Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic find on Kindle
I downloaded this as a Kindle freebie and whilst I might have otherwise passed it by, with hindsight I would definitely pay for this book.
The author has managed to cover a wide-ranging topic in a well structured way. In general it is presented chronologically; detailing the internal and external decisions that impacted on the company that was formed by the merger...
Published 24 months ago by Clare Topping

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly frustrating...
The author clearly knows his subject, and has researched well, and included many useful snippets of interviews and first hand accounts; for that, it's a useful book.
Sadly, the layout, erratic timeline and sometimes I suspect, poor editing, let the side down. It is a complicated subject being covered here, but even so, the unfocussed nature of much of the book, makes...
Published 19 months ago by CreepingJesus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars so sad as BMC/BL had so many near misses, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Donna lloyd (LLANELLI, Dyfed, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
This book is incredibly well written, if you wonder why our car industry failed, the answers are in this. The writers knowledge is probably unrivalled, so sad as BMC/BL had so many near misses, things could have been very different, but hard to see it at the time as the animal seemed so big. With proper QC, a great management structure, awareness of cost control, less blinkered vision and crucially much more r+d the Allegro could have been a competitor to the Golf, the TR7 could have been good and the deserved humour would have been misguided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
very good would use this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read em and Weep !, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Duncurin (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
This book is almost an allegory of the British car industry itself. Its large format, glossy cover, which looks great at first glance, belies some pretty poor editing and dreadful page formatting within. Paragraph spacing is denoted by a blank line; the page numbers have no mirroring, and I dread to think what they've done with the margins. I see this is published by Amazon, and they are going to have to do better than this if they are going to become a force within publishing, as is clearly their intention.
This being said, the text itself is simply amazing in parts and mostly it's a wonderful read with an array of information that is informative, impactful and at times distressing for those, like me, who have always bought British cars - until they disappeared. I would have liked more pictures, in colour if possible, and certainly much larger than the postage-stamp-sized ones that one has to squint at in order to recognise. There is quite a lot of repetition and at times the text duplicates what has already been discussed either a bit further along, or in another section.
All in all, however, people like me, of a certain age who grew up with what I considered to be amazing cars will be able to see the wonder contained within the book's pages. For sure, many errors were made by management, by politicians and by bloody-minded unions; who must have surely assumed that the business was too big to fail. Notwithstanding all this, though, were some simply amazing engineers creating world-beating ideas and products that had they had the resources and the investment and more co-operation would still be leading the field today.
The irony is that their worth has now been unequivocally recognised by the Indians and the Japanese and even the Germans who have harnessed England's workers' creativity - after no doubt stripping many of our ideas out and surpassing them - to once again build world-beating cars. It's a good read; with proper formatting, editing, decent pictures - it could even have been a great one !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 25 April 2014
By 
L. M. Vernon (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really interesting book about a fascinating subject. Only slightly let down by the relatively few pictures, but still a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Insight but a little repetitive, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
This book gives an excellent insight into the tribulations of British Leyland from its inception in 1968 up until nationalisation ten years later. There is lots of detail and inside knowledge from the author; I've got lots of car books covering this period but still found out plenty that I didn't know. Don't expect to find out much about the features of particular models, that's not the point of this book, but you'll learn about why Leyland did what they did when they did and why they were almost destined to fail from the start.
Two caveats: Despite what it says, there are no illustrations, only small icon sized pictures at the start of each chapter. And the author does repeat himself an awful lot. In particular, the last few chapters are really unnecessary as they just restate what has previously been said. But overall, a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absorbing, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have an interest in British Leyland this book is an interesting read. Some of the decisions made by Managment and Unions seem absolutely daft with hindsight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Sad Story., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
This is a very good book it tells the story of the failure of a once great British car manufacturer. When looking back it is easy to blame management for the decline of Leyland, but when you look at the lunacy of Union Leaders you get an insight into the pressures these people had to deal with. An explanation of social history that has effected most people. A book that is wonderful to read if ultimately very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good on Products, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
A satisfactory account of what happened. Strong on individual products. Perhaps too much influence ascribed to external influences (Government policies, currency etc) rather than management that was inadequate for the first nine years when the real failure, from which recovery was near-impossible, occurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was recommended by a friend and glad I looked it up and purchased. Reminded me of how the motor industry was and really shows how we have moved on in quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book - had to read it from cover to cover as so interesting...., 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. (Paperback)
This is a must for anyone who remembers the 1970's and has an interest in the cars and the politics of that era........it also covers the 60's and the history of what happened to BL up until the demise of the Rover Group very recently but most of the detail is about the turbulent 70's as the title suggests..........so many interesting facts and figures presented in a year by year basis and also by significant make and model and indeed with some in depth analysis on competitors such as Ford, Vauxhall and the importers........honestly, just buy the book you will not be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978.
British Leyland: Chronicle of a Car Crash 1968-1978. by Chris Cowin (Paperback - 12 Jun 2012)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews