Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars122
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2014
From the first chapter of Loyalty Matt Lewis brought to life the refreshingly-complex characters not only of Richard III but also Edward IV, George Duke of Clarence, and Thomas More. As the period has become more 'fashionable' in recent years amongst authors I was wary of venturing into yet another Wars of the Roses-themed novel; however, I was amazed to find inspiration and clever interpretation of historical events which left me not only hurriedly downloading the sequel, Honour, but also imagining the possibility of the events within actually having taken place as Lewis suggests. Loyalty is a clever and engaging tale which brings to life the events of the end of Plantaganet rule.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I have only read a quarter of this Kindle edition and am already exasperated and disillusioned, due to the copious number of incorrectly spelt words and grammatical errors.Worst of all however are the three large paragraphs, (so far) obviously "cut and pasted" without any care to the fact that the end result makes no sense whatsoever. This slapdash carelessness smacks of total lack of respect to paying customers and is in my opinion, quite appalling as there cannot of been any proof reading of this version and no regard given to providing quality. I'm sorry to say that this is becoming an unwelcome feature of Kindle if my last downloads are any example.
I doubt I will be able to persevere with "Loyalty" despite the subject matter being a favourite of mine and I feel cheated and quite honestly would like my money back!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
I thought this an interesting but so badly written as to be very irritating to read, and I couldn't finish it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
I have to declare an interest here. I’m in the process of writing an alternative history novel – the starting point being that Richard III is victorious at Bosworth – and the story explores what his post-Bosworth reign might have been like. Matthew Lewis’s narrative of Richard's life and death is beautifully done; remarkably well-written, very moving, and, in my opinion captures a highly credible characterisation of the man as deeply honest, pius, insecure, impulsive, and prone to sudden anger that just as quickly burns out, leaving him ashamed and repentant of his loss of control. A man with an appetite for risk-taking; one who never expected to be king and found the role and function frustrating and foreign to his nature. It is also very much in character that to an unusual degree for a late fifteenth-century man he loved, respected, and worked closely with his wife. Importantly, the author also brings out Richard’s lack of political 'nous', which reflect the honesty and piety, but without which no monarch, even a constitutional one today, can hope to be successful and even more so for a medieval king. We see a man deeply loyal and affectionate to a very small group of friends who return his love and loyalty - the archetypal introvert - but who fails to understand the needs of, or to attract and commend himself to the wider circle of those he needs as allies and co-operators. In this novel, as in a second, Honour, the author blends two distinct plots – in Loyalty, how Richard became king and what the consequences were, and the possibility that Thomas More's household held the secret of what became of one, or maybe both, of Edward IV's male children. While this is itself a fascinating double-helix tale and each element is told as well as the other - for me as a reader, the double plot creates problems. I found the idea unbelievable that More would have told this version of Richard's story to Holbein as a fireside narrative and the scenario shifts to More's study felt like interruptions. Both stories need telling but perhaps there are actually two books here, not one. Having made this observation about the structure, I find this second plot completely credible. More was 'apprenticed' to Morton for several years, and that man would have known better than anyone what really happened to the two boys and would have boasted of how he had created the myth of the 'wicked uncle'. It also opens the possibility that Henry VII, though married to their sister, did not know of the continued existence of the two boys in England, nor that Perkin Warbeck was indeed a 'fake'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
This book is a good read but the author could finish this book without the last chapter where the supposition of Dr. John Clement was the son of Richard of York. After the White Queen, the writers are boarding on all the type of conspiracy theories without enough evidences!
It’s also interesting the title of this book! Although King Richard III wanted loyalty of his subjects, the same we can’t say about him towards his nephew Edward V and to his bother after his death. The Edward IV’s pre-contract evidence was very weak to make his children illegitimate! If it was true, it was only a pre-contract and then the King could broke it at any time. Richard III had a very clear project of power and taking the crown to himself. He eliminated his supposed enemies without a fair trial (Earl’s River, Sir Richard Grey, Sir Vaughan and Lord Hastings) to make it his overthrow easier. The Woodvilles weren’t a real threat. Their alleged ambitions for power and wealth weren’t the level insinuated. They didn’t get rich!!!
As the Tudors, Richard III used very well the propaganda. As Henry Tudor, he was also a usurper as Edward IV was too. The Plantagenet family had a long history of betrayals between them due to their personal ambitions.
We may never know exactly what happened to Edward V and Richard of York, but it is likely that they were murdered in 1483. If so, Richard III must be held culpable because he was the reigning King and was responsible for their welfare. In my opinion, the only argument is how culpable he was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Interesting book, received fast thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
The tale of Richard III is told well and the reader is left hanging until the end of the book to find out why Sir Thomas More is telling it to Hans Holbein. Yet another theory about the Princes in the Tower! However, in the Kindle edition the editing seems to be somewhat poor - the misuse of "loose" for "lose" and "starred" for "stared" occurs throughout the book, bringing the reader up short, and I am not sure that all the historical details are thoroughly researched (I believe that it was Henry VIII who was the first king to be addressed as "Your Majesty"). I would add that the theory of the fate of the Princes in the Tower seems somewhat superfluous to the main tale about Richard himself and the supposition that such a busy person as Sir Thomas More would spend an entire day recounting the tale to the artist is rather far-fetched.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
Very enlightening and moving. A splendid read that left me sad for the bad reputation Richard the third has had for 500 +years. If only we really knew that whole truth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Interesting take on the historical story of Richard III, but it felt contrived and "written", rather than flowing freely as the story unfolded.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
An interesting and captivating novel. Transports you into the medieval world of York and Lancaster. Thoroughly enjoyable for history lovers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.