Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your family back on track : )
Fact - we all love our children but wonder what on earth has got into them and why have they suddenly changed so much and are disagreeable, arguementative and non-communicative now they have become a teen. This book helps you to understand what is going on with your teen and gives numerous exercises and lots of tips to guide you through the most challenging of times. A...
Published on 24 Jun. 2012 by J. Missoni

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Patronising rubbish!- couldn't give no stars.
Do not buy this book! I'm usually a calm easy going person but this book made me cross!- It is THE most patronising book I have EVER read.- " spend a day saying yes" "what did it feel like" are two quotes - everyone that I know who has teens tries to say yes and negotiates with their child, that's the easy bit . The author clearly has no idea of a what it's like to live...
Published 10 months ago by summer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get your family back on track : ), 24 Jun. 2012
By 
J. Missoni (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Teen Years - Don't Get Mad - Get Through It: Get Through- A parent's guide to surviving the teenage years without tearing your hair out.....: 1 (Paperback)
Fact - we all love our children but wonder what on earth has got into them and why have they suddenly changed so much and are disagreeable, arguementative and non-communicative now they have become a teen. This book helps you to understand what is going on with your teen and gives numerous exercises and lots of tips to guide you through the most challenging of times. A fantastic book that is easy to read and full of excellent information about teens and the challenges they face with all the changes that are taking place in their bodies etc.

'Don't get mad' really hit the spot for me. Its a must for all parents to help you through this period to create some balance back into the family. Happy reading and here's to you and your teen getting along : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable!, 22 May 2012
This book is written for parents struggling to understand their teenager and therefore is at odds in their relationship with them. The content is written from the point of view that the teenager is NOT their behaviour and that, as such, their behaviour is not to be taken personally by the parent.

It gives explanation about the brain development of a teenager in a way that is easily understood and gives the reasoning behind the teenager's behaviour which supports the parent's understanding; giving way to compassion for self (as a parent) and teenager, in what can be a very challenging time.

The book gives practical steps that can be put in place to deal with various situations that may arise between parents and teenagers which, when followed, helps the parent cope with the situation in an effective way, whilst maintaining and supporting a positive relationship. The book also presents some in-depth questions for the parent to explore their own self awareness, should they wish to do so.

Written in a simple, easy to read format, using every day language the author uses her own real life examples to convey how to put the practical steps in place for upmost effectiveness.

Overall, this book offers valuable advice and guidance for parents, which when followed step by step supports parents influencing their teenager in a way that is empowering to both parties in the parent/teenager relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Patronising rubbish!- couldn't give no stars., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not buy this book! I'm usually a calm easy going person but this book made me cross!- It is THE most patronising book I have EVER read.- " spend a day saying yes" "what did it feel like" are two quotes - everyone that I know who has teens tries to say yes and negotiates with their child, that's the easy bit . The author clearly has no idea of a what it's like to live with a difficult teen.
This book is Twaddle -unhelpful , repetitive, condescending, rubbish.
Read the book if you must but it will " make you mad" and you deserve a medal if you can " get through it".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable!, 24 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Teen Years - Don't Get Mad - Get Through It: Get Through- A parent's guide to surviving the teenage years without tearing your hair out.....: 1 (Paperback)
This book is written for parents struggling to understand their teenager and therefore is at odds in their relationship with them. The content is written from the point of view that the teenager is NOT their behaviour and that, as such, their behaviour is not to be taken personally by the parent.

It gives explanation about the brain development of a teenager in a way that is easily understood and gives the reasoning behind the teenager's behaviour which supports the parent's understanding; giving way to compassion for self (as a parent) and teenager, in what can be a very challenging time.

The book gives practical steps that can be put in place to deal with various situations that may arise between parents and teenagers which, when followed, helps the parent cope with the situation in an effective way, whilst maintaining and supporting a positive relationship. The book also presents some in-depth questions for the parent to explore their own self awareness, should they wish to do so.

Written in a simple, easy to read format, using every day language the author uses her own real life examples to convey how to put the practical steps in place for upmost effectiveness.

Overall, this book offers valuable advice and guidance for parents, which when followed step by step supports parents influencing their teenager in a way that is empowering to both parties in the parent/teenager relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 3 July 2012
By 
Darnit (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
The advice in this book makes so much sense, it makes me wonder why I hadn't thought of it before. I was a rascally teen myself so I've tried harking back to those days to identify with my own rascally teen, but I've moved on too much and teens today are different . I've done nagging and shouting to no avail and hair was about to be pulled out - mine, not hers - so the timing of this book was perfect.

Sarah's calm, caring approach has made it so much easier to have a conversation with my daughter rather than shouting at her. And it doesn't feel like a one-way street. Harmony has been resumed. It's easy to read and very informative, just what I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, enlightening & empowering for parents, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Practical, useful and enlightening, Sarah's books empowers parents and gives tips on how to avoid and manage conflict with your teen. Broken down into manageable chunks, this is a complete course in understanding how teens work and reminding parents it's NOT personal! This is not a simple "how to" book - there is work to be done and this is no "quick fix": Sarah creates exercises for parents to work through, as well as reflect on. I found the latter, especially reminding yourself of how you felt as a teenager and relating it to your own interactions with your child particularly useful. It certainly helped me to stop feeling overwhelmed, angry and confused! Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mixed review, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found the book useful as a guide to talking and encouraging more independence but didn't find the parent self questions useful .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but repetitive, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A useful book but a large section of every chapter was repeated, a little unnecessary I thought. Still worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah is an idealistic realist - it works!, 24 Aug. 2012
This is an excellent, good sense book! What I like about it is that it's not even just for the parent/teenager situations, but has excellent advice and strategies for harmonious living within any permutation of family relationship. Very easy to read, with nice little exercises to do, as well.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, fun book ., 4 July 2012
As always Sarah really delivers with this fun, practical manual on how to stay sane during your childrens teen years!
Helped me to see things from a teenagers perspective too, which gave me some distance and clarity on dealing with certain issues.
Its practical with step by step instructions over a period of time so you can start practising immediately !
Every parent should have this manual if they wish to improve relationships in the home and lets face it nowadays with more and more teenagers living at home for longer the need is greater !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews