Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arch Linux Handbook - Kindle version reading on Nexus 7 Kindle Reader
With the Kindle version and reading it on Nexus 7 with latest Kindle app, most of the hilighted text are jumbled up. For example, on page 27 Chapter on Installation, the first of text is:

"access the Internet through an HTTP and/or

network interface, you..."

Essentially, it appears wherever there are highlighted text the formatting has...
Published on 1 Oct. 2012 by Kenny

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the online sources
While I am familiar with several linux operating system, Arch is a real challenge to the non-computer specialist with a steep learning curve just to get it installed. Frankly, this book adds little to guides that can be found by googling 'Arch' and 'install'. It also stops well short of a detailing a GUI setup which I suspect most Arch users will want at some point.
Published 13 months ago by R. T. Boakes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arch Linux Handbook - Kindle version reading on Nexus 7 Kindle Reader, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With the Kindle version and reading it on Nexus 7 with latest Kindle app, most of the hilighted text are jumbled up. For example, on page 27 Chapter on Installation, the first of text is:

"access the Internet through an HTTP and/or

network interface, you..."

Essentially, it appears wherever there are highlighted text the formatting has gone astray.

So, for the Kindle version, this get a low mark.

25 October 2012: Update.
With the updated Kindle Reader (3.7.0.108) on the Android Nexus 7 the text and layout are now formatted corrected. Updated rating to reflect this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the online sources, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
R. T. Boakes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I am familiar with several linux operating system, Arch is a real challenge to the non-computer specialist with a steep learning curve just to get it installed. Frankly, this book adds little to guides that can be found by googling 'Arch' and 'install'. It also stops well short of a detailing a GUI setup which I suspect most Arch users will want at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best handbooks for Arch Linux, 9 Sept. 2012
By 
Kevin Leake - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arch Linux Handbook 3.0: A Simple, Lightweight Survival Guide (Paperback)
This has to be one of the best handbooks for Arch Linux in print today. I have found it quite difficult to find any other book about Arch Linux, unless you get a book about Linux in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best product from Arch Linux., 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arch Linux Handbook 3.0: A Simple, Lightweight Survival Guide (Paperback)
This handbook helped me with a lot of tasks that I couldn't reach even from internet. It's not like the bigest book that you could imagine but the informations in it are precious. Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Raspberry Pi, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arch Linux Handbook 3.0: A Simple, Lightweight Survival Guide (Paperback)
Thought I would try this as information on Arch Linux on Raspberry Pi appears to be very scarce. This might be because Arch Linux keep changing the terms/names used in Raspberry Pi distro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arch Linux Handbook 3.0: A Simple, Lightweight Survival Guide
Arch Linux Handbook 3.0: A Simple, Lightweight Survival Guide by Dusty Phillips (Paperback - 31 July 2012)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews