Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK Edition? Really?
The book itself is very, very good. It's well written, and there's enough advice and challenges to keep you reading (and cooking!). HOWEVER, this book despite being labelled as 'UK Edition' is written for the USA market. Courgettes are still Zucchinnis, Aubergines are Eggplants etc. One of the big selling points of the book is that you don't have to spend a fortune to get...
Published 19 months ago by MisterGaz

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some interesting information, recipes disappointing
Overall, I'm glad I bought this book (though wish I hadn't got the kindle version as it's first and foremost a recipe book!) as I learned some new things from it I probably wouldn't have picked up elsewhere. However I don't really think it lives up to the claims that it makes and my experience of the recipes was disappointing.

The book consists of five...
Published 15 months ago by Juliette


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, beautiful book!, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
I ordered this book having read the 4 hour body and expected something similar. But this book isn't similar to any other book I've read. First of all, you have the quality of the book itself. Plenty of beautiful, fun pictures, decent quality pages etc. I was surprised to see that the hardcover, when you remove the sleeve, has the exact same cover as the sleeve itself. However, most people don't buy books for the pictures, and let me assure you this book doesn't disappoint. The book is logical and the recipes seem easy to begin with. I didn't think that within a day of reading it I would be preparing a meal involving lamb shanks!

But one of the best things about this book is that it isn't just a cookbook. In my initial flick through, I learnt how to capture a pigeon in a park, the principles behind learning Spanish (or any other language), and how to memorise a deck of cards in a minute. Not yo' mama's cookbook!

I would definitely recommend this book. If there are any drawbacks whatsoever it might be that Tim's average audience earns an above average salary, and so to do everything as recommended you have to be willing to spend a few quid here and there.

Other than that, as I say, the book gets top marks for both content and presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The only person eating well from this book is Ferriss himself who splurges his earnings at the finest restaurants in California, 24 July 2014
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
There's no real shortcuts in cooking and no miracles here. The recipes are bland, inaccurate and mostly disappointing. Spend your money on a book by someone who actually understands food, not a self help 'guru'. The only person eating well from this book is Ferriss himself who splurges his earnings at the finest restaurants in California with his investor mates I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real dissapointment, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
While not worthless, the book is a HUGE disappointment.

Despite claims of structuring it for a beginning cook, it's anything but - it's illogical in structure, overblown with pointless and useless bits and severely lacking a lot of stuff which would be useful for a beginning cook.

Instead it teaches you to tie knots or prepare a pigeon you caught and bred yourself. Prepare it by hand, as in de-skin it without a knife. It gives you a review of guns. GUNS. In a cookbook.

Seriously, browse it in a bookstore, review for bits you might find interesting, then put it away and never come back to it. It's not worth your money or your time. Buy a Nigela Lawson book instead - far better for begining cooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it in the hotel with a good bottle of wine., 21 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. P. G. Chesters (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
My experience of this book is like meeting an interesting stranger in a hotel restaurant and sharing a meal and drinks and a cognac in the bar with him.

At first you find him very interesting - he has a wide knowledge on a variety of things, learning, languages, cooking:

Some of the stuff you know about or had similar experiences so it validates what you are saying; some of the stuff you think from your own experience - that's not true, or that won't work, but you don't say anything even if you violent disagree with it. Some of it is of no relevance to you and you find boring. But some of it is interesting and you think I'll note that down and follow it up

And then you think "OMG the guys a psychopath" when he starts talking about killing and skinning rabbits, swinging chickens to break their necks etc.

And then you think "OMG this guy is going to go on for ever and ever".

Some of the things I'll follow up
splitting cooking into prep and pick up
whisking the wine with a hand-blender to aerate it
The lemon squeezer
using herbs in my omlettes
change in the way I'll poach eggs
slight change in the way that I do omelettes (from the Jamie Oliver method)
killing lobsters (when I feel rich).
Buying the Perfect pickler set to make sauerkraut (which I already make)
Putting herbs and spices into water to get a feel for them

Some of the things I disagree with
learning Knife skills is difficult - Norman Weinstein book/DVD Mastering Knife skills make it easy.
You can get around with the most used 200 words of English or any language. In the list of 100 words you won't find coffee.
The graph showing his speed in learning languages doesn't prove his system works. Its well recognized that Spanish is far easier to learn (particular in California) than Japanese and even without formalising a system you would have learnt something with each new language. Now if he had taken a year to learn Spanish, which is the easiest language to learn according to the FSI, and then 8 weeks to learn Japanese (the hardest language) then that would have been impressive

Some of the things not too convinced
You need a Dutch oven - surely it is cheaper (at least in the UK) to use a slow cooker.

Some of the things that didn't interest me (living in Eastbourne)
Remington rifle
killing bears with a bow and arrow
killing chickens
skinning rabbits
making nitrogen ice cream

If Tim really intended to write a book about how to learn a new skill or how to cook, he's failed miserably. As an entertaining evening in a hotel room with a few glasses of wine it works magnificently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful work., 16 Jun 2014
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
This book has helped me to get much better at cooking and just more confident in the kitchen. Just the fact that I can chop onions without looking at 300 rpm was worth the price. My sauerkraut and scrambled eggs are a work of art. Thanks to Tim! Good work and in my opinion this book motivates and inspires to be better, or at least different in tackling everyday challenges! Would give 6 stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tim is excelent, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
Tim Ferris books are amazing, you not only learn how to cook, but how to learn new languages, how to learn anything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haven't finished reading it yet but so far so good as expected from Tim, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Big fan of Tim's strategies and life hacks.
My wife's an excellent cook and wanted to learn some tips and trick myself now we can cook together and I can hold my own around the kitchen.
Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT in depth look at learning acceleration, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
This book, (and all Tim's books) are a really good read. Something your gonna want to read over and over again
The amount of information is just incredible.

The pictures are really helpful, I also listened to the audio version, but the pics are very important, so definitely get the BOOK.
YOU WONT REGRET !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a cookbook that appeals to men, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
Finally, a cookbook that appeals to men. Tim Ferris is like Jason Bourne crossed with Delia Smith.
There is no other cookbook written in this format. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for aspiring chefs and non-chefs alike, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4-Hour Chef: The Simple Path to Cooking Like a Pro, Learning Anything, and Living the Good Life (Official UK Edition) (Paperback)
Very informative book covering a wide range of topics. The cooking stuff is great, but the guide to meta-learning could be life-changing. Even if you're not particularly into cooking, it's worth reading as a reference. The survival stuff was particularly enlightening - it reminds you of how fragile 'civilised' human life can be once our home comforts of shelter, food and water are taken away. A worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews