Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary, but nothing new if you have read the original...
The book manages to summarise GTD by spending only a fraction of pages of what David Allen did without missing out on any of the main insights. While the book works well as a summary, it doesn't clarfiy any of the more foggy aspects of Allen's GTD, such as the natural planning model and the six levels of perspective. What is missing in Allen's book and particularly in...
Published 19 months ago by A reader

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is a summary view.
I know the clue is in the title , however I thought it would be longer then it is. It will probably take about 30 mins to read front to back and you really don't get much more info then you would from a quick google and 10 min browsing session on the internet.

The concept of having a quick version of the book is great , as it caters to the catch 22 many people...
Published 18 months ago by W Clifford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It really is a summary view., 21 April 2013
By 
W Clifford (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
I know the clue is in the title , however I thought it would be longer then it is. It will probably take about 30 mins to read front to back and you really don't get much more info then you would from a quick google and 10 min browsing session on the internet.

The concept of having a quick version of the book is great , as it caters to the catch 22 many people who are looking at books like this are in . You are too busy to get things done , so you don't have time to read a full length book about how to get things done. So you eventually decide to get the short version of the book which you make time to read , then finish it feeling like you need more info to help really implement it , and therefore have ended up spending 30 mins and probably being no closer to getting things done :-)

GTD is a great concept and if you have read this review and want to read a book which will help you improve your productivity but is potentially a lighter read then the full version of this book (the reason I was put off buying the full version ) , I would personally recommend How to be a Productivity Ninja by Graham Allcott - is a book written in 2012 and is what I would say a modern twist on how to be productive and implements essentially a technique very similar to GTD . Then when you are fully productive using his techniques , you will have time to come back one day and read the full original version of this to help optimize you new productive lifestyle ( or like me find time on a Sunday afternoon to write this review) ! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good summary, but nothing new if you have read the original..., 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
The book manages to summarise GTD by spending only a fraction of pages of what David Allen did without missing out on any of the main insights. While the book works well as a summary, it doesn't clarfiy any of the more foggy aspects of Allen's GTD, such as the natural planning model and the six levels of perspective. What is missing in Allen's book and particularly in this book are visual models to illustrate what the more complex aspects of GTD actually mean. Allen has a nice touch in his original book in the way he uses a flowchart to describe the horizontal flow of GTD, but there are no such models for explaining the vertical levels of perspective. A book like this, trying to summarise and simply GTD, could have been the perfect platform for presenting such a model, but the explanation of planning and perspective is as muddled as it is in the original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: This is not 'Getting things done', 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
As a busy individual who needs help with time management, I did not take the time to read the small print on the cover of this book. All I saw was the largest text which is 'David Allen's' and 'Getting Things Done'. However, this is NOT David Allen's book called Getting Things Done.

It is a summary, a real thin, flimsy summary. I can't be bothered sending it back but right now I am going to have to order the book I wanted, paying twice.

I do not believe, the title of this book is not an attempt to deceive. As such, it's getting one star from me for dishonesty.

A really disappointed customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only method that works., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
If you really have a passion for understanding this challenging subject, study this book. I have been looking a long time and this author is a genius in his field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
Read in an instant, forgotten even quicker. Did not find this book very enlightening or useful. Did serve to confirm that system I use at present is better for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't review., 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity (Paperback)
I can't review this book, as I haven't got the time to read it. Still, it looks nice and colourful on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting Things Done: A Time Saving Summary of David Allen's Book on Productivity
£4.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews