Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book
Really impressed with the book, I have known about the slenderman since something awful forums and when my friend got this book I just had to get it!
Published on 3 Oct. 2012 by tracy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating topic - reads like a poorly written dissertation
Having stumbled across the Slenderman myth online recently, I was interested to read more about it. As a bit of a horror fan, fascinated with theoretical aspects, when I spotted 'Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact' I couldn't not buy it. A book that would look at not only the modern origins of Slenderman, but also the historical roots from which similar myths and urban...
Published 11 months ago by Bonnie Gifford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating topic - reads like a poorly written dissertation, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact (Paperback)
Having stumbled across the Slenderman myth online recently, I was interested to read more about it. As a bit of a horror fan, fascinated with theoretical aspects, when I spotted 'Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact' I couldn't not buy it. A book that would look at not only the modern origins of Slenderman, but also the historical roots from which similar myths and urban ledgends have stemmed from? Perfect!

Unfortunatly, the book was let down from start to finish.

Lets start with first impressions; the book itself is a poorly made paperback, with an unimpressive blurb on the back. While the artwork on the front is impressive, if I had seen this in my local book store? I wouldn't have purchased it. It's fairly flimsy, and not the longest text.

Which brings us on to the actual layout of the book. The margins are ridiculously large, making what could have been less than 100 pages appear to be bulked out to closer to 200.

If you appreciate proper, consistent layouts, grammar, and typographical errors get on your nerves, then you most certainly won't enjoy this book. I can understand that some authors may wish to keep quotes from others as close as possible to the original. However, when lower case i's are used for more than 50% of the text, simple layout and consistent paragraphing is not used, and even the way in which quotes are presented varies from page to page (within the same chapter), it becomes blatantly obvious that this is a (poorly done) self publication.

Swope makes a point of saying that he has left out some of the experiences and emails he has received over the years, that seemed too close to fan fiction. All I can say is if some of the ones included didn't come across as clear fan fiction to him, I dread to think how bad some of the rejected submissions must have been!

The narrative itself does not fully make sense. In places, you aren't sure what you are reading - fan fiction, a quote, or a 'real experience'.

Overall, it reads like a first draft of an undergraduate dissertation. It is short, full of errors, and the author doesn't appear to have fully formed a plan for where he is trying to take the book, or the reader, on their journey of discovery of Slenderman. As for the 'How to deal with Slenderman' chapter? Let's just put it this way - unless you are a Christian, you aren't going to have much time for this section.

My advise? If you want to learn more about Slenderman, just go to google. There are some great sites discussing the evolution of the myth, as well as its historical roots.

It's a shame, but it really isn't worth the price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact (Paperback)
Overall, the book is very good as it discusses the various parts of the Slender man mythos and of sightings.
However the book is very short and did not take very long to read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact (Paperback)
Really impressed with the book, I have known about the slenderman since something awful forums and when my friend got this book I just had to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars do not read before bedtime!, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact (Paperback)
bought this on a whim for the bf and he ended up scaring himself half to death reading it! interesting book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring to read, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact (Paperback)
Very slow delivery and the book bored my slenderman fan son!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact
Slenderman: From Fiction to Fact by Robin S. Swope (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2012)
£6.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews