Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars My son found this useful for his 'A' level in English Literature
I bought this for my son, who told me it helped him a lot. It was cheap at the price, given his exam grade. He was studying AQA, so it would recommend it for anyone else studying with that exam board.
Published 2 months ago by southlondonlion

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor.
I feel this product lacks the organisation and content expected by a revision guide. Waste of money in my opinion
Published 17 months ago by Georgia TIbke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars My son found this useful for his 'A' level in English Literature, 10 May 2014
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
I bought this for my son, who told me it helped him a lot. It was cheap at the price, given his exam grade. He was studying AQA, so it would recommend it for anyone else studying with that exam board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
I feel this product lacks the organisation and content expected by a revision guide. Waste of money in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely poor, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
I'm doing AS English literature this year and bought the book as a guide to help write some of my essays however its absolutely shocking. There are noticeable mistakes throughout the book, not a good first impression when the contents page listing the chapters misses out numbers, for example chapter 16 listed as chapter 6 and chapter 20 as chapter 10. The book provides obvious analysis which most people would be able to notice just by reading the book first time. Each chapter is basically summarised with random quotations thrown in, it contains little in depth analysis backing up it up with extremely long quotations to fill out the book. The majority of the analysis is not relevant for the Edexcel course and all in all the book is a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of errors and misjudgments, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
The introduction gives a fair overview of the exam in which this text feature and the glossary of technical terms is useful.
Part of the fun of reading this book was marking the number of times I disagreed with the interpretations made. The highpoint was the section commenting on the description of Joe and Clarissa's flat in Maida Vale where the author has his narrator say 'something resembling the Queen Mary ran aground'. To Broadfoot this is further evidence that the narrator is unreliable, because he lives near a canal, far too small for an ocean going vessel! He is right to observe that this is a metaphor and it is actually about the common style that the Queen Mary and Joe's Art Deco flat in Maida Vale share. His excursus into the story of the Titanic and its final occupants going down to the strains of a Christian hymn being in some way related to Jed's religion, is frankly laughable. Perhaps Broadfoot recognises this when he admits that Joe refers to the Queen Mary, not the Titanic.
Is he taking the mick? Probably not, because he then starts to nitpick about the date of the launching of the Queen Mary in 1934: 14years too late for the 1920s when the flats were built. If MacEwan is making a point about style of architecture, not such problematic dating after all.
There is plenty more of this. Definitely not one to recommend to an A-level student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
BOOK ARRIVED IN EXCELLENT CONDITION REALLY QUICKLY. VERY HELPFUL FOR ENGLISH LIT A LEVEL COURSEWORK. WOULD RECOMMEND THE BOOK TOO OTHERS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good essay ideas, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
Good ideas however there are both punctuation and spelling mistakes with annoys me, however the writers initial idea and conclusive and valid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enduring Love a smash hit, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide (Paperback)
My son, aged 17, thinks I am a fabby mummy as a result of my buying this book for him. He hates English but is doing A level in it because he is good at it.
This book is exactly what he needed to get him through Enduring love by Ian McEwan and he has found it invaluable in writing essays. I was thrilled too, it is difficult when teenagers prefer you not to interfere but sometimes do really appreciate it. This was one of those rare occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'A' LEVEL REVISION NOTES FOR 'ENDURING LOVE' by Ian McEwan: Chapter-by-chapter study guide
4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews