Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love football....
...You must read this! An absolute fantastic read, and a must read for all football fans, especially those that travel the length and breadth of the country for their team. I couldn't put it down, read it one go and as such, had to read it again, so I guess you could say I read it twice in two go's!
Published on 4 July 2012 by mandre02

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor book
Nothing about the game it's all about drinking. Not my idea of going to a match and I've been to nearly 2000 at around 150 grounds
Published 14 months ago by Alan Sykes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love football...., 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
...You must read this! An absolute fantastic read, and a must read for all football fans, especially those that travel the length and breadth of the country for their team. I couldn't put it down, read it one go and as such, had to read it again, so I guess you could say I read it twice in two go's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a goal!!!, 27 July 2012
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
Stories from around the world of football, recounting those long and sometimes painful away trips, missed kick offs, floodlight failures and even Torquay's ridiculous ban on away fans. Written by the fans, the author has put together a fine collection of stories. Looking forward to book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
Nothing about the game it's all about drinking. Not my idea of going to a match and I've been to nearly 2000 at around 150 grounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Present, 3 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
Brought this as a Christmas present for my dad, we are both season ticket holders, and he loves it. We have been to many away games around the Country, and seen many wierd things like the stories in this book. A fantastic, and recommended, book for any football fan (young or old).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The awayend, 17 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
Excellent read true football fans funny in parts would recommend this book to all football fans who I am sure will love it.:):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Written by supporters for supporters, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
Gary Gorman (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Kindle Edition)
In an age of football gentrification, prawn sandwiches and 'family stands' it's great to read about real life supporters (let's be truthful here) 'bizarre' ways of following their team.

Dean has included stories of fans going to the wrong ground, of floodlight failures, of hangovers from hell, of a 'bit of bovver', of finding Sir Matt Busby in a toilet, of The Queen Mother and of Colin Bell.

This book is for anyone who has ever kept up to speed with the score by sitting in front of a slow moving Teletext page. Be warned though it's not suitable for anyone who calls the beautiful game 'soccer'.

This is a proper football book.....written by supporters for supporters. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The away end, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
Some funny stories in this book that makes all football fans smile as they remember their own funny stories at an away match
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth a read for a chuckle and for the fellowship of footy, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
funny anecdotal stories from avid footy fans and their memories of getting to the footy games. well worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read !, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Kindle Edition)
Some really good stories here and not at a bad price either being a football fan is not merely going to watch your team but the whole day that surrounds it and of the course the memories. That's what the book is about really could be a bit longer but looking forward to the next one when it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dentist waiting room table stuff, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Away End (Paperback)
This really is dentist's waiting room table stuff. Little more than lightweight fluff, detailing a few mildly humourous incidents rather than away-day experiences from start to finish. Even though the stories are left in their original format for supposed realism, they simply come across as badly written, shallow, and with a number of grammatical errors (even from the editor!), just giving it an amateurish feel.

There are a few interesting anecdotes in there, but they are far too few. A number of the 'stories' consist of barely one or two paragraphs. One comprises someone's auntie mistaking Colin Bell when she served him in her shop. Another merely describes how a fan got his leg caught in a railing on the way to a game and won't do that again. Another bumped into Dave Spikey [from Phoenix Nights] in a match day bar before a game. A Burnley fan relates to a 'great day out' and a nightmare six and a half hour journey yet doesn't describe it whatsoever. There's a story of how a wheelchair user had to spend a night in a toilet trying to keep warm that is a grand total of just two sentences. The list goes on... The book is littered with this sort of stuff. Come on, most of these aren't what you could ever call 'stories'.

There are many 'real football fans' type of books around. This isn't one, it is lowest common denominator stuff. Real football books have depth to their writing. This hasn't. It could, and should, have been so much more, as the premise is there - get 91 other 'stories' from fans of clubs other than Chesterfield, plus your own story....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Away End
The Away End by Dean Mansell (Paperback - 15 Jun. 2012)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews