead Famous which is one of my favourites. Great entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elimination Night: A  Novel (UK Edition)
Elimination Night: A Novel (UK Edition) by Anonymous (Paperback - 8 Jan 2013)
7.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews