Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A weaker novel introducing new storylines
It's book four of Kirsten Beyer's re-relaunch of Star Trek Voyager following the events of the series finale, the first relaunch and the complicated inter-twined novels around the Destiny trilogy. Although the authors say that each book can be read alone, there are a lot of references here to previous novels and I think they would be frustrating and baffling to a reader...
Published 15 months ago by Jim J-R

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
The full circle series up to now has been rather good and was looking forward to this unfortunately a few to many story lines that all could stand alone that we're rushed and thus meant the book feel it had to many characters who were mentioned but never given a chance.

And it s behind the other trek books by about three years so if you have just read the fall...
Published 15 months ago by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A weaker novel introducing new storylines, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
It's book four of Kirsten Beyer's re-relaunch of Star Trek Voyager following the events of the series finale, the first relaunch and the complicated inter-twined novels around the Destiny trilogy. Although the authors say that each book can be read alone, there are a lot of references here to previous novels and I think they would be frustrating and baffling to a reader who hadn't been keeping up.

The story feels reminiscent of the author's earlier book Full Circle, with two parallel plot lines following different characters - one more action packed and one more emotional and character driven. The latter was the one that I found most engaging. It's hard to say much about it without dropping spoilers.

The 'main' plot, on Voyager itself, sees the ship investigating a distress signal. There are some interesting science fiction concepts roaming around, but I didn't really feel they were explained in a way that I could really visualise what was happening. The technobabble throughout, but particularly near the beginning, actually distracted me from the plot and felt like it had been picked at random rather than even trying to sound like it was making sense.

The book is meant to be the first part in a trilogy, but as a stand alone I felt there was something missing - it almost subscribes to what I've described before as 'middle-book syndrome', where everything that happens seems to just be reshuffling characters into the place they are wanted for the following book.

Overall though it was enjoyable to visit these characters again and see where they are going next. There's a lot clearly been set up for the future, and if you want to keep reading, then this is a vital book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voyager continues, 22 April 2014
By 
alyson56 (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
I always thought it a bad decision when Janeway was killed in an earlier book in this series. I'm not sure novelizations of TV series should do this - although of course it can happen within the series, as with Dax in DS9. I also thought that the resurrection of Janeway in the last book was very contrived - with one bound Jack was free etc. However the series has moved on, and I think it's good that Beyer is addressing the psychological issues surrounding Janeway's return. The characters are well realised and the story is interesting. Look forward to how it develops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fasinating story, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
Martin Jay (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a good story but is definitely setting things up for future books. The end isn't really an end but a pause. have towait too long for next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Developments of the Best Kind, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
As soon as this book arrived I could not put it down as all the story lines from 'The Eternal Tide' came rushing back into my mind with almost feverish excitement!
Now I get they this is a slower pace of novel that unfolds over a matter of months so it exposes a lot of developments especially for Admiral Janeway, Seven of Nine, The Doctor as well as Tom & B'Lanna.
It all highlights how far this crew has struggled to be a family and Kristen Beyer is steering the story excellently, more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars overall a great book, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book the only down side was that the book was slow to start with then finished too quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad., 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story filler, linking to voyagers past, the combat scenes were a little snort lived but otherwise an interesting development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Voyager Fan, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
T. L. Price (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
Anything written by Kirsten Beyer and to do with Star Trek Voyager is bound to be good...this did not disappoint. I look forward to her next book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book, if you enjoy reading star trek you will enjoy this, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The full circle series up to now has been rather good and was looking forward to this unfortunately a few to many story lines that all could stand alone that we're rushed and thus meant the book feel it had to many characters who were mentioned but never given a chance.

And it s behind the other trek books by about three years so if you have just read the fall series well... I will not say much about that if you haven't read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Voyagers adventures revisited, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
Enjoyed re-entering Voyagers adventures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager)
Protectors (Star Trek: Voyager) by Kirsten Beyer (Mass Market Paperback - 14 Feb. 2014)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews