Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Third in the Honorverse "Shadow" series
This is the 18th of a group of novels set about two thousand years from now in the future which David Weber initially created for his character Honor Harrington. Within that group this is the third in a sub-sequence of novels, after "The Shadow of Saganami" and "Storm from the Shadows" which are set in an area of space known as the Talbott Quadrant.

Honor...
Published 18 months ago by Marshall Lord

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lots of people talking
And very little of what they say is interesting. This has been a problem of a lot of Weber's books of late, partly I suspect because he doesn't have an editor with the gumption to sit him down and tell him to cut the excess fat. Shadow of Freedom as a Novella is pretty good, not quite as good as the early Honorverse stories, but not bad. Note I say the Novella, not the...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. B. Troke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars shadow of freedom, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
although this is put out as a part of the Honour Harrington series it concentrates on events away from the main story line and unfortunately does not seem to push the main story along. In itself a good story but not a Central part of the Honour Harrington story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honorverse, 26 May 2013
By 
alan crawford (COVENTRY, W Midlands, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say but when can I get my hands on the next volume in the series, either with Honor herself or Mike Henke et al David Weber writes a brilliant adnventure stories no matter which series they belong to nad I am always impatiant for the next book, so please hurry up and write/publish the next book/s. Sorry for the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From where we started I could never have predicted where we are !, 11 May 2013
By 
Dr. I. A. Dunn (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The expanse of the Honorverse gets bigger and better . This satisfied my need for a short while but I need to know what is happening back at the barn or is it now barns . I'mready for the next one now .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ., 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i'm hoping that this is setting the sence for the next book to come along and that the war with the league will be as rivating at the one with haven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book is a fill-in, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book seems almost at a tangent for the rest of the books in the series. However I can see how it relates to the other books.

The impression given, is that this book will act as a trigger for the next book in the series in which I hope that all strands will be combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as ever, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its great that David Weber is now on Kindle although I must admit I did like the idea of the DVD given away with the hardback version of some of the series containing a large number of his earlier works.
This book continues the story of Michelle Henke and weaves its way around the Honor Harrington books providing additional information and looking at the whole universe from a slightly different point of view,
As always it is a good read and again finishes on a knife edge. I can't wait for the next book and as always will do nothing else for a few days when the book arrives.
This is an exceptional series well written, 2 or 3 levels above most of the space opera around at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The war continues, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some readers write they are disapointed this is honorverse not honor.But remember "grand fleet" is not the"fun command"so we are following mike henke and 10th fleet from rescuing kidnapped frieghter crews to as the the story progresses saving OFS client states from decades of asset stripping and crippling taxes,including at the invite of revolutionarys that think they are already aided by manticore.
The only problem i had with this book is having to read it the second time to keep track of the freedom fighters with system name,planet and sometimes city making me wonder where i am also not helped by scottish ancestry in more than one of these systems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shadow of Freedom, 12 Mar 2013
Another fine addition to the Honor Harrington Universe. The story is a bit unusual being shorter than normal, and the ending doesn't follow his normal pattern either, BUT he has maintained his high quality of story-telling with an interesting and involving plot that once more leaves the Manticoran Empire reacting to events and stretching their resources even further. WELL DONE David Webber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The tension ratchets up., 11 Mar 2013
As the action from Thunder echoes in the background, 10th Fleet sets out to neutralise the threat from Frontier Security in the Myers sector. Gripping stuff. Weber's net is thrown ever wider over the Honorverse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book recaptures alot of the great action, and interaction, that has become somewhat lost in the recent Honor Harrington books, as she is now so high-ranking, politics are taking a larger portion of her activities.

This book is based on her friend Vice-Admiral Henke, and her 10th Fleet, as she de-rails both the Sollies & Mensa plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadow Of Freedom (Honorverse)
Shadow Of Freedom (Honorverse) by David Weber (Paperback - 11 Mar 2014)
£9.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews