Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars11
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2013
Andy Welch's travel memoir of his bicycle journey with his mates integrates his perspective of this adventure in grand style. Writing honestly and reflectively the reader is taken on the ride. The words paint an imaginative picture of the toils of at first three, then two then solo configurations of this adventure. They dynamics of the trio are exposed in a transparency of emotions and the tale is engrossing. We all can't get up and drop it all to take a ride like this. I applaud their vision and determination and know from experience that often the best laid plans succumb to the realities of the personalities as they deal with the mental and physical stresses of being "on the road". In this case in a part of the world that few Americans choose to travel. Thanks for writing this Andy. All the best in your future pursuits. Keep writing, I'd enjoy reading more of your mind's inquiries.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
I bought Andrews book after being intrigued by his side of the journey after watching Janapar. The book from front to back is a great tale about cycle touring. In particular he starts at home and gives his mindful thoughts about going and his boredom with a normal life in the UK, What follows is a fantastic journey with him sharing his ups and downs during the trip, the highs and lows of his morale and his entertaining story of life in the saddle on the road. This book has further added to our desire to cycle to Mandalay in Myanmar and Andrew will be one of the first that I would seek advice from. You must buy this book and read it,I guarantee you will not put it down. Thanks for sharing your journey.

Weave of the Ride
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
I came across Andy and 'Weave of the Ride' after already having read his friend Tom's account of the same trip, and it was really interesting to read about the same journey from two different perspectives. Andy focuses on many day to day observations about the trip and the people they meet, both in terms of how the trip itself developed, and how these encounters started to influence his thinking about his own life. A very enjoyable read, and one which I found easy to pick up and delve into for a few chapters at a time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This is a very inspiring travelogue of Andy's experiences and his complete change of lifestyle as he cycles across diverse countries. It is a very thought provoking account as he experiences many highs and lows on his journey. I found his encounters with different cultures and the kindness and hospitality of many of the complete strangers that he meets, often living in very poor circumstances, very uplifting. I would not hesitate to recommend this book - an excellent read!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
A beautiful poetic encounter of Andrew's journey into the unknown lands and cultures on a BIKE!! The title of the book is ideal as the book unfolds through his lived up experiences on mountains, streets, houses, and people who were mere strangers at first and gradually how Andrew weaves through different realities and situations and enlightens his soul and gets by the initial urgency of leaving his bored lifestyle. This book is an excellent read for almost all genres of people and interests as it makes us realize that humans can overcome all fears and set for adventures in their lives but especially for travel freaks, explorers, nomads and cyclists.Great tips included in the book that will come handy for first time free spirited travelers. Highly recommend this book and looking forward to more of awaited Andrew's memoirs of his journeys.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
This is an extremely interesting and thought provoking read. I would recommend it to anyone, in particular those interested in cycle touring.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2014
Andy’s book begins as mates heading off on an adventure and transforms into personal reflection and philosophy.
As someone who has ridden long miles with good friends myself, I enjoyed the tales of larking around and silliness. And I chuckled at the petty resentments and incredibly pointless arguments that long trips inevitably produce.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Most tales are concerned with the route taken, this book is closer to the journey of the authors mind as he cycles first with companions then on his own.
Like most of those that travel he becomes aware of his own strengths and weaknesses and that not everything one hears or reads about people and places should be taken at face value.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
This is a nice little book and definitely an interesting read for anyone interested in cycle touring.
I love how Andy was so honest about the less glamorous and fun parts of the trip, and especially about his changing feelings towards Tom.

Having said all this, it's pretty clear that this a self-published book. There are a fair few errors - spelling, wrong word use etc. and unfortunately these detract from the writing.

The story is also fairly drawn out and I think it would benefit from a much stricter editing process. This became less of an issue towards Georgia but after Armenia the story meandered around then abruptly stopped (and the outro).

Overall - worth a read if you're interested in a trip of your own or have read Janapar!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
A very interesting and entertaining book. The type of book you can read a few chapters of , put it down and go back too. Quite a long book but definitely not boring.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.52

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.