Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid biography of a woman whose character everyone knows, and her personal life almost none
"Mary Poppins, She Wrote" by Valerie Lawson is a biography of an unusual person P.L. Travers who forever go down in history as the creator of the popular children character Mary Poppins.

Her character becomes interesting again these days when movie "Saving Mr. Banks" was released in theaters, starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, that describes difficulties P...
Published 7 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too long and detailed
I bought this book as I had read an article about PJ Travers and I thought she sounded like an interesting person who had lead an unusual life. When I ordered the book, I took a gamble as there were no reviews for it on Amazon and it was relatively expensive. In my opinion the book reads like an academic thesis. It is long, very detailed and boring. I read only about one...
Published 2 months ago by Maggie G


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid biography of a woman whose character everyone knows, and her personal life almost none, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Poppins, She Wrote (Paperback)
"Mary Poppins, She Wrote" by Valerie Lawson is a biography of an unusual person P.L. Travers who forever go down in history as the creator of the popular children character Mary Poppins.

Her character becomes interesting again these days when movie "Saving Mr. Banks" was released in theaters, starring Emma Thompson and Tom Hanks, that describes difficulties P. L. Travers had with famous filmmaker Walt Disney during production of the Mary Poppins novel adaptation.

Helen Lyndon Goff, who will eventually become Pamela Travers, or shortly P.L. Travers, originates from Australia where she began her acting and writing career. After moving to UK, she continued her career writing poems professionally until 1934 when she released her first Mary Poppins story that has remained main theme of her books until her death in 1996.
She was the person who ran away from popularity, and because of her experience that she saw herself as the renowned author, she wasn't very popular in her environment.

An unusual detail that's not so much known about her life is that she adopted child when she was in her forties. It was a boy separated from his twin that will meet his brother many years later when they'll be teenagers. Her son was very angry on her foster mother because she never told him about his twin and that was the reason for the big problems that were difficult to smooth between them.

Travers also had lots of problems with her health therefore she was many times seeking help from different spiritual people, traveling all around the world.

The problems with Walt Disney incurred because their vision of Mary character were completely different - Travers saw her as much more complex character than Disney presented her in his popular movie. Therefore, their relations were very tense, and it all culminated on movie premiere where she wept seeing what kind of caricature they made from the character she created.

"Mary Poppins, She Wrote" is solid biography of a woman whose character everyone knows, and her personal life almost none, although in some parts the book seems a bit incomplete, especially for the lack of view on her motherhood.
However it's a work that is interesting because of many details from a person's life whose anonymity was important - P. L. Travers lived a sad but unusual life while in same time she searched for spiritual enlightenment, traveled across the globe and had many relationships with both men and women.

And due to above-mentioned Valerie Lawson work can be recommended to all those interested in the figure of the author who created Mary Poppins, but also for a different view of Walt Disney that this book offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too long and detailed, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I had read an article about PJ Travers and I thought she sounded like an interesting person who had lead an unusual life. When I ordered the book, I took a gamble as there were no reviews for it on Amazon and it was relatively expensive. In my opinion the book reads like an academic thesis. It is long, very detailed and boring. I read only about one quarter of the book. During her life Ms Travers wrote a lot of verse/poetry and much of it is included in the book. I am not a fan of poetry and feel that the verse really ought to have been the subject of a separate book or at least contained in the appendices, so that one could more easily skip it. There is a lot of detail of Ms Travers' childhood in Australia. For example, when her mother had a headache she asked her daughter to put her cooling hand on it. PL Travers kept a diary throughout her life and much of the book includes quotes from the diaries. Maybe the book was never edited or maybe it is just out there because of the recent anniversary of the Mary Poppins film, and the Tom Hanks and Emma Thompson film replaying the making of the Mary Poppins movie. If you like the Mary Poppins books, a lot of biographical detail, verse, poetry and some purple prose, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into PL Travers, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw the film, the book offered more breadth and depth in the treatment of the characters and perhaps showed more of the actual truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and repeats itself, 30 Mar 2014
By 
Nicky Dorrian (Dundee Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought this sounded a good story in light of the Emma Thomson book but I gave up after 100 pages. Just too dull and not at all gripping. Sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins, She Wrote: The Life of P. L. Travers, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather boring to be honest. I gave up less than halfway through. I would not recommend it unless you are into the history of P L Travers. It is all a matter of personal taste,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins She Wrote. The Life of P L Travers, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this book unutterably boring. Too much unnecessary information and padding. Needs to be read in small doses to stay interesting. Still trying to get through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far more than sugar, 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fascinating woman, full of contradictions but what an amazing life she led, full of extraordinary encounters around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Life Of P L Travers, 16 April 2014
By 
D. Liddle "lids" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
And almost every other person of note she came across - The story of the woman for me gets lost in the chapters refrerring to the mentors she came across in her writings or as the writer refers to them Mr Banks 1 ,2, 3 etc. This tends to lead you away from the subjects life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Michael James Matthews "escalardo" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read well worth the money, my wife could not put it down being in kindle form she loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars book is great, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quality of edidtion is poor - soft paper, small text- no good, photos twice - seems like fake not original book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Poppins, She Wrote
Mary Poppins, She Wrote by Valerie Lawson (Paperback - 5 Dec 2013)
8.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews